MBA PAPER 1.3 Managerial Economics
MBA PAPER 1.3 Managerial Economics
PAPER 1.3
MANAGERIAL ECONOMICS
SYLLABUS
Unit 1 Managerial economics: Meaning, nature and scope;
Economic theory and managerial economic;
Managerial economics and business decision making;
Role of managerial economics.
Unit 2 Demand Analysis: Meaning, types and determinants of
demand.
Unit 3 Cost Concepts: Cost function and cost output
relationship; Economics and diseconomies of scale;
Cost control and cost reduction.
Unit 4 Production Functions: Pricing and output decisions
under competitive conditions; Government control
over pricing; Price discrimination; Price discount and
differentials.
Unit 5 Profit: Measurement of profit; Profit planning and
forecasting; Profit maximization; Cost volume profit
analysis; Investment analysis.
Unit 6 National Income: Business cycle; Inflation and
deflation; Balance of payment; Their implications in
managerial decision.
REFERENCE BOOKS:
CONTENTS
0. SYLLABUS MgrEco-1300.doc
1. NATURE & SCOPE OF MANAGERIAL MgrEco-1301.doc
ECONOMICS
2. DEMAND ANALYSIS MgrEco-1302.doc
3. COST CONCEPTS MgrEco-1303.doc
4. PRODUCTION FUNCTION MgrEco-1304.doc
5. PROFIT MgrEco-1305.doc
6. NATIONAL INCOME MgrEco-1306.doc
LESSON – 1
DEFINITION
According to McNair the Merriam, Managerial Economics consists of
the use of economic modes of thought to analyse business
situations.
Spencer and Siegelman have defined Managerial Economics
as “the integration of economic theory with business practice for the
purpose of facilitating decision-making and forward planning by
management.”
The above definitions suggest that Managerial economics is
the discipline, which deals with the application of economic theory
to business management. Managerial Economics thus lies on the
margin between economics and business management and serves
as the bridge between the two disciplines. The following Figure 1.1
shows the relationship between economics, business management
and managerial economics.
While it appeared in the first instance that the order will result
in a loss of Rs. 1,000, it now appears that it will lead to an addition
of Rs. 1,500 (Rs. 5,000- Rs. 3,500) to profit. Incremental reasoning
does not mean that the firm should accept all orders at prices,
which cover merely their incremental costs. The acceptance of the
Rs. 5,000 order depends upon the existence of idle capacity and
labour that would go unutilised in the absence of more profitable
opportunities. Earley’s study of “excellently managed” large firms
suggests that progressive corporations do make formal use of
incremental analysis. It is, however, impossible to generalise on the
use of incremental principle, since the observed behaviour is
variable.
IIIustration
Suppose there is a firm with temporary idle capacity. An order for
5,000 units comes to management’s attention. The customer is
willing to pay Rs. 4.00 per unit or Rs. 20,000 for the whole lot but
not more. The short-run incremental cost (ignoring the fixed cost) is
only Rs. 3.00. Therefore, the contribution to overhead and profit is
Re. 1.00 per unit (Rs. 5,000 for the lot. However, the long-run
repercussions of the order ought to be taken into account are as
follows:
• If the management commits itself with too much of business
at lower prices or with a small contribution, it may not have
sufficient capacity to take up business with higher
contributions when the opportunity arises. The management
may be compelled to consider the question of expansion of
capacity and in such cases; even the so-called fixed costs
may become variable.
• If any particular set of customers come to know about this
low price, they may demand a similar low price. Such
customers may complain of being treated unfairly and feel
discriminated. In response, they may opt to patronise
manufacturers with more decent views on pricing. The
reduction or prices under conditions of excess capacity may
adversely affect the image of the company in the minds of its
clientele, which will in turn affect its sales.
It is, therefore, important to give due consideration to the time
perspective. The principle of time perspective may be stated as
under: ‘A decision should take into account both the short-run and
long-run effects on revenues and costs and maintain the right
balance between the long-run and short-run perspectives.”
Haynes, Mote and Paul have cited the case of a printing
company. This company pursued the policy of never quoting prices
below full cost though it often experienced idle capacity and the
management was fully aware that the incremental cost was far
below full cost. This was because the management realised that the
long-run repercussions of pricing below full cost would make up for
any short-run gain. The management felt that the reduction in rates
for some customers might have an undesirable effect on customer
goodwill particularly among regular customers not benefiting from
price reductions. It wanted to avoid crating such an “image” of the
firm that it exploited the market when demand was favorable but
which was willing to negotiate prices downward when demand was
unfavorable.
4. Discounting Principle
One of the fundamental ideas in economics is that a rupee
tomorrow is worth less than a rupee today. This seems similar to the
saying that a bird in hand is worth two in the bush. A simple
example would make this point clear. Suppose a person is offered a
choice to make between a gift of Rs. 100 today or Rs. 100 next year.
Naturally he will choose the Rs. 100 today.
This is true for two reasons. First, the future is uncertain and
there may be uncertainty in getting Rs. 100 if the present
opportunity is not availed of. Secondly, even if he is sure to receive
the gift in future, today’s Rs. 100 can be invested so as to earn
interest, say, at 8 percent so that. one year after the Rs. 100 of
today will become Rs. 108 whereas if he does not accept Rs. 100
today, he will get Rs. 100 only in the next year. Naturally, he would
prefer the first alternative because he is likely to gain by Rs. 8 in
future. Another way of saying the same thing is that the value of Rs.
100 after one year is not equal to the value of Rs. 100 of today but
less than that. To find out how much money today is equal to Rs.
100 would earn if one decides to invest the money. Suppose the
rate of interest is 8 percent. Then we shall have to discount Rs. 100
at 8 per cent in order to ascertain how much money today will
become Rs. 100 one year after. The formula is:
Rs. 100
1+i
V=
where,
V = present value
i = rate of interest.
Now, applying the formula, we get
Rs. 100
1+i
V=
100
1.08
=
5. Equi-marginal Principle
This principle deals with the allocation of the available resource
among the alternative activities. According to this principle, an input
should be allocated in such a way that the value added by the last
unit is the same in all cases. This generalisation is called the equi-
marginal principle.
Suppose a firm has 100 units of labour at its disposal. The firm
is engaged in four activities, which need labour services, viz., A, B, C
and D. It can enhance any one of these activities by adding more
labour but sacrificing in return the cost of other activities. If the
value of the marginal product is higher in one activity than another,
then it should be assumed that an optimum allocation has not been
attained. Hence it would, be profitable to shift labour from low
marginal value activity to high marginal value activity, thus
increasing the total value of all products taken together. For
example, if the values of certain two activities are as follows:
Value of Marginal Product of labour
Activity A = Rs. 20
Activity B = Rs. 30
In this case it will be profitable to shift labour from A to
activity B thereby expanding activity B and reducing activity A. The
optimum will be reach when the value of the marginal product is
equal in all the four activities or, when in symbolic terms:
VMPLA = VMPLB = VMPLC = VMPLD
Where the subscripts indicate labour in respective activities.
Certain aspects of the equi-marginal principle need
clarifications, which are as follows:
• First, the values of marginal products are net of incremental
costs. In activity B, we may add one unit of labour with an
increase in physical output of 100 units. Each unit is worth 50
paise so that the 100 units will sell for Rs. 50. But the
increased output consumes raw materials, fuel and other
inputs so that variable costs in activity B (not counting the
labour cost) are higher. Let us say that the incremental costs
are Rs. 30 leaving a net addition of Rs. 20. The value of the
marginal product relevant for our purpose is thus Rs. 20.
• Secondly, if the revenues resulting from the addition of labour
are to occur in future, these revenues should be discounted
before comparisons in the alternative activities are possible.
Activity A may produce revenue immediately but activities B,
C and D may take 2, 3 and 5 years respectively. Here the
discounting of these revenues will make them equivalent.
• Thirdly, the measurement of value of the marginal product
may have to be corrected if the expansion of an activity
requires an alternative reduction in the prices of the output. If
activity B represents the production of radios and it is not
possible to sell more radios without a reduction in price, it is
necessary to make adjustment for the fall in price.
• Fourthly, the equi-marginal principle may break under
sociological pressures. For instance, du to inertia, activities
are continued simply because they exist. Similarly, due to
their empire building ambitions, managers may keep on
expanding activities to fulfil their desire for power.
Department, which are already over-budgeted often, use
some of their excess resources to build up propaganda
machines (public relations offices) to win additional support.
Governmental agencies are more prone to bureaucratic self-
perpetuation and inertia.
CONCLUSION
The various gaps between the economic theory of the firm and the
actual decision-making process at the firm level are many in
number. They do, however, stress that economic theory seriously
needs major fixing up and substantial changes are in progress for
creating better and different models. Thus the classical economic
concepts like those of rational man is undergoing important
changes; the notion of satisfying is pushing aside the aim of
maximisation and newer lines and patterns of thoughts are being
developed for finding improved applications to managerial decision-
making. A strong emphasis is laid on quantitative model building,
experimentation and empirical investigation and newer techniques
and concepts, such as linear programming, game theory, statistical
decision-making, etc., are being applied to revolutionise the
approaches to problem solving in business and economics.
Business Operations
A managerial economist can also be helpful to the management in
making decisions relating to the internal operations of a firm in
respect of such problems as price, rate of operations, investment,
expansion or contraction. Certain relevant questions in this
context would be as follows:
• What will be a reasonable sales and profit budget for the
next year?
• What will be the most appropriate production schedules
and inventory policies for the next six months?
• What changes in wage and price policies should be made
now?
• How much cash will be available next month and how
should it be invested?
Specific Functions
The managerial economists can play a further role, which can cover
the following specific functions as revealed by a survey pertaining to
Brittain conducted by K.J.W. Alexander and Alexander G. Kemp:
• Sales forecasting.
• Industrial market research.
• Economic analysis of competing companies.
• Pricing problems of industry.
• Capital projects.
• Production programmes.
• Security / Investment analysis and forecasts.
• Advice on trade and public relations.
• Advice on primary commodities.
• Advice on foreign exchange.
• Economic analysis of agriculture.
• Analysis of underdeveloped economics.
• Environmental forecasting.
Economic Intelligence
Besides these functions involving sophisticated analysis, managerial
economist may also provide general intelligence service. Thus the
economist may supply the management with economic information
of general interest such as competitors
prices and products, tax rates, tariff rates, etc.
Indian Context
In the Indian context, a managerial economist is expected to
perform the following functions:
• Macro-forecasting for
demand and supply.
• Production planning at macro and micro levels.
REVIEW QUESTIONS
1. What is managerial economics? How does it differ from
traditional economics?
2. Discuss the nature and scopeofmanagerial economics.
3. Show the significance of economic analysis in business
decisions.
4. Managerial Economics is perspective rather than descriptive in
character? Examine this statement.
5. Assess the contribution and limitations of economic analysis to
business decision-making.
6. Briefly explain the five principles, which are basic to the entire
gamut of managerial economics.
7. Explain the role of marginal analysis in determining optimal
solution if managerial economics. How does it compare with
break-even analysis?
8.Discuss some of the important economic concepts and
techniques that help busirless management.
9. Explain the various functions of a managerial economist. How
can he best serve the management?
LESSON – 2
DEMAND ANALYSIS
MEANING OF DEMAND
TYPES OF DEMAND
The demand for various kinds of goods is generally classified on
the basis of kinds of consumers, suppliers of goods, nature of
goods, duration of consumption goods, interdependence of
demand, period of demand and nature of use of goods
(intermediate or final), The major classifications of demand are as
follows:
• Individual and market demand
• Demand for firm's prodtictand industry's products
• Autonomous and derived demand
• Demand for durable and non-durable goods
• Short-term and long-term demand
It may be seen from the Table 2.1 that the total demand for
automobiles is increasing at an increasing rate due to
acceleration in the replacement demand. Another factor, which
might accelerate the demand for automobiles and such durable
goods, is the rate of obsolescence of this category of goods.
3. Consume's Income
Income is the basic determinant of market demand since it
determines the purchasing power of a consumer. Therefore,
people with higher current disposable income spend a larger
amount on goods and services than those with lower income.
Income-demand relationship is of more varied nature than that
between demand and its other determinants. While other
determinants of demand, e.g., product's own price and the price
ohts substitutes, are more significant in the short-run, income as
a determinant of demand is equally important in both short run
and long run. Before proceeding further to discuss income-
demand relationships, it will be useful to note that consumer
goods of different nature have different kinds of relationship with
consumers having different levels of income. Hence, the
managers need to be fully aware of the kinds of goods they are
dealing with and their relationship with the income of consumers,
particularly about the assessment of both existing and
prospective demand for a product.
For the purpose of income-demand analysis, goods and serv:ices
maybe grouped under four broad categories, which ate: (a)
essential consumer goods, (b) inferior goods, (c) normal goods, and
(d) prestige or luxury goods. To understand all these terms, it is
essential to understand the relationship between income and
different kinds of goods.
Esscntial Consumcr Goods (ECG): The goods and services of
this category are called 'basic needs' and are consumed by all
persons of a society such as food-grains, salt, vegetable oils,
matches, cooking fuel, a minimum clothing and housing.
Quantity demanded for these goods increases with increase in
consumer's income but only up to certain limit, even though
the total expenditure may increase in accordance with the
quality of goods consumed, other factors remaining the same.
The relationship between goods of this category and
consumer's income is shown by the curve ECG in Figure 2.3.
As the curve shows, consumer's demand for essential goods
increases only until his income rises to OY2. It tends to
saturate beyond this level of income.
Inferior goods: Inferior goods are those goods whose demand
decreases with the increase in consumer's income. For
example millet is inferior to wheat and rice; bidi (indigenous
cigarette) is inferior to cigarette, coarse, textiles are inferior to
refined ones, kerosene is inferior to cooking gas and travelling
by bus is inferior to travelling by taxi. The relation between
income and demand for an inferior good is shown by the
curve IG in Figure 2.3 under the assumption that other
determinants of demand remain the same demand for such
goods rises only up to a certain level of income, i.e., OY1 and
declines as income increases beyond this level.
Normal goods: Normal goods are those goods whose demand
increases with increaseiri the consumer income. For example,
clothings, household furniture and automobiles. The relation
between income and demand for normal goods is shown by
the curve NG in Figure 2.3. As the curve shows, demand for
such goods increases with the increases in consumer income
but at different rates at different levels of income. Demand for
normal goods increases rapidly with the increase in the
consumer's income but slows down with further increase in
income. It should be noted froms Figure 2.3 that up to certain
level of income (YI) the relation between income and demand
for all type of goods is similar. The difference is of only
degree. The relation becomes distinctly different beyond YI
level of income. Therefore, it is important to view the income-
demand relations in the light of the nature of product and the
level fconsumer's income.
5. Advertisel11ent Expenditure
Advertisement costs are incurred with the objective of increasing
the demand for the goods. This is done in the following ways:
• By informing the potential consumers about the availability of
the goods.
• By showing its superiority to the rival goods.
• By influencing consumers' choice against the rival goods, and
• By setting fashions and changing tastes.
The impact of such effects shifts the demand curve upward to
the
right.
In other words, when other factors' remain same, the
expenditure on advertisement increases the volume of sales to the
same extent. The relation between advertisement outlay and sales
is shown in Figure 2.4.
Assumptions
Therelatiqnship between demand and advertisement cost as shown
in Figure 2.4 is based on the following assumptions:
• Consumers are fairly sensitive and responsive to various
modes
of advertisement.
• The rival firms do not react to the advertisements made by a
firm.
• The level of demand has not already reached the saturation
point. Advertisement beyond this point will make only
marginal impact on demand.
• Per unit cost of advertisement added to the price does not
make the price prohibitive for consumers, as compared
particularly to the price of substitutes.
• Others determinants of demand, e.g., income and tastes, etc.,
are not operating in the reverse direction.
In the absence of these conditions, the advertisement effect on
sales may be unpredictable.
6. Consumers’ Expectations
Consumers’ expectations regarding the future prices, income and
supply position of goods play an important role in determining the
demand for goods and services in the short run. If consumers
expect a rise in the price of a storable good, they would buy more of
it at its current price with a view to avoiding the possibility of price
rise future. On the contrary, if consumers expect a fall in the price of
certain goods, they postpone their purchase with a view to take
advantage of lower prices in future, mainly in case of non-essential
goods. This behaviour of consumers reduces the current demand for
the goods whose prices are expected to decrease in future.
Similarly, an expected increase in income increases the demand for
a product. For example, announcement of ‘dearness allowance’,
bonus and revision of pay scale induces increase in current
purchases. Besides, if scarcity of certain goods is expected by the
consumers on account of reported fall in future production, strikes
on a large scale and diversion of civil supplies towards the military
use causes the current demand for such goods to increase more if
their prices show an upward trend. Consumer demand more for
future consumption and profiteers demand more to make money
out of expected scarcity.
7. Demonstration Effect
When new goods or new models of existing ones appear in the
market, rich people buy them first. For instance, when a new model
of car appears in the market, rich people would mostly be the first
buyer, Colour TV sets and VCRs were first seen in the houses of the
rich families some people buy new goods or new models of goods
because they have genuine need for them. Some others do so
because they want to exhibit their affluence. But once new goods
come in fashion, many households buy them not because they
have a genuine need for them but because their neighbors have
bought the same goods. The purchase made by the latter category
of the buyers are made out of such feelings' as jealousy,
competition, equality in the peer group, social inferiority and the
desire to raise their social status. Purchases made on account of
these factors are the result of what economists call 'demonstration
effect' or the 'Band-wagon-effect.' These effects have a positive
effect on demand. On the contrary, when goods become the thing
of common use, some people, mostly rich, decrease or give up the
consumption of such goods. This is known as 'Snob Effect'. It has a
negative effect'on the demand
for the related goods.
8. Consumer-Gredit Facility
Availability of credit to the cansumers fram the sellers, banks,
relatians and friends encourages the conSumers to buy more than
what they would buy in the aosence of credit availability.
Therefore, the consumers who can borrow more can consume
more than those who cannot borrow. Credit facility affects mostly
the demand"for durable goods, particularly those, which require
bulk payment at the time of purchase. The car-loan facility may be
one reason why Delhi has more cars than Calcutta, Chennai and
Mumbai. Therefore, the managers who are assessing the
prospective demand for their goods should take into account the
availability of credit to the consumers.
REVIEW QUESTIONS
1. Give short note on 'Demand Analysis'.
2. What are the determinants of market demand for a good? How
do the changes in the following factors affect the demand for a
good?
A. Price
B. Income
C. Price of the substitute
D. Advertisement
E. Population.
Also describe the nature of relationship between demand for a
good and these factors (consider one factor at a time assuming
other factors to remain constant).
3. Explain different types of determinants of demand.
LESSON - 3
COST CONCEPTS
CONCEPT OF COST
Variable costs are those, which vary with the variation in the
total output. They are a function of output. Variable costs inclue
cost of raw materials, running cost on fixed capital, such as fuel,
repairs, routine maintenance expenditure, direct labour charges
associated with the level of output and the costs of all other inputs
that vary with the output.
Total, Average and Marginal Costs
Total cost represents the value of the total resource requirement for
the production of goods and services. It refers to the total outlays of
money expenditure, both explicit and implicit, on the resources
used to produce a given level of output. It includes both fixed and
variable costs. The total cost for a given output is given by the cost
function.
The Average Cost (AC) of a firm is of statistical nature and is not
the actual cost. It is obtained by dividing the total cost (TC) by the
total output (Q), i.e.,
TC
AC = Q = average cost
We have so far discussed the cost concepts that are related to the
working of the firm and those which are used in the cost-benefit
analysis of the business decision process. There are, however,
certain other costs, which arise due to functioning of the firm but
do not normally appear in business decisions. Such costs are
neither explicitly borne by the firms. The costs of this category are
borne by-the society. Thus, the total cost generated by a firm's
working may be divided into two categories:
• Those paid out or provided for by the firms,
• Those not paid or borne by the firm.
The costs that are not borne by the firm include use of resouces
freely available and the disutility created in the process of
production. The costs of the former category are known as private
costs and of the latter category are known as external or social
costs. A few examples of social cost are: Mathura Oil Refinery
discharging its wastage in the Yamuna River causes water pollution.
Mills and factories located in city cause air pollution by emitting
smoke. Similarly, plying cars, buses, trucks, etc., cause both air and
noise pollution; Such pollutions cause tremendous health hazards,
which involve health cost to the society as it whole Thes'e costs are
termed external costs from the firm's point of view and social cost
from the society's point of view. The relevance of the social costs
lies in understandipg the overall impact of firm's working on the
society as a whole and in working out the social cost of private
gains. A further distinction between private cost and social cost
therefore, requires discussion.
Private costs are those, which are actually incurred or
provided by an individual or a firm on the purchase of goods and
services from the market. For a firm, all the actual costs both
explicit and implicit are private costs. Private costs are the
internalised cost that is incorporated in the firm's total cost of
production.
Social costs, on thehand refer to the total cost for the society
on account of production ofa commodity. Social cost can be the
private cost or the external cost. It includes the cost of resources for
which the firm is not compelled to pay a price such as rivers and
lakes, the public, utility services like roadways and drainage
system, the cost in the form of disutility created in through air,
water and noise pollution. This category is generally assumed to be
equal to total private and public expenditures. The private and
public expenditures, however, serve only as an indicator of public
disutility. They do not give exact measure of the public disutility or
the social costs.
COST-OUTPUT RELATIONS
The previous section discussed the variou cost concepts, which help
in the business decisions. The following section contains the
discussion of the behaviour of costs in relation to the change in
output. This is, in fact, the theory of production cost.
TC TFC + TVC
AC = Q = Q
TFC
AFC = Q
TVC
AVC = Q
∆TC aTC
MC = or
∆Q aQ
(4)
Since ∆TC = ∆TFC + ∆TVC and, in the short-run, ∆TFC = 0,
therefore, ∆TC=∆TVC
∆TVC.
TFC (8)
Q
AFC =
Substituting 10 for TFC in equation (8), we get
10 (9)
Q
AFC =
As defined above,
TVC
Q
AVC =
Critical Value of A VC
Q= 9
Thus, the critical value of Q=9. This can be verified from Table
3.1
Average Cost (AC)
The average cost in defined as
TC
AC = Q
10+6Q-09Q2+0.05Q3
(12a)
AC =
Q
10
= Q + 6-0.9Q+0.05Q2
aTC
MC = aQ
The long-run marginal, cost curve (LMC) is derived from the short-
run marginal cost curves (SMCs). The derivation of LMC is illustrated
in Figure 3.4 in which SAC3'and LAC arethe same as'in Figure 3.3(b).
To derive the LMC3, consider the points of tangency between SAC3
and the LAC, i.e., points A, Band C. In the long-run production
planning, these points determine the output levels at the different
levels of production. For example, if we draw perpendiculars from
points A, Band C to the X-axis, the corresponding output levels will
be OQ1 OQ2 and OQ3 The perpendicular AQ1 intersects the SMC1 at
point M. It means that at output BQ2, LMC, is MQ1. If output
increases to OQ2, LMC rises to BQ2. Similarly, CQ3 measures the LMC
at output OQ3. A curve drawn through points M3B and N, as shown
by the LMC, represents the behaviour of the marginal cost in the
long run. This curve is known as the long-run marginal cost curve,
LMC. It shows the trends in the marginal cost in response to the
change in the scale of production.
Economies of Scale
Marshall classified the economies of large-scale production into two
types:
1. ExternalEconomies
2. Internal Economies
External Economies are those, which are available to all the
firms in an industry, for example, the construction of a railway line
in a certain region, which would reduce transport cost for all the
firms, the discovery of a new machine, which can be purchased by
all the firms, the emergence of repair industries, rise of industries
utilising by-products, and the establishment of special technical
schools for training skilled labour and research institutes, etc. These
economies arise from the expansion in the size of an industry
involving an increase in the number and size of the firms engaged in
it.
Internal Ecnomies are the economies, which are available to
a particular firm and give it an advantage over other firms engaged
in the industry. Internal economies arise from the expansion of the
size of a particular firm. From the managerial point of view, internal
economies are more important as they can be affected by
managerial decisions of an individual firm to change its size or
scale.
Then,
M1 V1 2/3
M0 = V0 = (20) 2/3 = 1.59
M1 = 1.59 M0
World Sdale
With re·cent trends towards globalisation of industries in India, the
concept of "World Scale" has emerged. The term 'World Scale' refers
to that scale or size of the enterprise, which is large enough to
enable the firm to reap various large-scale economies so as to
compete successfully on the world basis with global rivals. Thus
Reliance Industries Limited has recently announced to build a world
scale polyester facility at Hnzira and a cracker project with capacity
expanding from earlier 40,000 tonnes·to the world scale of 7,50,000
tonnes per annum.
Diseconomies of Scale
Economies of increasing size do not continue indefinitely. After a
certain point, any further expansion of the size leads to
diseconomies of scale. For example, after the division of labour has
reached its most efficient point, further increase in the number of
workers will lead to a duplication of workers. There will be too many
workers per machine for really efficient production. Moreover, the
problem of co-ordination of different processes may become
difficult. There may be divergence of views concerning policy
problems among specialists in management
and reconciliation may be difficult to arrive. Decision-making
process becomes slow resulting in missed opportunities. There may
be too much of formality, too many individuals between the
managers and workers, and supervision may' become difficult. The
management problems thus get out of hand with consequent
adverse effects on managerial efficiency.
The limit of scale economics is also often explained in terms of
the possible loss of control and consequent inefficiency. With the
growth in the size of the firm, the control by those at the top
becomes weaker. Adding one more hierarchical level removes the
superior further away from the subordinates. Again, as the firm
expands, the incidence of wrong judgements increases and errors
in judgement become costly.
Last be not the least, is the limitation where the larger the
plant, the larger is the attendant risks of loss from technological
changes as technologies are changing fast in modern times.
Economies of Scope
This concept is of recent development and is different from the
concept of economies of scale. Here, the cost efficiency in
production process is brought out by variety rather than volume,
that is, the cost advantages follow from variety of output, for
example, product diversification within the given scale of plant as
against increase in volume of production or scale 6f output. A firm
can add new and newer products if the size of plant and type of
technology make it possible. Here, the firm will enjoy scope-
economies instead of scale economies.
Cost Control
The long-run prosperity of a firm depends upon its ability to eam
sustaid profits. Profit depends upon the difference between the
selling price and the cost of production. Very often, the selling price
is not within the control of a firm but many costs are under its
control. The firm should therefore aim at doing whatever is done at
the minimum cost. In fact, cost control is ail essential element for
the successful operation of a business, Cost control by management
means a search for better and more economical ways of completing
each operation. In effect, cost control would mean a reduction in the
percentage of costs and, in turn, an increase in the percentage of
profits. Naturally, cost control is and will continue to be of perpetual
concern to the industry.
Cost control has two aspects' such as a reduction in specific
expenses and a more efficient use of every rupee spent. For
example, if sales can be increased with the same amount of
expenditure, say, on advertising and saTesmen, the cost as a
percentage of sales is cut down. In practice, cost control will
ultimately be achieved by looking into both these aspects and it is
impossible to assess the contribution, which each has made to the
overall savings. Potential savings in individual businesses will,
however, vary between wide extremes depending upon the levels of
efficiency already achieved before cost controls are introduced.
It is useful to bear in mind the following rules covering cost
control activities:
• It is easier to keep costs down than it is to bring costs down.
• There is more profit in cost control when business is. good than
when I business is bad. Therefore, one should not be slack
when conditions are good.
Cost control helps a firm to improve its profitability and
competitiveness. Profits may be drastically reduced despite a large
and increasing sales volume in the absence of cost control. A big
sales volume does not necessarily mean a big profit. On the other
hand, it may create a false sense of prosperity while in reality;
increasing costs are eating up profits. Profit is in danger-when good
merchantdising and cost control do not go hand in hand. Cost
control may also help a firm in reducing its costs and thus reduce its
prices. A reduction in prices of a firm would lead to an increase in its
competitiveness. The aspect is of particular relevance to Indian
conditions because of high costs, India is being priced out of the
world markets.
• Costs are controlled at the points where they are incurred and
at the time of occurrence of events, and
• At the same time they may be uncontrolled at some points.
It is, therefore, necessary to understand the difference
between controllable and uncontrollable costs. The variances may
also be controllable and uncontrollable. For example, if the material
cost variance is due to rise in prices, it is not within the control of
the production manager. But if the variance is due to greater usage,
control action is certainly possible on his part. The higher
management can also deCide whether or not they should intervene
in the matter. Sometimes, variances may be so significant that a
complete reapRraisal of the standard costs themselves may be
needed.
For example, if the variances are always favourable, it may
point to the fact that the standards have not been properly fixed.
Standard costing can also provide the means for actual and
standard cost comparison by type of expense, by departments or
cost centres. Yields and spoilage can be compared with the
standard allowance for loss. Labour operations and overheads also
can be checked for efficiency. Flexible budgets constitute yet
another effective technique of cost control, especially control of
factory overheads. Flexible budgets, also known as variable
budgets; provide a basis for determining costs that are anticipated
at various levels of activity. It provides a flexible standard for
comparing the costs of an actual volume of activity with the cost
that should be or should have been. The variances can then be
analysed and necessary action can be taken in the matter. Table
3.3 gives a specimen flexible budget.
Ratio Analysis
RatIo is a statistical yardstick that provides a measure of the
relationship betweeri two figures. This relationship may be
expressed as a rate (costs per rupee of sales), as a per cent (cost of
sales as a percentage of sales), or as a quotient (sales as a certain
number of time the inventory). Ratios are commonly used in the
analysis of operations because the use of absolute figures might be
misleading. Ratios provide standards of comparison for appraising
the performance of a business firm. They can be used for cost
control purposes in two ways:
1. Materials
2. Labour
Reduction in wages for reducing labour costs is out of question. On
the other hand, wages might have to be increased to provide
incentives to workers. Yet there is good scope for reduction in the
wage cost per unit. A reduction in labour costs is possible by proper
selection and training, improvement in productivity and by
automation, where possible. A study by cn (Confederation of Indian
Industry) showed that Hero Cycles improved their productivity per
employee by 6.4 per cent. 'Purolators' were able to increase their
productivity by 100 per cent. Work· study might result in a lot of
savings by reducing overtime and idle time and providing better
workloads. Labour productivity might increase if frequent change of
tools is avoided. Improvement in working conditions may reduce
absenteeism and thus reduce costs per unit. Scrutiny of overtime
may reveal substantial scope for savings.
All efforts must be made to redllce wastage of human effort.
Wastage of human effort may be due to lack of co-ordination among
various departments by having more workers than necessary,
·under-utilisation of existing manpower, shortage of materials,
improper scheduling, absenteeism, poor methods and poor morale.
For example, Metal Box adopted a Voluntary Severance Scheme in
197576 to reduce their work force by 950 workers after they faced a
huge operating loss ofRs. 2.4 crores. General Motors eliminated
14,000 white-collar jobs through attrition to reduce cost. Japan's big
5 steel producers announced substantial retrenchment programmes
and workers co-operated with the management. Attempts must be
made to secure co-operation of employees in cost reduction by
inviting suggestions from them. These suggestions should be
carefully examined and implemented if found satisfactory.
Hindustan Lever has a suggestion box scheme and employees who
come out with good suggestions receive awards. These suggestions
may either lead to savings or improve safety and work convenJence.
The basic idea is to motivate workers and make them perceive
working in the firm as a participative endeavour.
3. Overheads
Factory overheads may be reduced by proper selection of
equipment, effective utilisation of space and .equipment, proper
maintenance of equipment and reduction in power cost, lighting
cost, etc. For example, fluorescent lighting can reduce lighting cost.
Faulty designs may lead to excessive use of materials or multiplicity
of components, waste of steam, electricity, gas, lubricants, etc. A
British team invited by the Government of India to report on
standards of fuel efficiency in Indian industry found that fuel
wastages might be as high as an average of 25 per cent. Keeping
them in check even in the face of increasing sales may reduce
overhead costs per unit. For example, Metal Box maintained their
fixed costs in 1976-77 even when there was an increase in sales of
over 18 per cent.
Taking advantage of truck or wagonloads may reduce
transportation cost. Careful planning of movements may also save
transportation cost. Another point to be examined is whether it
would be economical to use one's own transport or hire a transport.
For reasons of economy, many transport companies hire trucks
rather than owning them. This is because purchase and
maintemince of trucks can be more expensive. By chartering
vehicles the problems of maintenance is left to the owner who in
turn Cuts cost for the firm. Thus by keeping a smaller work force on
rolls and by introducing a contract rate linked to a safe delivery
schedule it is possible to ensure speedy point-to-point delivery of
goods. Many firms now prefer to use private taxis rather than have
their own staff cars.
Reduction of wastes in general can also reduce manufacturing
costs considerably. Of course, a certain amount of waste and
spoilage is unavoidable because employees do make mistakes,
machines do get out of order and sometimes raw materials are
faulty. However, attempts can be made to reduce these mistakes
and faulty handling to the minimum. The normal figure for the waste
and spoilage depends upon the complexity of the product, the age
of the manufacturing plant, and the skill and experience of the
workers. Once normal wastage is found out, production reports must
be watched carefully to find out whether the wastages are
excessive. Wastes can be reduced considerably by educating
operators in the causes and cures of the wastes. Bad debt losses
can be reduced considerably by selecting customers carefully, and
keeping an eye on the receivables. Concentrating on areas and
media can reduce advertising costs, which give the best results.
Selling costs can be controlled by improving the supervision and
training of salesmen, rearrangement of sales territories, replanting
salesmen's routes and calls and redirecting of the sales efforts, to
achieve a more economic product mix. It may be possible to save
selling costs by the use of warehouses, making bulk shipments to
the warehouses and giving faster deliveries to the customers.
Centralisation, reduction, clerical and accounting work may also lead
to cost savings. A look at the telephone bills and the communication
cost in general may also reveal areas for substantial savings. For
example a telegram may be sent in place of a trunk call.
There are indirect taxes, which also tend to raise the overall
costs of production in India. Excise duties and saies taxes also
heighten the impact of indirect taxes on the cost of production.
India is perhaps the only country where basic raw materials carry
heavy excise duties. According to an estimate by Mr. S. Moolgaokar,
Chairman, TELCO, as much as Rs. 25 crores of working capital is
locked up in inventories and work-in-progress with TELCO and its
suppliers solely due to the present tax structure.
Until recent times the Indian industrialists operated in a
sheltered domestic market. They were protected against foreign
competition by import controls and against domestic competition
due to industrial licensing. So long as this sellers' market prevailed
competition among sellers was absent and there was no compelling
reason for the industrialists to pay any attention to cost reduction.
Cost consciousness was thus by and large absent in India. The price
fixation for products under price control ensured that the rise in
costs was fully reflected in the prices. This made it possible for the
industrialists to pass on any increase in costs to the consumers.
However, now with the advent of recession tendencies, and
liberalisation in licensing policies, the Indian industrialist is
compelled to pay greater attention to cost reduction and cost
control.
APPENDIX - I
Calculation of Variances
The difference between the standard cost and the comparable
actual, cost for the same element and for the same period is known
as cost variance. The total of the variances consequently represents
the difference between the actual profits and the standard profits,
i.e., the profits that ought to have been made. The variances are
said to be favourable or credit Variances when the actual
performance exceeds the standard performance or the actual costs
are lower than the standard costs. On the other hand, the variances
are unfavourableor debit variances when the actual, performance
falls short of the standard performance or the actual costs exceed
the standard costs. All variances must state the direction of the
variance as well as the amoUnt. Calculation of cost variances is an
important feature of standard costing. The formulae for calculating
the various variances are given below:
Labour CostVariance
(Actual Hours x Actual Rate)-(Standard Hours x Standard Rate)
or, (AH x AR) - (SH x SR)
APPENDIX II
Distributors' Discounts
Quantity Discounts
Time Differentials
Charging different prices on the basis of time is another kind of
price
discrimination. Here the objective of the seller is to take advantage
of
the fact that buyer' demand elasticity varies over time. Two broad
types of time differentials may be distinguished:
• Clock-time differentials,
• Calendar-time differentials.
Clock-time Differentials: When different prices are charged
for the sMne service or commodity at different times within a 24
hours period, the price differentials are known as clock-time
differentials. The common examples of these are the differences
between the day and night rates on trunk calls, differences between
morning and regular shows in cinema houses, and different tates
charged' for electricity sold to industrial users during peak load
hours (day time) and offpeak load hours. In the case of telephone
services, day timing is the period of more inelastic demand and the
night time is the more elastic demand period. Two conditions, which
make the clock-time differentials profitable are as follows:
FOB factory pricing: It implies that the buyer pays all the
freight and is responsible for the risks occurring during transport
except those that are assumed by the carrier. The advantages of
FOB factory pricing are as follows:
REVIEW QUESTIONS
1. Explain with illustration the distinction between the following:
A. Fixed cost and variable costs
B. Acquisition cost and opportunity cost.
2. What is opportunity cost? Give some examples. How are
these costs relevant for managerial decisions?
3. When MC changes, AC changes (a) at the sane rate, (b) as a
higher rate, or (c) at a lower rate? Illustrate your answer with
the help of diagrams.
The point worth noting here is that the law does not state that
each and every increase in the amount of the variable factor that is
employed in the production process will yield diminishing marginal
returns. It is, however, possible that preliminary increases in the
amount of a variable factor may yield increasing marginal returns.
While increasing the amount of the variable factor, a point will " be
reached though, where the; marginal increases in total output or
the marginal retums will begin declining.
Stage II
The stage II is depicted by the figure in the range from X2 to X3. In
othcr words, stage II begins where the average product of the
variable factor is maximised. It continues till the point at which total
product is maximised and marginal product is zero. Here, TP rises at
diminishing rate. This stage is thus, called the stage of diminishing
returns, where a firm decides its level of production.
Stage III
Finally, we have stage III, which is depicted by the area beyond X3
where the total product curve starts decreasing. Here, too much
variable input is being used as related to the available fixed inputs
and thus variable inputs' are overutilized. The efficiency of both
variable inputs and fixed inputs decline through out this stage. In
this range, the marginal product of the variable factor is negative. It
starts from the point where MP is nil and TP is maximum and covers
the whole range of negative marginal productivity. The following
Table 4.2 shows the various stages.
Stage II is Rational
Only stage II is rational and denotes the relevant range-within which
a rationai firm should operate. In Stage I, it is profitable for the fiim
to keep on increasing the use of labour and in Stage, III, MP is
negative and hence it is inadvisable to use additional labour. The
firm, therefore, has a strong incentive to expand through Stage I
into Stage II.
Isoquants
An isoquant is also known as an 'iso-product curve', 'equal product
curve' or a 'production indifferent curve'. These curves show the
various combinations of two variable inputs resulting in the same
level of output. Table 4.3 shows how different pairs of labour and
capital result in the same output.
Substitutability of Inputs
An important assumption regarding the isoquant diagram is that
the inputs can be substituted for each other. For example a
particular combination of X and Y results in output quantity of 600
units. By moving along the isoquant 600, one finds other
quantities of the inputs resulting in the same output. Let us
suppose that X represents labour and Y represents machinery. If
the quantity of the labour (X) is reduced, the quantity of
machinery (Y) must be increased in order to produce the same
output. The following Figure 4.2 shows a typical isoquant.
Marginal Rate of Technical Substitution (MRTS)
The slope of the isoquant has a technical name; Marginal Rate of
Technical Substitution (MRTS) or sometimes, the marginal rate of
substitution in prodtltioti.) Thus, in terms of inputs of capital
services K and Labour L.
MRTS = aK/dL
MRTS is similar to MRS, I.e., Marginal Rate of Substitution,
(which is slope, of an indifference curve).
Types of Isoquants
Isoquants assume different shapes depending upon the degree of
substitutability of inputs under consideration. Based on this the
types of isoquants can be enlisted as follows:
• Linear Isoquants: In the case of linearisoquants, there is
perfect substitutability of inputs. For example, a given output say
100 units can be produced by using only capital or only labour or by
a number of combinations of labour and capital, say 1 unit of labour
and 5 units of capital, or 2 units of labour and 3 units of capital, and
so on. Likewise, a giyen power plant that is equipped to burn either
oil or gas, for producing various amounts of electric power can do so
by burning either gas or oil, or varying amounts of each. Gas and oil
are perfect substitutes here. Hence, the isoquants are straight lines.
The following Figure 4.3 shows the isoquant for oil and gas.
Isocost Curves
In this connection, one has to consider yet another but important
diagram consisting of isocost curves. Here also, the axes represent
quantities of the inputs X and Y. Suppose that the prices of the
inputs are given, and there are no quantity discounts for the firm to
get larger quantities at lower prices. The next step will be to plot the
various quantities of X and Y which may be obtained from the given
monetary outlays. Figure 4.10 shows the resulting isocost curyes,
which are straight lines under the assumption made here. One
isocost showing the quantities of X and Y that can be purchased for
Rs. 1,000 and another isocost curve showing the quantities of X and
Y which can be purchased for an expenditure of Rs. 2,000 and so on.
Now we can easily superimpose the isocost diagram on the
isoquant diagram (as the axes in both the cases represent the same
variables). With the help of Figure 4.11, it can be ascertained that
the maximum output for a given outlay, is say Rs. 2,000. The
isoquant tangent represents this maximum output, which is possible
with this outlay, to the isocost curve. The optimum combination of
inputs is represented by point E, the point of tangency. At this point,
the marginal rate6f substitution (MRS, sometimes known as the rate
of technical substitution), between the inputs is equal to the ratio
between the prices of the inputs.
Likewise, in order to mini mise the cost for a given output, one
may again refer to the isoquant and isocost curves in Figure 4.11. In
this case one moves along the isoquant representing the desired
output. It should be clear that the minimum cost for this input is
represented by isocost line tangent to the isoquant.
Cobb-Douglas Function
A very popular production function, which deserves special mention,
is the CobbI Douglas function. It relates output in American
manufacturing industries from 1899 to 1922 to labour and capital
inputs, taking the form.
P = bLaC1 - a
Where,
P = Total output
L=Index of employment of labour in manufacturing
C = Index of fixed capital in manufacturing.
The exponents ‘a’ and ‘1 – a’ are the elasticity of production
that is, ‘a’ and ‘1- a’ measure the percentage rexsponse of output
to percentage changes in labour and capital respectively. The
function estimated for the USA by Cobb and Douglas is:
P = 1.01L.75C25
R2 = .94.09
This production function shows that a 1 per cent change in
labour input, with the capital remaining constant, is associated with
a 0.75 per cent change in output. Similarly, a 1 per cent change in
capital, with the labour remaining constant, is associated with a
0.25 per cent change in output. The coefficient of determination (R2)
means that 94 per cent of the variations on the dependent variable
(P) were accounted for, by the variations in the independent
variables (L and C).
An inportant point to note is that the Cobb-Douglas function
indicates constant returns to scale. That is, if factors of production
are each increased by 1 per cent, the output will increase by 1 per
cent. In other words, one can assume constant avberage and
marginal production costs for the US industries during the period.
The following Figure 4.13 shows the graph of Cobb-Douglas
production.
Criticism
• The production function ordianrily discussed in economics is a
rigorously developed micro-economic concept. However, Douglas
and his colleagues, estimated production function for nation’s
economies for manufacturing sectors and even for industries. Thus
they “transferred” strictly micro- economic concept to a macro-
econornic setting, without sufficiently justifying their act on logical
economic grounds. Therefore, the result of their studies, in the form
of equations which they derived, may be incorrect, and hence the
interpretations based on their equations are uncertain.
• Perfect competition.
• Imperfect competition
o Monopolistic competition
Main Features
The main features of perfect competition are as follows:
• There are a large number of buyers and sellers. Each seller
must be small and the quantity supplied by any ne seller
must be so insignificant that no increase or decrease in his
output can appreciably affect the total supply and the
market price. So also, each buyer must be small and the
quantity bought by any of the buyers should be so
insignificant that no increase or decrease in his purchases
can· appreciably affect the total demand and the price. As a
result, each seller will accept the market price as it is. So
also each buyer will regard the price as determined by forces
beyond his control.
• Each competitor offers a homogenous product, i.e. the
products are similar to ach other in terms of quality, size,
design and colour. Thus one product could be substituted for
the other if the price is lower. Again, the commodity dealt in
must be supplied in quantity.
• There is no obstacle with regard to entry or exit of the firms.
When these aforesaid three conditions arc fulfilled there is a
market condition that can be defined as a pure competitive
market.
• The market iil which the commodity is bought and sold is
well organised and trading is continuous. Therefore, buyers
and sellers are well informed about the price of the
commodities.
• There are many competitors (whether buyers or sellers),
each acting independently. There must be no restraint upon
the independence of any seller or buyer, either by custom,
contract, collusion, and fear of reprisals by the competitors,
or by the imposition of government control.
• The market price is flexible over a period of time. In other
words, it rises or falls constantly in response to the changing
conditions of supply and demand.
• All the firms have equal access to production technologies
and techniques.
• There are no patents, proprietary designs or special skills
that allow an individual firm to do the job better than its
competitors.
• Firms also have equal access to all their inputs, which are
available on similar terms.
Thus, perfect competition in an extreme case and is rarely to
be found. Actual competition always departs from the ideal of
perfection Perfect competition is a mere concept, a standard by
which to measure the varying degrees of imperfect competition.
Sometimes, a distinction is made between perfect competition
and pure I competition. But the line of distinction drawn between
the two is very fine. That is why many economists have preferred to
use the two terms synonymously. Hence, from managerial
viewpoint, there does not seem to be any difference between the
two. The underlying presumption in a free competition (close to
perfect cmpetition) is that it social interest interest unless the
contrary can be proved. Competition safeguards the consumer
against exploitation by providing the buyer with alternatives, and
makes it unnecessary for the state to intervene by regulating
process and production in order to protect him.
Determination of Price
The forces of demand and supply determine prices under perfect
competition. The equilibrium price is obtained at the intersection of
demand and supply curves as shown in following Figure 4.14. The
equilibrium price will change only with changes in forces of
demand and supply.
• In the same way the following will occur when there is a shift in
the supply curve
o The price will rise less or fall less if demand curve is elastic
o The price will rise more or fall more if demand curve is inelastic.
Marshall defined short period as "a period long enough for the
supplies of a commodity to be altered by increase or decrease in
current output but not long enough for the fixed equipment to be
changed to produce a larger or a smaller output." In other words;
the short-run cost curve remains the same. Here, the supply curve
would be a slopmg lme, moving upward Irom left to right thereby
indicating that as price goes up, supply increases.
• In the long period, firms would see more profitable uses for
their plants and would decide not to replace capital output as
it wears out. This would reduce equipment still further and
permit some recovery in price.
Illustration
To take an example, in Figure 4.23 DD shows the demand for fish
whereas SS, S'S', and S"S" represent the market-period, short-
period and long-period supply curves respectively. Suppose the
demand for fish in the market shifts to D'D'.
The amount that a particular firm offers for scale in the short-run at
different prices for its product depends upon the cost conditions of
the firm. In case there is any price that is lower than the lowest
variable cost per unit, the firm will have to be shut down. It would
not be useful to operate even in the short run at a price lower than
this, sincc variablc costs are not covered. It is not held, however,
that in the short run, the average total costs play no role in the
output decisions of the prbfit-.seeking entrepreneur. This is because
the fixed costs, which are a component of the average total costs,
would remain unaffected by the decision to shut down.
Equilibrium of Industry
The short-term and long-term adjustment processes can be clearly
identified by understanding the concept of equilibrium of an
industry. These are explained as follow.
Meaning of Industry
The term industries are sometimes used in a broad sense so as to
include all the producers of a similar type of commodity such as
vanaspati industry or cigarette industry. It is sometimes used in a
narrow sense to include only the producers of commodities, which
are identical from the point of view of purchasers such as wheat or
more precisely still a particular grade of wheat. In a purely
competitive industry, however, the commodity is uniform and there
is no product differentiation, even in the slightest way. As such,
under perfect competition, an industry may be said to consist of all
firms producing a uniform commodity. It may be further added that
a firm, which produces more than one product, may be said to
participate in more than one industry. Strictly speaking, different
brands of cigarettes may be regarded as different commodities
because there are set consumer preferences for one brand over
another. Yet, these consumer preferences are so slight that for
many purposes all the standard brands may be regarded as one
commodity and the industry as a whole, for example, the cigarette
industry. Of course, the industry is said to be characterised by
product differentiation as different brands have different
characteristics to attract consumers.
2. Potential Competition
Causes of Monopoly
A firm under this market situation can choose to sell many units at a
lower price or fewer units at a higher price. For maximisation of
profit or minirnisation of loss, a monopolistic firm would minimise or
reduce the use of inputs and outputs to the level at which the
marginal revenue equals the marginal cost. However, there is a
significant difference between a purely competitive firm and a
monopoly. The difference lies in the fact that for a purely
competitive firm, marginal revenue equals the average revenue
while in a monopolistic firm, marginal revenue is less than the
average revenue. Therefore, a monopolist in purely competitive firm
can only produce up to the point where average revenue equals the
marginal cost. This can be understood with the help of the Figures
4.24 and 4.25 are givefl below:
Disadvantages of Monopoly
• Under monopolistic condition, a monopolist exercises the
market power by restricting supplies. By doing so, he is likely to
become richer than he' would have been if he had no market
power. He also docs this even at the expense of those who
consume his products.
MONOPSONY
It is a market situation in which there is single buyer to buy the
commodities but there may be many sellers to sell the identical or
homogeneous commodity.
Features of Monopsony
The essential features of monopsony are as follows:
• There is only onc buyer or the goods or services.
• Rivalry from buyers, who offer the close substitutes of the
product, is so remote to make it insignificant.
Costs of Monopsonists
The monopsonist must choose between paying higher wages that
will enable him to employ more workers or limiting his working force
to the analler number workers, who can be employed at lower
wages. This means that when additional worker is added to the
labour force, an employer has to bear both, I wage of the new
worker and also the total increase in the wages to be paid to t old
employees at the new rate. Thus, in monopsonistic market situation,
margir expenditure of each input level exceeds average expenditure
(Table I aild Figu 4.26). Suppose a tailor employs six workers at Rs.
500 per month. To have I additional worker, he must pay Rs. 550
per month to each worker. If he employs the seventh worker, his
total costs, thus, will increase by Rs. 850. To represent the position
graphically, two curves are needed, one to show the average
expenditur and the other to show the marginal expenditure. The
marginal expenditure (ME) is consistently higher than the average
expenditure (AE) and the slope of thl marginal expenditure cutve is
steeper than that of the average expenditure curve.
6 500 3,000 -
7 550 3,850 850
8 600 4,800 950
9 650 5,850 1,050
10 700 7,000 1, 150
11 750 8,250 1,250
Price Discrimination
Price discrimination, may be defined as the practice by a seller of
charging different prices to thL: samc buyer or to different buyers
for the same commodity or service without corresponding difference
in the cost. It is also known as differential pricing. Differences in
rates are somewhat related to the in costs. For example, it may cost
less to serve one class of customers than another to sell in large
quantities than in smaller lots. !frates or prices are proportional to
cost, some buyers will pay more and others less, but this will not
take place in price discrimination. In such a situation, charging
uniform price will amount to discriminat ion. There arc three classes
of price discrimination, which are as follows:
First-degree discrimination: The seller charges, the same
buyer a different price, for euch unit bought. For exumple,
prices that are determined by bargaining with individual
customers or prices, which are quoted for tenders floated by
government authorities.
Second degree discrimination: The seller charges different
prices for blocks of units, instead of, for individual units. For
example, different rates charged by an ekctrieity undertaking
for light and fan, for domestic power and for industrial use.
Market Segmentation
Haynes, Mote and Paul have identified certain criteria according to
which market segmentation is practised. These criteria are given
below:
Objectives
The objectives of pricc discrimination are as follows:
• To adjust the consumer's surplus in such a way that it accrues
to the producer and not to the consumer.
• To dispose of occasional or irregula surpluses.
• To develop a new market.
• To make the maximum and proper use of the unutilised
capacity.
• To earn monopoly profits.
• To enter into or retain report markets.
• To destroy or to forestall competition or to make the
competition amenable to Ihc wishes of the seller adopting price
discrimination. It may be called predatory or discriminatory
competition. The test of perdition of intent.
Here, the prices, sales and total costs are the same as they
were in Table 4.5. But the monopolist divides his customers into
separate groups and charges different prices from each group. The
basis of dividing the customers is as follows:
When price is Rs. 9 per unit, 100 units are sold, when the price is
Rs. 8 per unit, 200 units are sold. This means that 100 units can be
sold for Rs. 9 per unit and another 100 for Rs. 9 per unit. Similarly,
by charging Rs. 7 per unit, the monopolist can sell another 100
units. In this way, other categories have also been formed as shown
in column 3. Column 4 gives revenue from each category, which is
calculated by multiplying the figures of column 3 with the
corresponding figures of column 1. Column 5 gives tot21 revenue
obtained by selling goods to various categories of the customers.
Column 6 gives total cost and column 7 gives profit or loss.
APPENDIX 1
PROFIT
MEANNING
Profit means different things to different people. The word ‘profit’
has different meanings to business, accountants, tax collectors
workers and economists. In a general sense, profit is regarded as
income of the equity shareholders. Similarly wages getting
accumulated of a labor, rent accruing to the owners of any land or
building and interest getting due to the investors of capital of a
business, are a kind of profit for labours, land owners and investors.
To an account, profit means the excess of revenue over all paid out
costs including both manufacturing and overhead expenses. It is
much similar to net profit. In accountancy, profit or business income
means profit of a business including its non allowance expenses. In
economic, Profit is called pure profit, which may be defined as a
residual left after all contractual costs have been met, including the
transfer costs of management insurable risks, depreciation and
payment to shareholders, sufficient to maintain investment at its
current level. Therefore pure profit can be calculated with the help
of following formula.
Pure Profit = Total Revenue - (explicit costs + implicit costs).
Economic or pure profit also makes provision for insurable risks,
depreciation and necessary minimum payments to shareholders to
prevent them from withdrawing their capital. Pure profit is
considered to be a short – term phenomenon. It does not exist in the
long run, especially under perfectly conditions. Because of this, they
may either be positive or negative for a single firm in a single year.
The concept of economic profit differs from that of accounting
profit Economic profit takes into account also the implicit or imputed
costs. The implicit cost is also called opportunity cost. If an
entrepreneur uses his labor in his own business, he foregoes his
income or salary, which he might have earned by working as a
manager in another firm. Similarly, by using assets like and building
and his own business, he foregoes the market rent, which might
have earned otherwise. All these foregone incomes such as interest,
salary and rent, are called opportunity costs or transfer costs.
Accounting profit does not consider the opportunity cost.
MONOPLOY PROFIT
Monopoly is a market situation in which there is a single seller of a
commodity without a close substitute. Monopoly may arise due to
economies of scale, sole ownership of raw materials, legal sanction,
protection, mergers and take–overs. A monopolist may earn pure
profit, which is also called monopoly profit in the case of a
monopoly, and maintain it in the long run by using its monopoly
powers. Monopoly powers are as follows:-
• Powers to control supply and price.
• Powers to prevent the entry of competitors by reducing the
prices.
The Monopoly powers help a monopoly firm to make pure
profit or monopoly profit. In such cases, monopoly is the source of
pure profit.
PROBLEMS IN PROFIT MEASURMENT
Accounting profit is the difference between all explicit costs and
economic profit or subtracting the difference of explicit and implicit
costs from revenue. Once profit is defined, it is easier for a firm to
measure the profit for a given period. The problems regarding the
measurement of profits are as follows:
• The choice between the two concepts of profits, to be given
preference while using.
• The determination of the various costs to be included in the
implicit and explicit costs.
The solutions to these problems are as follows:-
• The use of a profit concept depends on the purpose of
measuring profit.
• According concept of profit is used when the purpose is to
produce a profit figure for any of the following.
o The shareholders, to inform them of progress of the firm
o Financiers and creditors, who would be interested in the
firm’s progress
o The Managers to assess their own performance
o For computation of tax-liability.
To measure accounting profit for these purposes, necessary
revenue and cost data are, in general, obtained from the firm books
of account. It must, however, be noted that accounting profit may
present an overstatement or understand of actual profit, if it is
based on illogical allocation of revnues and costs to a given
accounting period.
On the other hand, if the objective is to measure true profit,
the concept of economic profit should be used. However true
profitability of any investment or business has been completely
done. But then the life of a business firm is unending therefore , true
profit can be measured only in terms of maximum amount that can
be distributed as dividends without harming the earning power of
the firm. This concept of business income is however, unattainable
and therefore, is of little practical use. It helps in income
measurement even from businessman point of view. From the
above discussion, it is clear that, for all practical purpose, profits
have to be measured on the basis of accounting concept. But
measuring even the accounting profit is not an easy task. The main
problem is to decide as to what should be and what should not be
included in the cost one might feel that profit and loss accounts and
balance sheet of the firms provide all the necessary data to
measure accounting profit there are, however three specific items of
cost and revenue which cause problems, such as depreciation,
capital gains and losses and current vs. historical costs. These
problems are related to measurement and may arise because of the
differences between economists and accountants view on these
items. The concept of current costs can be used understood from
the following description.
Profit is also affeckd by the way capital gains and losses are
treated in accounting. According to Dean, "a sound accounting
policy to follow concerning windfalls is never to record them until
they are turned into cash by a purchase or sale of assets, since it is
never clear until then exactly how large they are". But, in practice,
some firms do not record capital gains until it is realised in money
terms, but they do write off capital losses from the current profit.
The use of different policies result in different profits. But an
economist is not concerned with the accounting practice or
principle, which is followed in recording the past events. An
economist is concerned mainly with what happens in future.
According to an economist, the management should be aware of the
approximate magnitude of such windfalls before they are accepted
by the accountants. This would be helpful in taking the right
decision with respect of those assets, which are affected by the use
of policies given by the economists.
Let us suppose that the total revenue and total cost functions
are, respectively given as below:
TR = TC = f (Q)
where, Q = quantity produced and sold.
Substituting total revenue and total cost functions In
Equation (I), profit function can be written as below:
TP = f(Q)TR - f(Q)TC (2)
With the help of equation (2), The first order condition and the
secondary. Condition can be understood easily.
First-order Condition
The first-order condition of maximising a function is that the first
derivative of the profit function must be equal to zero. By
differentiating the total profit function and equating it to zero, the
following equation is obtained:
aTP aTR aTC
aQ = aQ - aQ =0
(3)
This condition holds only when
aTR aTC
aQ = aQ
Second-order Condition
The second-order condition of profit maxirnisation requires that the
first order condition is satisfied under rising MC and decreasing MR.
This condition is illustrated in Fig. I. The MC and MR curves are the
usual marginal cost and marginal revenue curves, respectively. MC
and MR curves intersect at two points, PI and P2. Thus, the first order
condition is satisfied at both the points but mathematically, the
second order condition requires that its second derivative of the
profit function is negative. When second derivative of profit function
is negative, it shows that the total profit curve has bent downward
after reaching the highest point on the profit scale. The second
derivative of the total profit function is given as:
a2TR a2TC
aQ2 - aQ2 <0
a2TR a2TC
aQ2 < aQ2 < 0
Since & TR/aQ2 is the slope of MR and & a2 TC/aQ2 is the slope
of MC, the second-order condition can also be written as:
aMR aMC
Q - Q <0
Or
a(100 – 40) a(Q)
aQ aQ
- <0
- 4 – 1 <0
Thus, the second-order condition is also satisfied at output 20.
The following arc the important criteria that are considered while
selling the standards for a reasonable profit.
• Either the profit goals are set in terms of total net profit for
the divisions or they should be restricted to their share in the total
net profit.
Conclusion
Profit maximisation is the most popular hypothesis in economic
analysis, but there are many other important objectives, which are
not to be avoided by any firm. Modem business firms pursue
multiple objectives. The economists consider a number of
alternative objectives of business firms. The main factor behind the
multiplicity of the objectives, especially in case of large business
firms, is the separation of management from the- ownership.
Moreover, profit maximisatjon hypothesis is based on time. The
empirical evidence against this hypothesis is not conclU3ive and
unambiguous. The alternative hypotheses are also not so strong to
repiace the profit maximisation hypothesis. In addition to it, profit
maximisation hypothesis has a greater explanatory and predictive
power than any of the alternative hypotheses. Therefore, profil
maximisation hypothesis still fornls the basis of firms' behaviour.
In other words, the company would not make any loss or profit
at a sales volume of 5,000 units as shown below:
Sales RS.20,000
Cost of goods sold:
Variable cost @
Rs 10,000
Rs.2.00
Fixed costs Rs. 10,000 Rs.20,OOO
Net Profit Nil
Example 2:
Sales Rs. 10,000
Variable costs Rs. 6,000
Fixed costs RS. 3,000
With the help of given information, calculate net profit.
Solution.
Increase in sales 19,000 - 15,000 = Rs. 4,000
Increase in profit 1,200 - 400 = Rs. 800
Increase in variable costs 4,000 - 800 = Rs. 3,200
Over sales of Rs. 4,000, variable costs are Rs. 3,200.
Hence VC per rupee of sale is 3,200 + 4,000 = 0.80.
Fixed costs will be as under:
Variable cost 15,000 x 0.80 12,000
Profit 400
VC + Profit 12,400
Sales value 15,000
Fixed cost 2,600
FC
Contribution margin ratio
Now, BEP =
2,600
= 0.2 = Rs. 13,000
40 - 30 1
Table ---x 100 = - xl 00 = 25 per cent
40 4
50 - 40 1
---x 100 = - xl 00 = 20 per cent
50 5
70 - 50 2
---x 100 = -x 100 = 28.57 per cent
70 7
25.28 % say 25 %
--
Break-even Charts
Break-even analysis is very commonly presented by means of
break even charts. Break-even charts are also known as profit-
graphs. A break-even chart prepared on the basis of example 1
above is given in Figure 5.2. In this figure, units of product are
shown on the horizontal axis OX while revenues and costs are
shown on the vertical axis OY. The fixed costs of Rs. 10,000 are
shown by a straight line parallel to the horizontal axis. Variable
costs are then plotted over and above the fixed costs. The resultant
line is the total cost line, combining both variable and fixed costs.
There is no variable cost line in the graph. The vertical distance
between the fixed cost and th~ total cost lines represents variable
costs. The total cost at any point is the SU!TI of Rs. 10,000 plus Rs.
2.00 per unit of variable cost multiplied by the number of units sold
at that point. Total revenue at any point is the unit price of Rs. 4.00
multiplied by the number of units sold. The break-even point
corresponds to the point of intersection of the total revenue and the
total cost lines. A perpendicular from the BEP to the horizontal axis
shows the break-even point in units of the product. Dropping a
perpendicular from BEP to the vertical axis shows the break-even
sales value in rupees. The firm would suffer a loss at any point
below the BEP. Total costs are more than total revenue. Above the
BEP, total revenue exceeds total costs and the firm makes profits.
Since profit or loss occurs between costs and revenue lines, the
space between them is known as the profit zone, which is to the
right of the BEP, and the loss zone, which is to the len of the BEP.
The following Figure 5.2 shows Break-even Chart.
Assumptions
1. All costs are either variable or fixed over the entire range of
the volume of production. But in practice, this assumption may
not hold well over the entire range of production.
2. All revenue is variable in nature. This assumption may Lot be
valid in all cases such as the case where lower prices are
charged to large customers.
3. The volume of sales and the volume of production are equal.
The total products, produced by the firm, are sold and here is
no change in the closing inventory. In practice, sales and
production volumes may differ significantly. However, these
assumptions are not so unrealistic so as to weaken the validity
of the break-even analysis.
4. In the case of multi-product firms, the product-mix shoulu be
stable. Fora multi-product firm, the BEP is determined by
dividing total fixed costs by an average ratio of variable profit,
also called contribution to'sales. If each product has the same
contribution ratio, the BEP is not affected by changes in the
product-mix.
However, if different products have different contribution
ratios, shift in the product-mix may cause a shift in the break-even
point. In real life, the assumption of stable product-mix is somewhat
unrealistic.
Safety Margin
The break-even chart helps the management to know the profits
generated at the various levels of sales. But while deciding the
volume at which the firm would operate, apart from the demand,
the management should consider the safety margin associated with
the proposed volume. The safety margin refers to the extent to
which the firm can afford a decline in sales before it starts occurring
losses. The formula to determine the safety margin is:
(Sales – BEP) x 100
Safety Margin Sales
=
= 25%
Change in Price
The management is also faced with a problem whether to reduce
the prices or not. The management will have to consider a number
of points before taking a decision related to the change in the
prices. A reduction in price results in a reduction in the contribution
margin as well. This means that the volume of sales will have to be
increased to maintain the previous level of profit. The higher the
reduction in the contribution margin, the higher will be the increase
in sales needed to maintain the previous level of profit. However,
reduction in prices may not always lead to an equal increase in the
sales volume, which is affected by the elasticity of demand. But the
information about elasticity of demand may not be easily available.
Breakeven analysis helps the management to know the required
sales volume to maintain the previous level of profit. On the basis of
this knowledge and experience, it becomes much easier for -the
management to judge whether the required increase it sales will be
feasible or not. The formula to determine the new sales volume to
maintain the same level of profit, given a reduction in price, would
be as under:
FC + P
Qn = SPn - VC
where Qn = New volume of sales
FC = Fixed cost
P = Profit
SPn = New selling price
VC = Variable cost per unit (n denotes new)
Example 6(a): Continuing with the same example 6, if we
propose a reduction of 10 per cent in price from Rs. 4.00 to Rs. 3.60,
the new sales volume needed to maintain the previous profit ofRs.
6,000 will be:
10, 000 + 16, 000
= = 10,000 units
6,000
3.60 – 2.00 1.60
Change in Costs
Break-even analysis' helps to analyse the changes in variable
cost and fixed cost, which are explained as follows.
Change in variable cost: An increase in variable costs leads
to a reduction in the contribution margin. In such a situation, a firm
determines the total sales volume needed to maintain the prescnt
profits withcut any increase in price. A firm also determines the
price lhut should be set to maintain the present level of profit
without any change in sales volume. The formulae to determine the
new quantity or the new selling price, given a change in variable
costs, are:
1. The new quantity will be:
FC +P
Qn = SP - VC n
2.
FCn – FC
SPn = SP + Q
Example 6 (d): Continuing with the same example 6, if fixed
cost increases from Rs. 10,000 to Rs. 15,000.
Expansion of Capacity
break-even point?
Rs. 60 - 40
60 x 30% = 0.10
Rs. 100 - 60
100 x 20% = 0.08
10,000
= 5 = 2,000
Choosing Promotion-mix
Sellers often use several methods of sales promotion, such as
personal selling, advertising, etc. But the proportion of all these
methods in the promotion mix varies from seller to seller. A retail
shop may have to consider whether or not to employ a certain
number, say, five additional salesmen. Similarly, a manufacturer
may have to decide if he should spend an additional sum of Rs.
20,000 on advertising his product or not. Break-even analysis
enables him to take appropriate decisions by showing how the
additional fixed costs influence the break-even points. This can be
explained with the help of the following illustration:
Example 10: A manufacturer sells his product at Rs. 5 each.
Variable costs are Rs. 2 per unit and the fixed costs amount to Rs.
60,000. Find the following:
1. The break-even point.
2. The profit if the firm sells 30,000 units.
3. The BEP if the firm spends Rs. 3,000 on advertising.
60,000
= 5-2 = 20,000 units
Profit = Total revenue - Fixed cost - Variable cost
= (5 x 30,000) - 60,000 - (2 x 30,000)
= 1,50,000 - 60,000 - 60,000
= Rs.30,000
63,000
= 5-2 = 21,000 units
63,000 + 30,000
= 3
93,000
= 3 = 31,000 units
Equipment Selection
Break-even analysis can also be used to compare different ways
o(doing jobs. For instance, use of simple machines, is usually best
for small quantities. But when bigger quantities are to be produced,
faster but usually costlier machines are to be employed.
Sometimes, a choice is to be made in between three or more
methods, depending upon the most economical one. The following
example explains how to determine these ranges.
Example 11: A manufacturer has to choose from amongst three
machines for his factory. The conditions, which he wants to be
fulfilled regarding the three machines, are as follows:
1. An automatic machine which will add Rs. 20,000 a year to his
fixed costs but the variable costs per unit will be only 40 p.
2. A semi-automatic machine which will add Rs. 8,000 a year to
his fixed costs but variable cost$ per unit will be Rs. 2 and
3. A hand-operated machine which will add only Rs. 2,000 a year
to his fixed costs but will cause variable costs per unit of Rs. 4.
Calculate the range of output over which automatic, semi-
automatic and hand-operated machines would be most economical.
How would you choose between hand-operated and automatic
machines, supposing the semi automatic machine does not exist?
Solution. The cost formulae for the three machines would be,
Machine Cost formula
Automatic Rs. 20,000 + 0.40 S
Semi-automatic Rs. 8,000 + 2.00 S
Hand-operated Rs. 2,000 + 4.00 S
Production planning
The total expenses for one week are estimatcd at Rs. 21,400.
Find out the production plan, which the, company should follow.
How much profit shall be earned by following this production plan?
Solution. The contributions of Cloth X and Yare Re. 0.60 and Re.
0.80 per metre respectively, which are calculated by subtracting
variable cost of each from selling price. Hence, priority should be
gi~en to the production of cloth Y as it contributes more towards
meeting the fixed cost. The maximum of cloth Y that can be sold is
40,000 metres, which would require 10,000 hours. However, the
total hours available are 9,600. Hence, the maximum of cloth Y that
can be produced is 38,400 metres (9,600 x 4). The production plan
to be followed is given below:
_._--
Cloth X Nil
Cloth Y 38,400 metres
This plan shall provide profits as shown below:
Total Revenue = Rs. 38,400 x 3.80 = Rs. 1,45,920
Total cost:
Business A Business B
Selling price per unit Re. 1.00 Re.I.OO
PROFIT FORECASTING
REVIEW QUESTIONS
1. Distinguish between the following concepts or profit:
A. Accounting profit and economic
profit. B. Normal profit and monopoly
profit.
C. Pure profit and opportunity cost.
2. Examine critically profit maximisation as the objective of
business firms. What are the alternative objectives of
business firms?
3. Explain the first and second order conditions of profit
maximisation.
Factor-Income Method
This method is also known as income method and factor-share
method. factorincome method is used when national economy is
considerl:d as a combination of factor-owners and users. Under this
method, the national income is calculated by adding up all the
inconlcs accruing to the basic factors of production used in
producing the national product. Factors of production are c1assi ficd
as land, labour, capital and organisation. Accordingly,
National income = Rent + Wages + Interest + Profits
However, it is conceptually very difficult in a modern economy to
make a distinction between earnings from land and capital and
between the (;arnings from ordinary labour and organisational
efforts including entrepreneurship. Therefore, for estimating
national income factors of production arc broadly grouped as labour
lInd capital. Accordingly, national income is supposed to originate
from two primary factors, viz., labour and capital. However, in some
activities, labour and capital are jointly supplied and it is difficult to
separate labour and capital from the total earnings of the supplier.
Such incomes are termed as mixed incomes. Thus, the total factor-
incomes are grouped under three categories:
• Labour incomes
• Capital income
• Mixed incomes.
Labour Income: Labour incomes included in the national income
have five components:
• Net rents from land and buildings including imputed net rents
on owneroccupied dwellings
• Royalties
• Profits of government enterprises.
The data for the first two incomes is obtained from the firms'
accounts submitted for taxation purposes. There exist difference in
definition of profit for national accounting purposes and taxation
purposes. Therefore, it is necessary to make some adjm.ments in
the income-tax data for obtaining these incomes. The income-tax
data adjustments generally pertain to (i) Excessive allowance of
depreciation made by tax authorities, (ii) Elimination of capital
gains and losses since these do not reflect the changes in current
income, and (iii) Elimination of under 0,' overvaluation of
ir:ventories on book-value,
Mixed Income: Mixed incomes include income from (a) fanning
(b) sole proprietorship (not included ,Ilnder profit or capital income)
(c) other professions such as legal and l.ledical practices,
consultancy services, trading and transporting. Mixed income also
includes incomes of those who earn their living through various
sources such as wages, rent on own property and interest on own
capital.
All the three kinds of incomes, viz., labour incomes, capital
incomes and Inixed incomes added together give the measure of
national income by factorincome method.
Expendit4re Method
Choice of Methods
After the NIC, the task of estimating national income was taken
over by the Central Statistical Organisation (CSO). Until 1967, the
CSO followed the methodology laid down by the NIC. Thereafter, the
CSO adopted a relatively improved methodology and procedure,
which had become possible due to increased availability of data.
The improvements pertain mainly to the industrial classification of
the activities. The CSO publishes its estimates in its publication
Estimates of National Income.
Methodology
(i) Agriculture (ii) Forestry and logging (iii) rishing. (iv) Mining
and quarrying (v) Large-scale manufacturing (vi) Small-scale
manufacturing (vii) Construction (viii) Electricity, gas and water
supply (ix) Transport and communication (x) Real estate and
dwellings (xi) Public Administration and Defence (xii) Other services
and (xiii) External transactions. The national income is estimated at
both constant ar.d current prices.
Indirect
5. Taxes 947 3,455 13,586 58,205 77,653
Less
Subsideis
Gross 6,16,50
6. National 15,182 39,424 122,772 4,65,82 4
Product 7
(GNP)
= (1 + 4)
Net National 14,242 36,503 1,10,68 5,44,93
7. Profit (NNP) 5 4,13,94 5
= (6-2) 3
GDP (at 16,201 43,163 1,36,01 705,566
8. market 3 5,30,86
prices) 5
= (1+5)
GNP (at 16,129 42,879 1,36,35 9,31,01
9. Market 8 5,24,03 6
price) = (8 + 2
3)
NDP (at 15,261 40,292 1,23,92 6,63,99
10 Market 6 4,78,98 7
. price) = (8 – 1
2)
NNP (at 15,189 39,958 1,24,27 6,22,58
11 market 1 4,72,14 8
. price) = (9 – 8
2)
Source : CMIE, Basic Statistics Relating to Indian Economy, Aug
1994 Table 13.3
Keynesian Definition
Kl:YlH:S rdales inl1ation to a price level that comes into existence
after the stage of full employment. While, the quantity approach
emphasises the volume of money to be responsible for rise in the
price level. Keynes distinguishes between two types of rise in
prices (a) rise in prices accompanied by increase in production (h)
rise in prices not accompanied by incrl:ase in production. If an
economy is working at a low level, with a large number of
unemployed men and unutilised resources then expansion of
money or some other. factors leading to an increase in demand will
result not only in a rise in the price level but also rise in the volume
of goods and services in an economy. This will continue until all
unemployed men tind employment arid capital and other resources
are more fully utilised, i.e., the stage of full employment. Beyond
this stage, however, any increase in the volume of money or rise in
demand will lead to a rise in prices but lIO corresponding rise in
production or employment.
Keynes states that the initial rise in prices up to the stage of full
employment is a good thing far the country 'since there is an
increase in. output and employment. Reflation or partial inflation is
used to designate such a rise in the price level. The rise in prices
aller the stage of full employment is bad far the country since
there is no corresponding increase in production or employment.
Inflation is used to express such a rise in the price level. Therefore,
inllation refers
to a rise in the price level after full employment has been attained.
(
According to Keynes, "inflation" can be applied to an
underdeveloped country like India where unemployment of men
and resources exist side by side with inflationary rise in prices. This
is due to the existence of bottlenecks, such as limited amount of
capital, machinery, transport facilities and absence of technical
know-how. As a result of these bottlenecks and shortages, a rise in
the price level may not lead to increase output beyond a certain
stage, even though the country may not have reached the stage of
full employment. We can distinguish between three kinds of
inflation on the basis of their causes, viz., demand-pull, cost-push
and sectoral inflation.
Demand-pull Inflation
The most common cal;lse for inflation is the pressure of ever-rising
demand on a stagnant or less rapidly increasing supply of goods
and services. The expansion in aggregate demand may be due to
rapidly increasing private investment or expanding government
expenditure for war or economic development. At a time whe.n
demand is expanding and exerting pressure on prices'cattempts
are made to expand production. However, this may not be possible
either due to nonavailability o(uqemployed resources or shortages
of transport, power, capital and equipment. Expansion in aggregate
demand, after the level of full employment, results into rf~e in the
price level. In a developing economy I ike India, resources are used
for growth, for creating fixed assets and production of consumer
goods. Necessarily, large expenditure will create. large money
income and large demand but without a corresponding increase in
supply of real output.
Cost-push Inflation
In certain circumstances, prices are pushed up by wage increases,
forced upon the economy by labour leaders under the threat of
strike. Costs can also be raised by manufacturers through a system
of fixing a higher margin of profit. The common man generally
blames profiteers, speculators, hoards and others for pushing up the
costs and prices. Again, the government is responsible for raising
the costs by imposing new taxes and continuously raising the tax
rates of existing commodity. Therefore, rising rates of commodity
taxes, in a sellers market, will enable the producers to raise the
prices by the full amount of taxes. Under conditions of rising prices,
business and industrial units find it easy to pass on the burden of
higher wages to the consumers by raising the prices. 1 II us, rise in
wages; profit margin and taxation are responsible for cost-push
inflation.
In periods when wages, prices and aggregate demand are all
rising and creating an inflationary situation, it is d-ifficult to find out
active and passive factor. In many cases, it is neither demand-pull
inflation nor cOSt-push inflation, but it is a combination of both.
However, it is possible and often useful to separate the dominant
factors. If aggregate de~and is responsible for the inflationary
situation, it may persist so long as excess demand persists and in
the extreme case, it may develop into hyperint1alion cwn thoug.h
(osl-push fOt'\'l'S nl".' nhsl'llt. t)11 the other hand, cost-push
inllation cannot pcrsist for long, unless thcrc is increase ill aggrcg:llc
<lClll:1I\(1. I r illf1ntillll is cOlllrolled lilnllip"l1llllli\('lilry IIIll! 1i""'111
Ill,'lli",h, aimcd at controlling aggregate dCllland then we have
demand-pull inllation. Un thc other hand, if wages and prices
continue to rise even whcn demand ceases to grow, we have cost-
push int1ation.
On Distribution of Income
It is true that in times of general rise in the price level, if all groups
of prices, such as agricultural prices, industrial prices, prices of
minerals, wages, rent and profit rise in the same direction and by
the same extent, there will be no net effect on any section of people
in the community. For example, if the prices of goods and services,
which a worker quys rises by 50 per cent and if the wage of the
worker also rises by 50 per cent then there is no change in the real
income of the worker, i:e., his standard of living will remain
constant. However, in practice, all prices do not move in same
direction and- by saine percentage. Hence, some classes of reople
in the community are affected more favourably than others. This is
explained as follows:
Control of Inflation
Inflation should be controlled in the beginning stage, otherwise it
wiil take the shape of hyper-inflation which will completely run the
country. The different methods used to control inflation are known
as anti-inflationary measures. These measures attempt mainly at
reducing aggregate demand for goods and services on the basic
assumption that inflationary rise in prices is due to an excess of
demand over a given supply of goods and services. Anti-inflationary
measures are of four types:
• Monetary policy
• Fiscal policy
• Other methods
Monetary Policy
It is the policy of the central bank of the country, which is the
supreme monetary and banking authority in a country. The
central bank may use such methods as the bank rate, open
market operations, the reserve ratio and selective controls in
order to control the credit creation operation of commercial banks
and thus restrict the amounts of bank deposits in the country.
'this is known as tight money policy. .\ Monetary policy to control
inflation is based on the assumption that a rise in prices is due to
a larger demand for goods and services, which is the direct result
of expansion of bank credit. To the extent this is true, the central
bank's policy wi}1 be successful.
Fiscal Policy
It is the policy of a government with regard to taxation,
expenditure and public borrowing. It has a very important
influence on business and economic activity. Taxes determine the
size or the volume of disposable income in the hands of the
public. The proper tax policy to control inflation will avoid tax
cuts, introduce new taxes and raise the rates of existing taxes.
The purpose being to reduce the volume of purchasing power in
the hands of the public and thus reduces their demand. A
precisely similar effect will be achieved if voluntary or compulsory
savings are increased. Savings will reduce current demand for
goods and thus reduce the inflationary rise in prices.
As an anti-inflationary measure, government expenditure
should be reduced. This .indicates that demand for goods and
services will be further reduced. This policy of increasing public
revenue through taxation and decreasing public expenditure is
known as surplus budgeting. However, there is one important
difficulty is this policy. It may be easy to increase revenue in times
of inflation when people have more money ineome !:Jut difficult to
reduce public expenditure. During war as well as during a period
of development expenditure it is absolutely impossible to reduce
the planned expenditure. If the government has already taken up
a scheme or a group of schemes, it is ruinous to give them up in
the middle.; Therefore, public expenditure cannot be used as an
anti-inflationary measure. Lastly, public debt, i.e., the debt of the
government may be managed in such a way that the supply of
money in the country may be controlled. The government should
avoid paying back any of its previous loans during inflation so as
to prevent an increase in the circulation of moneY: Moreover, ifthe
government manages to get a surplus budget it should be used to
cancel public debt held by the central bank. The result will be anti-
inflationary since money taken from the public and commercial
banks is being cancelled out and is removed from circulation. But
the problem is how to get abudgct surplus, \vhich is extremely
difficult, if not impossible.
Bottleneck Inflation
It is interesting to observe that Keynes himself visualised the
possibility of an inflationary situation even before full employ·.lent
was reached. Such: a situation can arise even in advanced
countries, if there are difficulties in perfect G\lasticity of supply of
goods and services. It is possible that full employment is not
reached but even then, there is no scope for increased production.
The factors responsible for imperfect ela<;ticity of supply are law of
diminishing returns, absence of homogeneous factors and
unemployed resources, which cannot be used to increase
production. All these factors are lumped together and are known as
bottlenecks. As monetary demand increases with the increase in
money supply, supply of goods does not increase in proportion, due
to imperfect elasticity. The difficulties or handicaps, which prevent
supply from increasing in the face of rising demand, are known as
bottlenecks. The result is that the cost of production is pushed up
and price level is raised. Apart from these, other bottlenecks are as
follows:
Deflation
I I' prices an; abnormally high, it is indeed desirable to have a fall in
prices. Such a fall in the price level is good for the community, as it
will not lead to a fall in the level of production or employment. The
process designed to reverse the inllationary trend in prices, without
creating unemployment, is generally known as disinflation. But if
prices fall from the level of full employment, then income and
employment will be adversely affected and this situation is termed
as deflation. The foll0wing Figure 6.1. shows if the price level
continues to rise even after the stage of full employment has been
reached, it is cnlled intlntiol\. Decline in prkt' level as a result of
anti-inl1ationary measures is known as disinflation. If prices litll
below 1'1111 OlllploYlIlt'lll. lho ~illlr,li\l11 i~ ~\nlh'd
11011,,111111. Whllt' 11IC111lhlll IIIII,II\'~ excess demand over the
avai lable supply. uel1l1tion implies dcticiency of dcmand to lift
what is supplied. While inflation means rise in money incomes,
deflation stands for fall in money incomes.
Effects of Deflation
The following are the adverse effects of deflation:
Methods of Control
Anti-deflation measures are the opposite of those, which are used to
combat inflation. Monetary policy aimed at controlling deflation
consists of using the discount rate, open-market operations and
other weapons of control available to the central bank of a country
to raise volume of credit of commercial banks. This policy is known
as cheap money policy. This is based on an idea that with the
increase in the volume of credit, there will be an increase in
investment, production and employment. However, monetary policy
is basically weak, for it assumes that the volume of credit can be
expanded by the central bank. This may not be so, because even
when commercial banks are prepared to lend more to businesses to
enable them to expand their investment, the latter may not be
willing to do so for fear of possible failure of their investments.
Fiscal policy to fight deflation is known as deficit financing, i.e.,
expenditure in excess of tax revenues. On one hand government
attempts to reduce the level of taxation to provide large amount of
purchasing power with the public. While, on the 'other hand, the
government increases its expenditure on public work programmes
such as irrigation, construction of roads and railways. By this
programme government will (:I) provide employment for those who
may be thrown out of employment in the private sector, (b) add tei
national wealth, and (c) counteract the deficiency of private demand
for goods and services. The budget deficit can be financed through
borrowing from the public of their idle cash balances or banks. The
basic idea of fiscal policy is to expand demand for goods or to
counteract the decline in private demand. Therefore, fiscal policy is
the most important policy for economic stabilisation.
Other measures to control deflation include price support
programmes, i.e., to prevent prices from falling beyond certain
levels and lowering wage and other costs to bring adjustment
between price and cost of production. Price support programme has
been extensively used in the USA in recent years but it is very
difficult to carry it through. The government will have to fix the
prices below which the commodities will not be sold and undertake
to buy the surplus stocks" It is difficult for the government to secure
the necessary funds for such transactions as well as to devise ways
and means to dispose of the surplus stocks in other countries.
Therefore, the best solution for deflation is to have a ready
programme of public works to be implemented as and when
unemployment makes its appearance.
• The government may use the tax system to mop up the surplus
purchasing power with people; this will reduce C + I by the
same amount as the increase in government expenditure.
Deflationary Gap
Stagflation
From the above definition, it should ,be clear that trade cy~les is
rhythmic fluctuations of the economy, that is, periods of prosperity
followed by periods of depression. However, the waves of prosperity
and depression need not always be of the same length and
amplitude. Further, trade cycles varied tremendously in magnitude.
Whde some have smaller cyclical fluctuations in economic activity,
others have great intensity of fluctuations. Expansion in some
cycles reaches the full employment level and stays there. However,
in some cycles, the peak is reached even before full employment.
Sometimes, the cyclical fluctuations may be prolonged for one
reason or the other.
The American Economic Association emphasised the following
important characteristics of trade cycle:
This is one of the earliest theories of trade cycle and has been
stated in different forms at different times. Such "Yell-known names
as Malthus, Marx and Hobson are associated with this theory.
According to this theory, in free capitalist society rich people have
large incomes but they are unable to spend all their incomes and
hence they save automatically. These savings are usually invested
in industry and hence they increase the volume of goods produced.
At the same time, the majority of people in the country have low
incomes and consequently have low propensity to consume. Thus,
consumption is not increasing correspondingly to production. As a
result, the market is flooded with goods and will be followed
bY,depression unless prices fall to a very low level in order to allow
the goods to be carried oll the market. The fundamental idea of the
under-consumption theory is based upon the conflict, which arises
from the double effect, that saving has on consumption and
production. It is the decrease in the demand lor and the increase in
t.he supply of consumer goods as a res 'jlt of saving which seems to
create under-consumption and over-production.
Like all other theories of trade cycles, this theory too is not free
from defects. It does not explain complete trade cycle. It is pointed
out that the theory concentrates too much on over-saving and its
related evils and too little on the others. It considers savings
automatically linding their way into investments while in reality this
is not so. The availability of savings does not guide entrepreneurs in
t!lt.:ir investment policies. Thus, a mere increase in savings is
insufficient to explain occurrence of a boom.
The above Figure 6.6 shows the influence of the two types of
investment on the level of income and cyclical fluctuations. The
horizontal axis represents the number of years and the vertical axis
represents the level of economic activity. Line AA' represents the
progress of autonomous investment over thc years and it slants
upward at a uniform rate to indicate that autonomous investment
grows over time at a constant rate. Line EE' represents the income
(or output) corresponding to the aUlononious investment line AA·.
EE' IS at a higher level than AI\" because it rerresents the eomhined
innllellce of mllitiplk'r flnd flccelerrllioll effects n.~ n result or
,lulollOlllllUS illvestl:lellt (AA '), III fact, the distallce bC1WL'Cil A/\'
lIlld EE' will depend upon the combined inlluence of the multiplier
and acceleration effects. Finally, line FF' represents the level of full
employment.
The downward swing is gradual along the path P2RRI and rapid
along P2RR2. At first, the downward swing may appear. to be
gradual but, in practice, it will be rapid. The reason is that once
the decline in output is initiated, it gathers momentum and tends
to proceed at a fast rdte. Hicks give a monetary explanation to this
phenomenon. As the downward movement starts, it becomes
increasingly di fficult to sell goods and consequently the burden of
fixed cost becomcs oppressive. Therefore, firm after firm becomes
bankrupt and liquidity preference records a sudden and abrupt
rise and reacts most adversely on credit situation. At [he same
time the stringent conditions in the credit market, forces business
activity to fall to the lowest ebb and thereby aggravate the
situation. Thus, Hicks' theory of trade cycles makes use of
multiplier and acceleration principles, which are combined, to the
fluctuations of autonomous and induced investment. It is induced
investment, which is finally rcsponsibleJor the upward push and
downward swing of output and income of prices and employment.
Definition
Purpose
Current Account
Capital Account
As mentioned earlier, the items entered in the capital account of
balance of payments are those items, which affect the existing stock
of capital of the country. The broad categories of capital account
items are: (a) short-term capital movements; (b) long-term capital
movements; and (c) changes in the gold and exchange reserves.
Short-term capital movements include (i) purchase of shortterm
securities such as treasury. bills, commercial bills and acceptance
bills, etc.; (ii) speculative purchase of foreign currency; and (iii) cash
balances held by foreigners for suchfeasons as fear of war and
political instability. An item of short-term capital results often from
the net balances (positive or negative) in the Cljrrent Account. Long-
term capital movements include: (i) direct investment in shares,
bonds, real estate and physical assets such as plant, building and
equipments, in which investors hold a controlling power; (ii) portfolio
investments including all other stocks and bonds such as
government securities, securities of firms which do not entitle the
holder with a controlling power; and (iii) amortisation of capital, i.e.,
repurchase and resale of securities carlier sold to or purchased from
the foreigners. Direct export or import of capital goods fall under the
category of direct investment. It should be noted that export of
capital is a debit item whereas export of merchandise is a credit
item. Export of goods result in inflow of foreign currency, which is an
addition to the circular flow of money income, whereas export of
capital results in outflow of foreign exchange which, amounts to
withdrawal from the foreign exchange reserves. Geld and foreign
exchange reserves make the third major category of items in the
capital account. Gofd and foreign exchange reserves are maintained
to stabilise the exchange rate of the home currency and to make
payments to the creditors in case there exists payment deficits on
all other accounts.
Imbalances
Monetary Policy
The instruments of mon~tary policy include discount 01" bank rate
policy, open market operations, statutory reserve ratios and
selective credit controls. Of these, first two instruments are adopted
in the context of balance of payment policy. This however should
not mean that other instruments are not relevant. The government
is free to choose any or all of these instruments amI adopt them
simultttneously.
To solve the problem of deficit in the balance of payments, a
'tight maney policy' or 'dear money.p6Iicy' is ,idoptl:d. Under 'dear
money' policy, central Ilwlll:lar'y Clulil()ritics raise "[ilc discount rate.
Consequently, under nonna1 conditions, the demand 'for
institutional funds for investment decreases. With the fall in
investment and through its multiplier effect, income of the people
decreases. lf lnarginal propensity to consume is greater than zero,
demand for goods and services decreases. The decrease in demand
also implies a simultaneous decrease in imports while other things
remain same. This is how 'a tight money policy' corrects deficit in
balance of payments.
The effcacy of 'tig:,t money policy' is however doubtful under
following conditions: (i) when rates of returns are much higher than
the increased bank rate due to inflationary conditions, (ii) when
investors have already affected their investment in anticipation of
increase in the rate of interest. The tight money policy is then
combined with open market operation, i.e., sale of government
bonds and securities. These two instruments together help to
reduce demand for capital and other goods. Therefore, if all goes
well then the deficit in the balance of payments is bound to
decrease.
Fiscal Policy
Fiscal policy as a tool of income regulation includes vanatlon in
taxation and public expenditure. Taxation reduces household
disposable income. Direct taxes directly transfer the houseilOld
income to the public reserves while indirectlaxes serve the same
purpose through increased prices of the taxed commodities. Direct
taxes reduce personal savings directly in a greater amount while
indirect taxe~ do it in a relatively smaller amount. Taxation reduces
the disposable income ofthe household and thereby the aggregate
demand including the demand for imports. Taxation also helps to
curtail investment by taxing capital at progressive rates.
For these reasons, exchange control remains the last resort for the
countries under severe str<lin of balancc or payments dclicits. The
e:-:ch:\llge contn)1 is qid to possess a superior effectiveness in
providing solutions to the deficit problem. Besides, it insulates an
economy against thc impact of eeonOl'nir. nlleluOItioliS i'1' "~I
foreign countries. Another positive advantage or exchange control
lies II' \lS cfrcctivcness in dealing with the problem or capital
movements. The governlllCnl'S I monopoly over the roreign
exchange can eflectively stop or reduce the eapit:li t"i movements
by simply refusing to release foreign exchange for capital transrcr.
Many countries, i.e., Germany, Denmark and Argentina, adopted
exchange control during 1930s because of this advantage. Although
the exchange control is positively a superior method of dealing with
disequilibrium in th~ balance of payments, it docs not pro' -ide a
perman<.:nt solution to the basic cau~es of deficit problem.
Exchange control may no doubt provide solution to balance of payment
deficits, but it also creates following problems:
rates are not consis fent with each other. The multiplicity of inconsistent
exchange rates occom;;;s inevitable when countries having trade surplus
and deficits fix up official r;llt's frnlll timc to time dq1l'ndin!-,- nn their
requirelllents,ll1d 1ll,Iintain it through
arbitrary rules. Exchange rates
beconie multiple also because 'exchange arbitrage', i.e., the
simultaneous purchase and sale of exchange in di fferent markets,
becomes impossible.
Under the multiple exchange rate system, there may be a dual
exchange rate policy. In dual exchange rate policy, there is an
official rate for permissible private transactions and official
transactions and a market rate for all other kinds of transactions.
However, the multiple exchange rate system has its own
shortcomings .. The system adds complexity and uncertainty to
international transactions. Besides, it requires efficient and honest
administrative machinery in the absence of which it often leads to
inefficient use of resources. It is, therefore, desirable for the deficit
countries to first evaluate the consequence:>, efficacy and
pract'::ability of exchanre control and then decide on the course of
action. It has been suggested that exchange control, if adopted,
should be moderate and as temporary measure until the basic
solution to the problems of balance of payments deficit is obtaired.
The exchange control problem does not provide permanent solution
to the balance-of-payments deficit and therefore, it should be
adopted only with proper understanding.
REVIEW QUESTIONS
I. What is the relevance of national income statistics in business
decisions?
2. What kinds of business decisions are influenced by the
change in national income?
3. Describe the various methods of measuring national income.
How is a method chosen for measurfng national income?
4. Distinguish between net-product method and factor-income
method.
Which of these methods is followed in India?
5. What is value-added? Explain the value-added method of
estimating national income.
6. Define inflation. Explain its effect on (a) total output, and (b)
distribution of income between, different economic classes.
7. What are the causes of price inflation? Is it inevitable in the
course of economic developm.ent?
8. What is an inflationary gap? Explain methods used to close
this gap.
9. Distinguish clearly between demand-pull, cost-push and
sectoral infl~ltion.
SECTION -B
(4 x 15 = 60)
Answer any Four questions