0% found this document useful (0 votes)
203 views3 pages

Alternative Got Board Game Rules

This document provides errata and answers frequently asked questions about gameplay aspects of the board game A Game of Thrones. It clarifies rules around resolving effects on House cards and the order of wildling card penalties. It also answers questions about interactions between different House cards, combat mechanics, and use of items like the Valyrian steel blade. The document is intended to clear up common player questions and uncertainties about the rules.

Uploaded by

cretinusmaximus
Copyright
© © All Rights Reserved
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
0% found this document useful (0 votes)
203 views3 pages

Alternative Got Board Game Rules

This document provides errata and answers frequently asked questions about gameplay aspects of the board game A Game of Thrones. It clarifies rules around resolving effects on House cards and the order of wildling card penalties. It also answers questions about interactions between different House cards, combat mechanics, and use of items like the Valyrian steel blade. The document is intended to clear up common player questions and uncertainties about the rules.

Uploaded by

cretinusmaximus
Copyright
© © All Rights Reserved
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
You are on page 1/ 3

A Game of Thrones

E r r ata a nd FAQ Versio n 1.0

This document contains errata and answers to F req uen t ly Asked


frequently asked questions for A Game of Thrones: The
Boardgame 2nd Edition. Q uest i o n s
House Cards
Errata Q: If a House cards text ability says after
combat..., when is that card resolved?
The Messenger Raven Token: Under The
A: At the end of the Combat Clean Up step of
Messenger Raven Token on page 11 of the rulebook,
Combat Resolution (after played House cards are
it should read: The player holding the Messenger Raven discarded to their respective discard piles).
token may perform one of the following actions at the
end of the Reveal Orders step of the Planning Phase: Q: If a House cards text ability says
immediately..., when is that card resolved?
A: After any ignore or cancel text abilities are
Ru les Cl arificatio n s resolved, but before any other effects are resolved.
Resolving the order of Wildling card penalties:
Q: Is it possible for a text ability on a House card
When resolving the penalties for losing to a Wildling
to be resolved more than once in a single combat?
attack, the Lowest Bidder always resolves his penalty
A: No.
first, followed by Everyone Else in turn order.
Reshuffling the Tides of Battle deck: Immediately Q: If a House cards text ability requires a player to
before the Choose and Reveal House Cards step of be supported (or not be supported), does this support
every combat, all Tides of Battle cards are reshuffled have to come from only that players own units?
together to form a new deck. A: No, the support can come from either that
players own units or those of another House that
Hidden information of discarded House cards: All has chosen to support him.
players discarded House cards are always considered
open information. A players House card discard pile Q: Can the text ability on the Robb Stark House
can always be reviewed by any other player at any card be resolved if a player wins the combat as the
time, including during all steps of combat. defender?
A: Yes.

1
A Game of Thrones

Q: If the Baratheon player plays his Patchface Q: Does the player being affected by Doran
House card but his opponent is playing his last Martells House card (moving him to the last position
remaining House card, does the Baratheon player still of the Kings Court track) lose any Special Order
get to discard one of his opponents House cards? tokens that are already on the board?
A: Yes, Patchfaces text ability would allow the A: No.
Baratheon player to discard one of his opponents six
House cards at the end of the Combat Clean Up step. Q: When a player is defending an area containing
a Power token and loses the combat while also playing
Q: If House Stark plays his Roose Bolton House the Arianne Martell House card, is the Power token
card (and loses) against House Baratheons Patchface removed?
House card, in which order are the two text effects A: Yes, as are any Martell Order tokens present
resolved? Does Baratheon get to discard one of Starks in that area, since an area without units cannot
House cards after he has already drawn back his contain an Order token.
full hand?
A: Rooses text ability is resolved first, followed Q: If after playing the Loras Tyrell House card,
by Patchfaces. The Stark player would first draw all a player wins a combat as the attacker against a
his cards back to his hand and then the Baratheon player that played the Arianne Martell House card
player would look through his newly drawn hand as the defender, can the Tyrell March Order still be
to choose one to discard. moved into the empty space?
A: Yes. However, the Tyrell March Order token
Q: If House Greyjoy plays his Victarion Greyjoy is immediately removed after doing so, as an Order
House card against House Baratheons Sallador Saan token cannot exist in an area without units.
House card, are the participating Greyjoy Ships still
reduced to 0 combat strength? Q: If the Tyrell player chooses to use the Queen of
A: Yes. Thorns House card to remove a Support Order from
an adjacent area providing support in this combat,
Q: Sallador Saans text ability reduces the combat are the units in that adjacent area still counted when
strength of all non-Baratheon Ships to 0. Does this also determining final combat strength?
nullify the combat strength generated through Order A: No, Tyrells opponent does not add the
tokens (such as +1 Support Order)? strength of the supporting units in the area where
A: No. the Support Order was removed. As per page 20
of the rulebook: Some House card text abilities
Q: Is it possible for a players turn be skipped if the may cause a players initial combat strength to be
Doran Martell house card moves his token to the last recalculated.
position of the Iron Throne track?
A: Yes, it is possible for a Houses turn to be Q: If Mace Tyrells text ability destroys the last
skipped after the resolution of Dorans text ability. remaining defending unit, does the combat still
The turn order of the Iron Throne track is always continue?
followed exactly as it appears; the 1 position A: Yes.
goes first, followed by the 2 position, followed
by position 3, etc. It is the position on the track
itself that determines the current player, regardless
of which Houses have taken their turn.
For example, if the current player is in position
5 but is then moved to the end of the track
(position 6) as a result of Doran text ability, he
would also be the next player, because position 6
always comes after position 5 no matter which
Houses were occupying those slots previously. In the
same way, the player whose House had previously
been in position 6 (and is now in position 5)
must wait through another cycle of turns before
resolving his next order.

2
A Game of Thrones

Westeros Cards Q: When exactly is the decision made to use


Q: When the Winter is Coming Westeros card is the Valyrian Steel Blades ability to either draw a
resolved, does that card also get shuffled back into the replacement Tides of Battle card or receive +1 combat
deck? strength?
A: Yes. A: If you are playing with Tides of Battle cards,
there are two opportunities for a player to use his
Q: If the Wildling Threat token is on the 0 Valyrian Steel Blade:
space of the Wildling track and a Wildlings Attack 1) Choose and Reveal House card step:
Westeros card is drawn, is it still resolved as normal? Is After each side draws a Tides of Battle card, but
there still the possibility of defeat? before they are revealed, he may decide to use the
blade to draw a replacement Tides of Battle card.
A: The Wildlings Attack card is resolved 2) Use Valyrian Steel Blade step: If he has
regardless of the position of the Wildling Threat not used it yet this round, he may now decide to
token. Players still go through the process of use the blade to add +1 to his combat strength.
bidding Power tokens against the Wildlings, but in
this case, they are guaranteed victory.
Ports
Combat and Unit Movement Q: If a player marches all his land units out of an
area (but not his home area) connected to a Port with
Q: Can Siege Engines be chosen to satisfy the his Ships, and in doing so chooses not to leave behind a
necessary number of casualties suffered as the loser in a Power token, what happens to his Ships in the Port?
combat?
A: Ships left in a Port connected to an
A: No. Siege Engines are destroyed automatically uncontrolled land area are immediately destroyed.
as a result of losing combat in addition to all other If the land area connected to the Port is an enemy
casualties suffered. home area, those Ships instead may immediately be
replaced with Ships of that enemys House (as per
Q: After winning a combat, if a player would the rules under Taking Control of Enemy Ports on
suffer casualties that would eliminate all of his units page 25).
in the embattled area, does the loser of the combat still
have to retreat? Q: Can a players Ships retreat into a Port
A: Yes. connected to a non-friendly land area?
A: No. A player must control the connected
Q: Does marching a players units into an area land area to move Ships (including retreating) into
containing only an enemy Power token (and no enemy a Port.
units) result in a combat?
A: No. Q: When mustering Ships from an area containing
a Port, the rules state: ...the player may muster Ship
Q: Does marching a players units into an area units directly in the Port itself or in the adjacent sea
containing only enemy routed units result in a combat? area. In the case of mustering from a Stronghold, does
A: Yes. the or in this sentence imply that a player can only
do one or the other, but not both?
Q: Can routed units provide support? A: No. A player may spend his mustering points
A: No. Routed units are ineligible to contribute to muster Ships in separate areas, such as one in the
to support, even if they are in an area containing a adjacent sea area and another in the connected Port.
Support Order. Non-routed units sharing an area with
routed units may still contribute support as normal.
Other
Q: At what point does the winner of a combat Q: What occurs if a player has no castles or
exert control over the embattled area? strongholds left and no units left to order? Is he
eliminated from the game?
A: Control over an area does not change hands
until all stages of combat are completed. In the case A: No, that player is not eliminated from
of a completely emptied area, at no point of time the game and continues playing with what little
during the combat would the area be considered resources he has left.
controlled by the attacker (and so would not count
towards his victory condition).
3

You might also like

pFad - Phonifier reborn

Pfad - The Proxy pFad of © 2024 Garber Painting. All rights reserved.

Note: This service is not intended for secure transactions such as banking, social media, email, or purchasing. Use at your own risk. We assume no liability whatsoever for broken pages.


Alternative Proxies:

Alternative Proxy

pFad Proxy

pFad v3 Proxy

pFad v4 Proxy