0% found this document useful (0 votes)
1K views22 pages

Flames of War - FAQ - LessonsFromTheFront-V4 PDF

This document provides answers to common questions about rules and gameplay in the fourth edition of Flames Of War. It clarifies definitions like forces, formations, units and teams. It also answers questions about movement, command, transport, shooting, concealment and other gameplay elements. The answers are intended to help players better understand and apply the rules of the game. New content is marked for those who have read earlier versions. The document is an ongoing project to address frequently asked questions from players.

Uploaded by

Ney Alencar
Copyright
© © All Rights Reserved
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
0% found this document useful (0 votes)
1K views22 pages

Flames of War - FAQ - LessonsFromTheFront-V4 PDF

This document provides answers to common questions about rules and gameplay in the fourth edition of Flames Of War. It clarifies definitions like forces, formations, units and teams. It also answers questions about movement, command, transport, shooting, concealment and other gameplay elements. The answers are intended to help players better understand and apply the rules of the game. New content is marked for those who have read earlier versions. The document is an ongoing project to address frequently asked questions from players.

Uploaded by

Ney Alencar
Copyright
© © All Rights Reserved
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
You are on page 1/ 22

i

LESSONS FROM THE FRONT


QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS ON FLAMES OF WAR
October 2020

During the time that the fourth edition of Flames Of War has been out, players have asked questions about
the game. The questions and their answers have been gathered into this document. Please note that this is
an on-going project. To help players who have read earlier versions of Lessons From the Front, new material is
marked with a line in the left margin. — Phil Yates, Game Designer

FORCES, Can my Formation Commander give following all the rules for moving. Then,
Command Leadership re-rolls if his once it has finished its movement, it no
FORMATIONS, UNITS, tank is Bailed Out? longer counts as having moved.
AND TEAMS Yes. Whether the Formation Commander This means that it must take any Cross
What’s a Sherman Team? Is it a single is Bailed Out or not has no effect. tests necessary, roll to cross Minefields
vehicle or a group of vehicles? as usual, and leaves any Foxholes it has
There are four levels in Flames Of War: Most Command Leadership re-rolls dug behind.
• Force - everything you have in the require the Formation Commander to
game (a Force card is where you find be close to the Unit Leader. However, If I move through several pieces of
Support Units). when Remounting a Bailed Out tank, Difficult Terrain, do I have to take a
the rules say the tank itself has to be Cross check for each of them?
• Formation - a Western company or close to the Formation Commander. Is
Soviet battalion, the core of your Yes.
this right?
Force (a Formation card tells you
which Units you can have in the Yes it is. If the Formation Commander If I moved into a wood last turn (and
Formation). wants to motivate a Bailed Out tank to took my Cross check then), do I need
Remount, they have to be close to that to take another Cross check this turn
• Unit - a Western platoon or Soviet tank, rather than the Unit Leader. to move out of it?
company, the smallest grouping of
stuff (a Unit card tells you what Yes. If you start your Movement in
Does the Command Leadership re-roll Difficult Terrain, you need to take a
Teams are in the Unit and what
apply to the Remount test needed when Cross check at that time.
their characteristics are).
a Bailed Out Tank is Bailed Out again?
• Team - a single playing piece,
Yes. It applies to all Remount tests for If a Unit Leader issues a Cross Here
either a single vehicle or a fire team
any reason. order, can they use it to cross multiple
of infantry.
pieces of Difficult Terrain?
What is an Artillery Unit? MOVEMENT Yes they can. Any team from the Unit
Some Movement Orders only affect crossing any of the Difficult Terrain
It is a Unit with a weapon capable of
teams in Line of Sight of the Unit within 6”/15cm of where the Unit
firing a Bombardment, i.e. one with a
Leader. Do friendly teams block Line Leader crossed will benefit.
ROF of Artillery or Salvo.
of Sight for Movement Orders?
No. Ignore friendly teams when determin- Does a Dig In or Mine Clearing move-
COMMAND ing Line of Sight for Movement Orders. ment order prevent teams that are not
If a team ended its Movement so digging foxholes or clearing mines
that it was In Command at the from moving?
If my Unit fails a Blitz Move movement
end of the Movement Step, does it No. Teams that are not using the
order, does it have to Move, or can it
remain In Command until its next Movement Order can act as they wish.
remain where it is and Go to Ground?
Movement Step?
It doesn’t have to Move. However, if it
Yes. In Command is defined by its posi- Can a team move through a
Shoots, it must shoot with the +1 penalty.
tion at the end of the Movement Step. friendly team?
When a team moves using a Blitz Move No. The Moving Through Gaps rule
The Command Leadership rules give applies. If the gap isn’t big enough, then
movement order, do they follow all
re-rolls if the Formation Commander you can’t move through it.
the normal Movement rules? Are they
is close enough and in Line of Sight.
actually moving? Remember, Infantry ignore their base
Do friendly teams block Line of Sight
Yes. A team using a Blitz Move movement when using this rule, so can move through
for command?
order doesn’t suddenly teleport to the new pretty small gaps, and Tanks Teams can
No. Ignore friendly teams when determin- easily move through them.
location. It moves 4”/10cm as normal,
ing Line of Sight for Command purposes.

1
Can my models end their movement If an infantry unit is Mounted in CONCEALMENT
on top of other models? Transports, does it remain Pinned Do the general Concealment rules
No. Down? Can the Transports move for Tall terrain apply to Hills and
towards the enemy? Buildings? Is my tank concealed simply
TRANSPORT Yes, it remains Pinned Down. This does by being on a hill?
Are Transport Teams Tank Teams? not stop the Transports from moving Hills and Buildings do not follow the
Yes. All Teams are either Tank, Infantry, towards the enemy, but when the infan- rules for Tall Terrain as they have their
Gun, or Aircraft Teams. Transport try Dismount, they will have to do so own rules for Concealment.
Teams are Tank Teams with additional away from the enemy if they are still
capabilities. Pinned Down. Infantry teams that are stationary in
Flat Terrain are Concealed. Teams in
If a Unit is being carried as Passengers, SHOOTING Short Terrain are Concealed unless
can they use the Blitz Move movement Why does a heavy Gun team like an the team looking at them is on a Hill
order to Dismount? 8.8cm AA gun have a Moving ROF of or other high ground. Is an Infantry
Yes, as long as all the rules for Dismounting 1 when it doesn’t have a Tactical speed? team that is stationary in Short Terrain
(such as you can’t do it after the Transport When it is Pinned Down it shoots using Concealed to a team looking at it
has moved) are obeyed. its Moving ROF rating, getting only one from a Hill?
shot. Likewise, at the start of a Meeting Yes. While the Hill cancels the benefit of
Can a Passenger Dismount using a Engagement, if the 8.8cm gun belongs to the Short Terrain (essentially making it
Shoot and Scoot movement order from the first player, it will shoot as moving, the same as Flat Terrain), it doesn’t make
a Transport vehicle that did not move i.e. using its Moving ROF, so it will get stationary Infantry teams any more visi-
in the previous Movement Step? one shot in this case as well. ble. They are still Concealed.
No. You can only Mount and Dismount
in the Movement Step. My M4 Sherman tank has three GONE TO GROUND
machine-guns. The .50 cal AA MG has Is there any benefit to having my teams
Can I use a Movement Order to ROF 3, while the other two only have a Gone to Ground if I’m not Concealed?
Dismount my infantry from a combined ROF 2. Why is that? No. Only teams that are Concealed
Transport after it has moved? Adding more machine-guns after the benefit from the additional +1 to be hit
No. Teams cannot Dismount after their first has diminishing returns. The first (taking the bonus from +1 to +2) for
Transport has moved. machine-gun has the most effect, while being Gone to Ground.
each additional machine-gun adds a
Can Passengers in a Transport take or smaller increment. So why can my teams be Gone to
dispute an Objective? Ground in the middle of an open field?
ROTATE TO FACE Suppose you have a tank behind a hedge.
Yes they can.
Do all Teams need to rotate to face? It doesn’t want to shoot or move, so is
What about Infantry teams that have Gone to Ground. To teams looking at it
The Unit Transport rule requires that
an all-round field of fire? from across the hedge, it is Concealed,
a Transport Attachment’s Unit Leader
All Teams, including Infantry teams, so gets the +2 bonus to be hit for being
remain within 6”/15cm of the Infantry
need to rotate to face their target. Concealed and Gone to Ground.
Unit’s Leader. What happens if the
Transport Attach­ ment’s Unit Leader The purpose of the rule is to make it look On the other hand, a team that is behind
can’t do this? like your toy soldiers are actually shooting the hedge looking at it will see it sitting
at their target, so they need to turn to in the open in the middle of the field,
Then the Transport Attachment has to
face them. without concealment. In this case, there
be Sent to the Rear (see page 45 of the
is no benefit from being Gone to Ground,
rulebook).
After rotating to face my target, other and the team shoots at it with no penalty.
Does the Unit Transport rule apply to enemy teams are now in my field of
fire. Can I shoot at them now? Can my Tank teams be Gone
the Formation HQ transports?
No. You determine your field of fire before to Ground?
Yes. They must remain near the
you pick your target. The rotation does Yes. Infantry, Gun, and Tank teams can
Formation Commander.
not change this. all be Gone to Ground. In the case of a
Tank team, this represents the crew find-
Can a Pinned Down infantry unit
What do I do if there isn’t enough space ing the best concealment available and
Mount their Transport?
to rotate a team to face the target? doing things like covering their tank in
Yes they can. However, they can’t move branches to make it harder to see.
towards visible enemy while doing so. If the team can rotate by moving slight-
That means that their Transports need ly away from the obstacle, then do so.
to be behind them so they can fall back Otherwise, it just rotates as far as it can
into them. and shoots anyway.

2
LINE OF SIGHT What score do I need to hit them if MISTAKEN TARGET
Do the general Line of Sight rules they are within 16”/40cm and have a You have to assign one of the hits from
for Tall terrain apply to Hills and Is Hit On number of 3+? a shooting team to the team that it was
Buildings? If your tanks target the tank in the open, targeting. Does this restriction also
No. The specific Line of Sight and they’ll need 3+ to hit. They could target apply to the opponent when they use
Concealment rules for Hills cover the the tank in the woods (needing 4+ as it the Mistaken Target rule?
special case of Hills. is Concealed), but would normally gain No. It is possible to use the Mistaken
little from doing so. Target rule to swap hits between the
If I have a team on a high hill trying to target team and a team that had no hits
shoot at a team on the far side of a low I’ve just scored three hits rolling 3, assigned, resulting in the targeted team
building, can It do so? 3, and 5. How are my hits allocated? not having any hits on it.
Which hits can I allocate to the tank
The only way to answer that is to get
in the woods? Can I allocate hits to the BULLETPROOF COVER
down to the level of the model and see if
tank behind the woods? Does an Infantry team need to be
there is a Line of Sight over the building
to the opposing team. The score you rolled to get the hit has no immediately behind a stone wall or
impact on how the hits are allocated. similar bulletproof terrain to be in
A shooting team has line of sight to Think of it this way. The hardest part of Bulletproof Cover?
a window into a building containing hitting a target on the modern battlefield No. So long as it is Concealed by the
several infantry teams. Which ones can is finding it without being hit first. A bulletproof terrain, it is in Bulletproof
I shoot at? lone tank sitting in the open is a dead Cover and the opponent needs to make a
giveaway. Where there’s one, there’ll be Firepower test to Destroy it.
You can’t shoot through walls, so you’ll
more. Now that you know where the
need to see the target team through a door
enemy are, it’s a lot easier to find the rest KILLING COMMANDERS
or a window to be able to hit it.
of the unit that’s trying to hide.
The Terrain Table has a bit of an oddity If my Formation Command team is
So, in game terms, having figured out Destroyed, but succeeds in switching
where it says that doors and windows are
where the enemy is, you’ve scored three to a Team from another Unit, does the
Short Terrain while the walls they are
hits. The first hit has to go to the target Formation HQ Unit still exist?
in are Tall Terrain. It makes more sense
tank, and all hits have to be allocated
to view the doors and windows as Tall Since the Formation HQ Unit is defined
to valid targets, so the tank behind the
Terrain too. as the Formation Command team (and
woods can’t be hit. That leaves two more
That means that you’ll be able to see any possibly other teams as well), and the
hits to be allocated. They have to be allo-
teams in the building that you have line Formation Commander still exists, the
cated evenly, so one has to go to the tank
of sight to through a door or a window, HQ Unit still exists.
in the woods, leaving you the choice of
and that are within 2”/5cm of the door which of the two will take the second hit.
or window. If my Formation Commander was
Destroyed, but switched to a Team
The converse applies for teams looking out Does a Passenger in a vehicle destroyed
from another Unit, does that Unit
of the building at your troops too. by a Brutal weapon like the 150mm
count the Team taken by the Formation
main gun of a Hummel re-roll its save?
Commander as being Destroyed?
If I fire Smoke at a team in the upper Yes. Passengers of a Destroyed vehicle need
storey of a building, where do i place No. That Team is simply is no longer part
to make an Infantry Save, and Brutal
the Smoke Marker? of the Unit. The Unit continues on with
forces them to re-roll any Infantry Saves.
one less Team.
On the ground in front of the building.
What if the transport vehicle was
What if the Unit no longer has any
Can a team in the upper storey of a Destroyed by a Repeat Bombardment
Teams left because the Formation
building see over the Smoke Marker? (which also requires any Infantry teams
Commander switched to the last Team
No. Smoke is Tall Terrain and cannot be that it hits to re-roll successful Saves).
in the Unit? Is the Unit Destroyed?
seen over. Yes. The Repeat Bombardment also
A Unit that has no Teams left is not a
forces the Passengers to re-roll their
Unit, so yes, it is Destroyed.
MIXED TARGETS Infantry Saves.
My tanks are shooting at a unit of three ANTI-AIRCRAFT SHOOTING
enemy tanks, one standing in the open,
If a Tank Team shooting at aircraft is
one concealed at the edge of a wood,
at the very edge of a wood, does it see
and one out of sight behind the woods.
the aircraft unconcealed, as it would an
enemy tank?
Yes, terrain works the same for aircraft
as for any other team, with the excep-
tion that all Short Terrain and any Tall
Terrain more than 4”/10cm from the
ground Team is ignored.

3
If my Anti-aircraft team is in the If my Anti-aircraft weapon shot in An Artillery Battery started with game
middle of a wood, can it still shoot my previous turn, can it shoot at an with its Ranged In marker on the
at aircraft? Aircraft in the enemy turn? table. Does it force enemy teams to
Yes, although the Aircraft will be Yes it can. You don’t need to predict when re-roll their Saves using the Repeating
Concealed. Nothing ever blocks Line of enemy Aircraft will appear. However, Bombardments rule on the first turn.
Sight to Aircraft. Presumably the Anti- once it shoots at an Aircraft in the enemy Yes it does. It is firing on its existing
aircraft Unit is set up in a small clearing. turn, it cannot shoot in its own next turn. Ranged In marker, so it is a Repeated
Bombardment.
Does Smoke ever block Line-of-Sight If my Anti-aircraft weapon shoots at an
to and from Aircraft? Aircraft in the enemy turn, the rules say I have an Artillery Battery that is firing
No, however it does provide Concealment. the Weapon cannot shoot in Defensive a Repeat Bombardment. I also have
Smoke is in effect treated as Tall Terrain Fire or Assault in its next Assault step? another Artillery Battery that I want to
for the purpose of Line-of-Sight to How does that affect a Team? Range In on a new target. Can I use
Aircraft, meaning if within 4”/10cm of If the weapon cannot shoot, the Team the same team as the Spotting team for
anti-aircraft team or target, but is still can fire its other weapons in Defensive both Bombardments?
just Smoke for Concealment. Fire. For example, a Sherman shoots its Yes you can. However, although the
.50 cal AA MG at some helicopters, then Repeat Bombardment automatically
Does my Sherman have to point is assaulted by some enemy infantry. It Ranges In on its first attempt, that
its turret at a Aircraft to shoot its can shoot its MG in Defensive Fire, but still counts as the Spotting Team’s first
AA MG at it? not its .50 cal AA MG. Ranging In attempt. You can then use
No. The AA MGs can engage targets in However, because one of its weapons the Spotting team’s second (and third if
different directions from the main 75mm shot at an Aircraft in the enemy turn, necessary) attempt to Range In the other
gun. Since they cannot easily be reposi- the Sherman cannot Assault in its next Artillery Battery.
tioned on the model and would have no Assault Step.
effect if you could, you do not need to Can I do it the other way around, with
point them at the target. My Anti-aircraft team fires during the Spotting team Ranging In the new
the enemy turn at some aircraft, then Artillery Bombardment first?
AA IN THE ENEMY TURN doesn’t do anything in their own next Yes you can. However, if the Spotting
What ROF do Anti-aircraft weapons turn, are they Gone to Ground in the team doesn’t Range In the new
use when shooting at Aircraft in the next enemy turn? Bombardment by their second attempt,
enemy turn? No, it effectively grabbed its shooting they won’t be able to Spot for the repeat
They use their full ROF. If shooting in from its own next turn. Bombardment as their third attempt will
their own turn, this is whatever ROF they be taken up still trying to Range In the
The basic concept is it can’t be Gone to
would normally have, Moving ROF or new Bombardment.
Ground if it shot in or since its last turn.
Halted ROF depending on whether they
moved if Dedicated AA, otherwise 1 die. My Spotting team is Ranging In two
If it is Night and my Anti-aircraft
Repeat Bombardments, then attempt-
In the enemy turn, the fire with their weapon shoots at an Aircraft in the
ing to Range In a third Artillery
best ROF. That is normally their Halted enemy turn, does the enemy need to
Battery. How does this work?
ROF, but if they have no Halted ROF, roll on the Night Vision Table to see it?
that will be their Moving ROF, but Each time they Range In uses up one
No. It will be visible at night until the
once again, with ROF 1 if they are not of their attempts, so they’d use the first
beginning of the next enemy turn.
Dedicated AA. two attempts Ranging In the repeat
Bombardments, leaving their third
Anti-aircraft weapons shooting in
ARTILLERY attempt to try to Range In the third
Mortars like the 3-inch mortar don’t Artillery Battery.
the enemy turn shoot immediately
have a direct-fire line. Does that mean
before the Aircraft shoots. Can you be
that they can only fire bombardments? A Spotting team must have Line
more specific?
Yes it does. Of Sight to the Aiming Point when
As it says, the AA weapon shoots imme-
Ranging In. Do friendly teams block
diately before the Aircraft, so whenever
RANGING IN Line of Sight for spotting?
the player declares that they are going to
shoot with their Aircraft, the AA player If my Artillery Battery fails to Range No. Ignore friendly teams when determin-
can jump in and try to shoot them down In, can it Shoot with direct fire? Can it ing Line of Sight for Spotting purposes.
first. You can wait to shoot your Aircraft still be Gone to Ground?
until after your tanks have knocked out No. It fired ranging shots for the Can a Transport team that is part of the
the enemy AA weapons if you want to, Bombardment, preventing it from Formation HQ Spot for an Artillery
which would limit the amount of AA fire Shooting and revealing its position. Bombardment?
they would take. No. An HQ Transport cannot Spot for an
Artillery Bombardment.

4
ARMOUR SAVES Do I have to Contact the front edge of them if fewer) are Bailed Out or
Do tanks get a +1 to their Armour Save of the enemy team, or can I contact Destroyed by Defensive Fire, regardless
for being more than 16”/40cm from an it anywhere? of the number of hits they take.
Artillery Battery that hit them with an You can Contact any part of the enemy This means that all Armoured Tank
Artillery Bombardment? team with the front edge of your team, teams, even those with Top Armour
No. That bonus only applies to Armour the front, side, or rear of its base, or even 0, require two vehicles to be Bailed
Saves from Shooting, not to Artillery a corner of its base. Out or Destroyed to prevent them from
Bombardments. assaulting.
Do I need to be square to the enemy
SMOKE BOMBARDMENTS team’s base when I Contact them? If my Infantry teams are stationary in
If I’m attempting to fire a Smoke No. You stop when you Contact them, Flat Terrain, and therefore Concealed,
Bombardment (and it’s a once per and may or may not be square on to them can they use the Sneaking Up on Tanks
game option) and fail to Range In, can at that point. rule to prevent the Tank teams that
I try again later? they are Assaulting from performing
My teams need to be within 4”/10cm Defensive Fire?
Yes you can. Until you actually fire the
Smoke Bombardment, you still have the to Charge into Contact. Does that No. The Infantry must be Concealed by
ammunition stocks to try again. allow an Infantry team that is 4”/10cm Short or Tall Terrain.
behind another Infantry team that
Can I use an existing Ranged In charged to charge as well? Does getting Pinned Down by some-
marker from a previous turn to fire a Yes. As long as its 4”/10cm move brings thing like being hit by a Minefield or
Smoke Bombardment without needing it into Contact with the enemy (wheth- the Defensive Fire of a Flame-thrower
to Range In again? er directly or through a fellow Infantry force my assaulting Unit to Fall Back
team), it can charge. and end the assault?
Yes you can.
No. The only thing that forces you to Fall
Can a Tank contact the enemy by Back is taking a sufficient number of hits
ASSAULTS moving into contact with another tank from Defensive Fire. A single hit that
CHARGE INTO CONTACT that is in Contact with the enemy? Pins Down a Unit will not do that.
An Infantry team has Contacted the No. Only Infantry teams can Contact
enemy if ‘its front edge is as close as it the enemy through a friendly team, If a tank charges a gun with the
can get to the enemy team’ or ‘its front and only if that friendly team is also an Forward Firing rule from slightly off to
edge is as close as it can get to another Infantry team. the side, it will hit the front at an angle
Infantry team from its own Unit that and, because a small part of the tank is
is directly in Contact with an enemy behind the front of the gun, it will now
Do I have to Charge into Contact with
team.’ What does the phrase ‘as close as technically be out of the gun’s Field of
the closest enemy team?
it can get’ mean? Fire, preventing the gun from shooting
No you don’t. You can Charge into
This phrase is used to cover all the phys- in Defensive Fire. Is this right?
Contact with any enemy team that is
ical things that can prevent a team from While it is technically correct, it makes
close enough, but you must take the short-
being placed physically in contact with no sense as it would essentially prevent
est route to Contact that team.
another, such as a wall or hedge between Forward Firing guns from shooting in
them, or even irregularities in the table Defensive Fire in most situations.
If an enemy team Charged into
surface. Basically, if you can’t fit them any A better interpretation of the rule is that
Contact with the rear of my team, is
closer together than they are, then they if the tank was a valid target at the start
that team in Contact with the team
are in Contact. of its Charge into Contact, and is still at
that Charged it when I Counterattack?
Does the team move when Charging least partly in front of the gun’s base when
If my Infantry team doesn’t have it makes Contact with a defending team,
into Contact?
enough movement to physically touch then the gun can shoot in Defensive Fire.
the enemy team, but moves as close If an enemy team is in Contact with
as it can given its charge move, is it your team, then your team is already
in Contact with that enemy team. Can the gun then use its Anti-tank
in Contact? rating against the tank’s Side Armour
That means that it does not move when
No. It is still not as close as it can pos- rating when it counterattacks, or does
Charging into Contact.
sibly get to the enemy team, so it is not it have to use the default Anti-tank
in Contact. 2 against Top Armour?
DEFENSIVE FIRE
The reprinted (Late War) rulebook has Again, while the tank is not technically
If I can just get a corner of my team in its Field of Fire (the requirement for
a change to how Defensive Fire forces
into Contact is that enough? using the gun’s Anti-tank rating), if the
back Armoured Tank teams. The rule
No. The rules require the front edge to be now reads: tank was in the gun’s Field of Fire for
in contact, not a corner. Defensive Fire and still has at least part
If all the Assaulting teams are
of the tank in front of the gun’s base, then
Armoured Tank teams, they only Fall
it should be in the gun’s Field of Fire for
Back if two or more of them (or all
this purpose as well.

5
ASSAULT COMBAT If my defending Unit passes its My tanks failed their Counterattack
If I have two teams in Contact with Motivation test to Counterattack, can test and are Breaking Off. Directly
two enemy teams and both of enemy it Charge into Contact with teams behind them there is a hedge, but just
teams score hits, can I allocate both from other Units on the attacking off to the side is a gate. Do they have to
hits to the same team? player’s side? go back over the hedge and risk failing
No. Neither player may bring additional their Cross test and getting captured,
No. You must spread the hits around if
teams into the assault. On the attacking or can they detour through the gate”
there are multiple teams that are eligi-
ble targets. player’s side, only the teams that initially The rules are deliberately somewhat soft
assaulted are in the fight. On the defend- on the matter. It would be silly to require
If I have an Infantry team and a Tank er’s side, only those within 8”/20cm of the tank to cross the hedge if it could
team, both in Contact with an enemy them at the start of the assault are in move a few millimetres to the side and go
rifle team and an enemy bazooka team, the fight. through the gate, for instance.
can I allocate the bazooka hit to the If a team can dodge an obstacle, it may
Infantry team and the rifle team’s hit to When my Unit Counterattacks, can I if you want it to. Whichever choice you
the Tank team? move teams that have been Contacted make, though, it must take the shortest
by the enemy? path to do so.
Yes. Presumably the Infantry team were
attempting to protect the Tank team from No. A team that is in Contact with the
the bazooka, and kept it away from the enemy, either because the enemy Charged My troops are surrounded by enemy
Tank team, but died in the process. into Contact with them, or because the infantry when they need to Break Off.
team Charged into Contact with the Can they move through the infantry
My Bazooka anti-tank teams have enemy, cannot move. It is already in to get away?
the Assault 6 special rule. What does Contact with the enemy (because the If that is the shortest path to safety, then
this mean? enemy is in Contact with it), and must yes they can.
fight the enemy it is in Contact with
It means that instead of hitting on a 5+
before seeking out other targets. When I assault troops in a building,
in Assaults like the larger M1 Garand
rifle teams, the small Bazooka teams hit do I have to go through the doors
BREAKING OFF and windows?
on a roll of 6.
I have two Units ready to launch Yes. The walls are Impassable Terrain, so
assaults on an enemy Infantry unit. My you can’t move or fight through them.
How do my infantry kill tanks
first Unit assaults and is forced to Break
in assaults?
Off. My other Unit is within 6”/15cm
Infantry that hit a tank in an Assault If I Counterattack against a team in a
of the victorious defending Infantry
may either use their normal Anti-tank Minefield, do I risk getting hit by it?
unit. Does it have to Break Off as well,
rating against a tank’s Side armour or or can it still launch its own assault? Yes, even if the models didn’t move, they
Anti-tank 2 against its Top armour. are still moving around in a minefield.
Only Units that were part of the assault
Using weapons like the Bazooka can
can be forced to Break Off. Since you
be very effective against lighter vehicles CONSOLIDATION
cannot assault with two Units at the
like the Panzer IV, but have limited Can an Infantry Unit that is Pinned
same time, your second Unit cannot have
effect against heavy tanks like the Tiger. Down Consolidate towards visible
been part of the assault, so does not need
Against these infantry in the open can enemy teams?
to Break Off.
only endure and hope the tanks break off Yes it can. The restriction against moving
before the infantry’s own determination Unless the defenders Consolidate away
from your second Unit (so that it can towards visible enemy teams while
to counterattack fails. Pinned Down does not apply while
no longer Charge into Contact), it can
launch its own assault once the first is over. Consolidating.
COUNTERATTACK
I have passed my roll to Counterattack. BUILDINGS
Can I add additional teams into the An enemy Tank Unit assaults my
infantry and forces them to Break How should I handle multiple storey
Assault, or am I limited to those teams buildings?
already involved? Off. I have tanks within 6”/15cm of
the assaulting teams, do my tanks also The easiest way to handle it in the case
You are limited to those teams already of small buildings is just treat them as
need to Break Off?
involved in the assault. That means only one space that can fit more Teams than a
the teams that originally assaulted on the Yes they do. As the defender in the assault,
all of your teams within 8”/20cm of an single-storey building.
attacker’s side and those originally within
8”/20cm of them on the defender’s side. assaulting team are part of the assault. If the building is particularly large, you
That makes your tanks part of the assault might want to break it up into a series of
(and thus able to shoot in Defensive Fire) rooms, treating each room as a separate
even though the assaulting tanks cannot building that can either be reached direct-
directly attack them. So, when their ly from the outside (although moving into
infantry support falls back, they do too. an upstairs room from outside will not
normally be possible) or from the rooms
beside, above, or below it.

6
LAST STAND SPECIAL RULES BUILDING A FORCE
I have a Unit that started the game Can I take an M4 Sherman Tank
with one tank. When does it have to
BRITISH RULES Platoon Unit as part of an M4 Sherman
take a Unit Last Stand test? The British Night Attack rule stops Tank Company Formation, and then
Units that don’t have the Night Attack take another M4 Sherman Platoon as
A Unit only needs to take a Last Stand
rule from moving out of their deploy- Formation Support?
Test at the start of a turn when it had
ment area. Isn’t this a rather harsh
at least one team Destroyed or Bailed No. You may not take a Unit of the same
restriction on the opponent?
Out. So, your Unit would only need to type (that is the same name) as you already
test if the tank was Bailed Out and failed The rule only applies to the player making have in your Force as Formation Support.
to Remount. a Night Attack. Any of their formations
that can’t Night Attack have to wait until Can my Motor Company take a
The phrase ‘only count teams that dawn to move forward to support the Honey Armoured Troop from a Honey
are In Command’ under In Good attack. Their opponent’s Units are free to Armoured Squadron as Formation
Spirits in Unit Last Stand only refers move as they like. Support, and then a second Honey
to the second part of the rule that lists Armoured Troop from a Grant
how many teams you need to be In I have a spotter who is attempting to Armoured Squadron as another
Good Spirits if you’ve taken casual- Range in three 25 pdr Field Troops. Formation Support?
ties, correct? These artillery batteries have the Mike
No. You may not take a Unit that you
Target special rule that allows the
Yes. Driving away from them doesn’t already have in your Force as Formation
spotter to immediately roll to Range
make the morale effect of the casual- Support. If you want two Honey
In another battery when they succeed
ties go away. Armoured Troops, then you can buy a
in Ranging In another. How does
Honey Armoured Squadron HQ and
this work?
My unit had three tanks at the end of make them into a second Formation in
my last Movement Step and they were An example might be the best way to your force.
all In Command. My opponent shot explain this. Let’s say that your spotter
two of them, leaving just one alive. succeeds in Ranging In the first battery on If I take two Formations, can I take
Are the two Destroyed tanks still In the first attempt. Normally, they would Support Units for both of them? Could
Command? Do they stop me from now move on to their second attempt and I take two lots of aircraft for instance?
needing to take a Last Stand test? try to Range In another battery.
No. You must choose a Force Diagram as
They aren’t In Command, they’re dead! Instead, the Mike Target rule allows them the basis of your Force. This determines
The unit only has one tank In Command, to make another first attempt to range In what Support is available to you. You
so needs to take a Last Stand test. another battery. Let’s say that they fail can take as many Formations as you like
to Range In that battery. Now, having within this Force, but they all share the
used the bonus attempt allowed by the same Support.
A Transport Unit with just one team
Mike Target rule, they move on to their
remaining would need to take a Unit
second attempt.
Last Stand test at the start of each turn. If I take an Allied Formation, can I take
Does it still need to do so if I Send it Let’s say they fail again, and move on Support Units from both nationalities?
to the Rear? to their third attempt. This time they
No. You must choose a Force Diagram
succeed and Range In the second battery,
Yes. They are still disturbed by the from one country or the other to base your
which will suffer a +2 penalty to hit for
number of casualties they’ve taken and force on, and can only take options shown
having Ranged In on the third attempt.
are likely to be reluctant to return to the on that diagram (including the Allied
front when called upon. Having successfully Ranged In another Formation option). Since Support Units
battery, the Mike Target rule comes into are only found in the Force Diagram
A Formation is In Good Spirits if it has effect again, allowing the spotter to make (and not in Formation Diagrams), the
two Units still in existence. Can the another third attempt to Range In the last only Support Units available are those
HQ be one of those? battery. Again they succeed, so the third from the principal nationality.
battery is also Ranged In on the third
Yes it can, although it doesn’t have to be.
attempt and suffers the +2 penalty to hit. What happens when a Command
Do the Units need to be In Good Card changes the teams of a Unit into
Spirits to keep their Formation In
GERMAN RULES Independent Teams?
Good Spirits? The German Stormtroopers rule allows Each Team in the Unit becomes a sepa-
them to attempt a second Movement rate Independent Team and thus its own
No, they just have to still be in existence.
Order after succeeding in the first. separate Unit. They deploy and operate
Can I use this to take a Blitz Move and completely independently.
Can Independent Teams be part of then Dig In?
a Formation? Can you count them
as Units to keep the Formation In No. You cannot Dig In if you’ve moved
Good Spirits? in any form, including using a Blitz
Move order.
No, they are never part of a Formation.

7
MISSIONS How do I Hold or contest an Objective As the war progresses, the definition
if it is surrounded by Destroyed tanks of a tank changes. The Deep Reserves
All infantry are in Foxholes at the start
and I can’t get within 4”/10cm of it? rule needs to change to match this
of the game. Does this include infantry
If the Objective is such a tank graveyard as follows:
that deployed in No Man’s Land using
the Spearhead rule? that your models cannot be placed within In Late War, the Deep Reserves rule
4”/10cm of it, treat them as being within becomes: In a mission with Deep
Yes it does.
4”/10cm of it if they are as close to the Reserves, you may only place one Tank
Objective as they can get. Unit with Front Armour of 4 or more, or
Can passengers in a Transport take or
one Aircraft Unit on the table at the start
dispute an Objective?
AMBUSH of the game. All remaining units of these
Yes they can. types must be held in Reserves.
When I place a Gun Unit in Ambush
with its Transport, do the Gun teams In Mid War, the Deep Reserves rule
In missions like Free-for-All that have have to be Mounted when they are remains: In a mission with Deep
alternating deployment, can I ‘deploy’ placed from Ambush? Reserves, you may only place one Tank
my Aircraft to effectively skip my turn
Yes. Like Infantry teams, Gun teams Unit with Front Armour of 3 or more, or
to deploy?
ambushing with their Transports must one Aircraft Unit on the table at the start
No. Aircraft must be your last deployment be Mounted. If they don’t want to of the game. All remaining units of these
after all other Units have been deployed. Ambush mounted in their Transports, the types must be held in Reserves.
Transports must be Sent to the Rear. In Early War, the Deep Reserves rule
HOLDING OBJECTIVES becomes: In a mission with Deep
The reprinted (Late War) rulebook has RESERVES Reserves, you may only place one Tank
a change to how Holding Objectives How do I work out my Reserves if I Unit with Top Armour 1 or 2 that is
works. The rule now reads: have spent less then the permitted not a Transport, or one Aircraft Unit
You are Holding an Objective if you maximum points on my force? on the table at the start of the game. All
start your turn with a Tank, Infantry, The important point to remember is remaining units of these types must be
or Gun team within 4”/10cm of an that you are allowed 60% of the per- held in Reserves.
Objective, and end it with no opposing mitted maximum points value on table
Tank, Infantry, or Gun teams within at the start of a game with Reserves. So, Are Independent Teams (such as artil-
4”/10cm of that Objective. if your force is smaller, it just means lery observers) affected by the Deep
This is the same method of taking and that your Reserves will be less than the Reserves special rule that restricts a
Holding Objectives that was introduced remaining 40%. player to one Tank Unit with Front
in More Missions in 2017. armour 3 or more or one Aircraft Unit
If I have a Unit that counts as 0 points on table at the start of the game?
When do you check if a Unit is for Reserves (such as an FFI Platoon No. They can be on the table in addition
Holding an Objective? Can a Team supporting a D-Day American force), to the one Unit allowed by the Deep
that started the turn Bailed Out, but how does this work? Reserves rule.
then Remounted Hold an Objective? You can have 60% of your points on
A Team triggers the Holding the table, so if the game is 100 points, you Are Formation HQ Units affected by
Objective rule after you have Checked can have 60 points on table. Since this the Deep Reserves special rule?
Victory Conditions. If its still there and Unit is counted as 0 points, you can have Yes. The restriction applies to all Units
not Bailed Out, then you’ve met the first it and 60 more points on table. (apart from Independent teams), regard-
criteria of starting the turn with a Team less of their function.
on the Objective. Now all you need to How do my troops arrive from
do to Hold the Objective is end the turn Reserves? Can I just place them on the My opponent has ended up with
with no opposing teams within 4”/10cm edge of the table and begin shooting? Infantry teams all along the area where
of the Objective. my Reserves arrive, leaving no room
Teams arriving from Reserve move on
from the edge of the table. Simply pick a for my Reserves to arrive without going
The Holding Objectives rule says that point on the table edge and measure their within 2”/5cm of their teams. What
a Team that moved at Dash speed movement from there. happens to my Reserves?
cannot take an Objective nor prevent Since the battlefield doesn’t suddenly end
the enemy from taking it. How does at the edge of the table, the obvious solu-
How does a Unit of Guns enter the
this work? tion is to move some of the opposing teams
table from Reserves if it doesn’t have a
What it means is that an opposing Team Tactical speed? back just enough to allow the Reserves on
that only came within 4”/10cm of the to the table so that they can try to fight
It must move onto the table at Dash
Objective in its turn by moving at Dash their way through the infantry.
speed. In addition, some Gun teams have
speed cannot stop you from Holding the
a Tactical speed that is too slow to allow
Objective in your turn. If you end your
them to move onto the table, so they too
turn with no other enemy teams within
need to move at Dash speed.
4”/10cm, you Hold the Objective.

8
STRATEGIC WITHDRAWAL MINEFIELDS The Unit is fine as long as it remains in
When in the Starting Step do I with- its foxholes. However, if it moves or coun-
When I place Minefields, can I overlap
draw a Unit in a game of Rearguard? terattacks if assaulted, it will have to test
them to make a Unit trying cross them
Can I still withdraw it if it failed a Last for casualties like any other Unit crossing
roll a Skill test for each Minefield?
Stand Check? a Minefield.
No. Teams also only roll one Skill Test
Withdraw Units after Checking Victory to cross the Minefields safely. However,
Conditions. If a Unit is still on table at If a Unit deployed in a Minefield, how
a Team who successfully removes a does it go about clearing it?
that point, you can withdraw it. Minefield, only removes one, even if they
are in several. It moves ‘into’ the Minefield (i.e. out of
its carefully prepared defences) testing to
SPEARHEAD When a team removes a Minefield do so as normal. Then in the next turn
When deploying a Unit in the area (instead of Moving) using a Mine (having moved into the Minefield on a
around a Spearhead Unit, what does Clearing Order, is that Minefield previous turn as required by the rules),
the rule prohibiting placing the unit removed right away or at the end of the the Unit Leader issues a Mine Clearing
in a place that the Spearhead Unit Movement Step? order and the Minefield is removed.
cannot go mean? It is removed immediately.
Units deploying around the Spearhead If I Counterattack against a team in a
Unit need to be able to move from the When a team moves using a Blitz Move Minefield, do I risk getting hit by it?
Spearhead Unit’s location to their deploy- movement order, do they still need to Yes, even if the models didn’t move, they
ment location. So you can’t deploy your take Cross tests and test to see if they are still moving around in a minefield.
Unit across impassable terrain like a got hit by a Minefield?
river or cliff. Yes. All the normal movement rules apply
while making a Blitz Move. The only
CITY FIGHTING RULES
If my Spearhead Unit were armoured difference is that once you’ve finished the How does Smoke work when targeting
cars (which cannot enter a building), Blitz Move, you don’t count as having city buildings?
can I place an Infantry Unit in a build- moved for things that happen afterwards. Direct-fire smoke just affects one team
ing beside the Spearhead Unit? in the building, and only as long as it
Yes. Although the armoured cars cannot Can I deploy a Unit in a Minefield? If remains in the same room.
actually enter the buildings, infantry so, what happens? Smoke Bombardments affect a single
following their spearhead can deploy in Yes you can. Presumably they are dug in room (regardless of how many weapons
the buildings. with minefields surrounding their posi- are firing). Line of Sight in or out of
tion, and the paths through the minefield that room is restricted to a maximum of
that they use for supply and other neces- 6”/15cm.
sary activities are too difficult to negotiate
under fire.

9
Book and Card Updates
This section has updates to the various Flames Of War army books and their associated cards.

RULEBOOK
The reprint of the rulebook has two Destroyed by Defensive Fire, regardless DOWNLOAD
significant changes: Forcing Armoured of the number of hits they take. For a complete list of all changes
Tanks to Fall Back from Defensive between the original (Mid War)
Fire, and Holding Objectives. HOLDING OBJECTIVES printing and the reprint (Late War),
You are Holding an Objective if you download: https://www.flamesofwar.
DEFENSIVE FIRE start your turn with a Tank, Infantry, com/Portals/0/all_images/4 thEdition/
If all the Assaulting teams are or Gun team within 4”/10cm of an Changes.pdf
Armoured Tank teams, they only Fall Objective, and end it with no opposing
Back if two or more of them (or all Tank, Infantry, or Gun teams within
of them if fewer) are Bailed Out or 4”/10cm of that Objective.

LATE WAR JOURNEY


COMBINING BOOKS to determine the Support Units that you Defence Grenadier Company represent-
I want to field a force that I read about, can field. Then pick any Formations from ing a poor-quality infantry formation on
but to build it I need to include forma- books from the same nationality to com- the defensive in Ukraine.
tions from multiple books. How do I plete your force.
go about doing that? As an example, you could field a German
The first step is to pick the book that best force from Fortress Europe as an Eastern
reflects the place you want to fight and Front force with a Panzer III & IV
use the Force Diagram from that book Mixed Tank Company and a Beach

D-DAY: AMERICAN
SPECIAL RULES UNIT CARDS Chemical Mortar Platoon if you can field
What does the Rockets rule on the In the Assault Boat Section and Veteran a Parachute Mortar Platoon (LU127) or
P-47 Thunderbolt Fighter Flight do? Assault Boat Section, what is the Range Ranger Mortar Platoon (LU136).
It is the same as the Bombs rule on of the Flame-thrower?
page 93 of the rulebook, so Rockets The range is 4”/10cm like all other infan- The Crocodile Support card from the
do not need to re-roll successful To Hit try flame-throwers. D-Day British command cards allows
rolls for having 1 or 2 weapons firing, a US player to take British Crocodile
and only the aircraft can Spot for their flame-tanks as support for ‘any Rifle
How many Jeeps does an Armoured
Bombardments. Company’. Does this include Parachute
Rifle Company HQ or a Veteran
Rile Companies and Armoured Rifle
Armoured Rifle Company HQ have?
Companies?
It has either one M3 half-track or
No it doesn’t. The any refers to any vari-
two Jeeps.
ant on the normal Rifle Company such as
the Veteran Rifle Company.
COMMAND CARDS
The 4.2-inch Chemical Mortars card
The Sherman DD card increases the
allows you to field an additional Mortar
tanks’ MGs ROF to 3, yet a DD has
Platoon (LU118) of four 4.2-inch
less machine-guns than a normal tank.
mortars as a Support option. Do I have
What should it be?
to have a normal Mortar Platoon in
my force to field a 4.2-inch Chemical The Sherman DD card should decrease
Mortar Platoon? the MGs ROF to 1.
No. You simply need to be able to field
a Mortar Platoon (LU118) to field a
4.2-inch Chemical Mortar Platoon.
However, you may also field a 4.2-inch

10
The FFI and FTP Platoon cards have The Div Arty, All In! card gives me Are Bunkers and Nests always
a fixed cost for a Rifle Platoon. How additional artillery bombardments. Concealed?
does this work? Can I take the option- How many guns are firing? Yes. As per the rules on page 107, they are
al upgrades? These Bombardments do not have any always Concealed.
When you use these cards, you get a re-rolls for the number of weapons firing.
Rifle Platoon (LU116 or see page 43 of In effect, they are treated as having four The French Turret Bunker has Armour
D-Day: American). This can be at full weapons firing. ratings rather than a Save like most
strength or reduced strength, whichever Gun Units. How does this work?
you choose. You can add the options to The Desert Regulars Card upgrades The French Turret Bunker takes Armour
this platoon if you wish, paying the usual an M10 Tank Destroyer Company. Saves like an Armoured Tank team,
points to upgrade them. Do I have to upgrade all units in the rather than Gun Saves. That means
Formation, including the HQ and that it can be Bailed Out like a Tank
Norman ‘Dutch’ Cota allows a Unit Security Sections? team rather than Pinned Down like
whose charge was stopped by Defensive Yes. Every Unit in the Formation a Gun team.
Fire to Charge into Contact a second is upgraded. Likewise, in Assaults it is treated as an
time. Does the opponent get another
immobile Armoured Tank team, so will
round of Defensive Fire? The HQ and Security Sections have get an Armour Save and the assaulting
Yes. The assaulting Unit goes back to the the descriptor Scout rather than SP team might need to pass a Firepower test
Charge Into Contact part of the assault Gun. Do they still get the modified if they are using a weapon like a Bazooka.
and everything begins again. Assault rating?
Yes they do. Do the Fortifications Rules on
page 107 apply to Command Card
BEACH DEFENCES fortifications like a Pakfront?
Are Bunkers and Nests treated as No. These rules are specific to the massive
Gun teams? concrete fortifications of the Normandy
They are Gun teams in all respects (except coastal defences. Field defences like the
for Turret Bunker Saves see below). Pakfront do not us these rules.

D-DAY: BRITISH
SPECIAL RULES UNIT CARDS The 4.2-inch Mortars card allows you
The Wasp Carrier Patrol uses the Flame Can 2-inch mortars fire smoke? to field an additional 3-inch Mortar
Tank special rule. What is this? Platoon (LB109) of four 4.2-inch
Yes. All British 2-inch mortars , such
mortars as a Support option. Do I
Flame Tanks cannot Charge into Contact. as those in the Parachute Platoon,
have to have a 3-inch Mortar Platoon
Airlanding Platoon, Commando Section,
(LB109) in my force to take a 4.2-inch
The Petard special rule for the AVRE Rifle Platoon, Desert Rats Rifle Platoon,
Mortar Platoon?
ignores the Danger Close rule. Does Motor Platoon, and Desert Rats Motor
that mean it can fire when friendly Platoon can fire Smoke. No. You simply need to be able to field a
troops are under the Artillery Template? 3-inch Mortar Platoon (LB109) before
COMMAND CARDS you can field a 4.2-inch Mortar Platoon.
No. It cannot fire a Bombardment if any
friendly Infantry, Gun, or Tank Teams What Units does the 1st Canadian
are under the Template. Parachute Battalion’s Relentless
card apply to?
It applies to a Parachute Company
and modifies the Rally rating of the
Parachute Company HQ and all
Parachute Platoons.

11
D-DAY: GERMAN
UNIT CARDS So is the Reconnaissance Company con- Can I use the Pakfront card with artil-
Should the Panzer IV Tank Company sidered a Panzergrenadier Company? lery or anti-aircraft guns?
HQ have Protected Ammo like the No. It is a Reconnaissance Company. It Yes you can. However, since they are now
Panzer IV Tank Platoon? doesn’t have the words ‘Panzergrenadier emplaced for anti-tank work, they can
Yes. The Panzer IV Tank Company HQ Company’ in its name. no longer fire Artillery Bombardments or
has an additional Motivation rating of shoot at Aircraft.
Protected Ammo: Remount 3+. The Heinz Deutsch command
card is labelled as being for a StuG How do the Nests of the Pakfront and
COMMAND CARDS Assault Gun Company. Is this card MG Nests cards work? Do they use the
Several German command cards apply for the Fallschirmjäger StuG Assault Beach Defences rules from the D-Day:
to ‘any Tank Company’. Can I use these Gun Company? American book?
cards with a Puma Scout Company? Yes it is. They work just like any other Infantry
No. A Puma Scout Company is a or Gun team, with the exceptions listed
Scout Company. It doesn’t have ‘Tank Can I use Heinz Deutsch with on the card.
Company’ in its name. the Fortress Europe StuG Assault These hastily-dug nests are not the
Gun Company? well-prepared fortifications found on
No. You can’t use Command Cards from the Normandy beaches, so do not use the
one book with units from another book. same rules.

D-DAY: WAFFEN-SS
UNIT CARDS a StuG SS Tank Platoon) to be com- COMMAND CARDS
The StuG assault gun has its MG listed pulsory, whereas it is optional in the The Ernst Barkmann card says
as Forward Firing. Other StuG assault book. Which is correct. that it applies to a Panther Tank
guns don’t have this limitation. The third unit is optional. Platoon, should this be a Panther SS
The StuG MG is not Forward Firing. Tank Platoon?
Does the Best Infantry card apply Yes. Barkmann is the Unit Leader of an
The Panzer IV and StuG SS Tank to my armoured Panzergrenadier SS Tank Platoon.
Company HQ cards show the third Platoon’s transport Sd Kfz 251 half-
unit (a choice between a Panzer IV and tracks as well?
No. The transport unit is a Tank Unit, not
an Infantry Unit, so you will need to add
the Best Firepower card to upgrade them.

FORTRESS EUROPE
SOVIET UNIT CARDS
The OT-34 flame-thrower tank has
a Is  Hit On rating of Reckless. The
one in Bagration: Soviet is rated as
Aggressive. Which is correct?
The OT-34 is Aggressive and Is
Hit On 3+.

BASING GUIDE
The PTRD Anti-tank Rifle teams have
three weapons with three loaders on a
large base as shown in the photo­graphs,
not two weapons on a medium base as
described in the text.

12
AFRIKA KORPS
90 TH
LIGHT AFRIKA DIVISION Who can take the Diana Tank-Hunter Can I include whole Formations or
As the 7.62cm Tank-Hunter Platoon Platoon as Support? Support Units from Iron Cross in my
is a compulsory choice for a 90th Light Any force from Afrika Korps. Afrika Korps force?
Rifle Company, does that mean that I No. You may only take Support Units
can take it as Formation Support? COMMAND CARDS from the Force Diagram for your own
Yes, it does. Is the Armoured Car Company limited Force. If you want a Formation or
to one formation? Support Unit from Iron Cross, base your
The Diana Tank-hunter Platoon card Yes. Like Iron Cross, the Armoured Car force on that book instead.
allows you to field Diana tank-hunters Company is a Limited card.
in place of Marder tank-hunters or GHOST PANZERS
Tiger heavy tanks. Can I field them Can the Pioneer command card be FORMATIONS
with any Afrika Korps formation? used with a 90th Light Rifle Company? Can an Afrika Korps Force take
Yes you can. Formations, Formation Support, or
Yes it can.
Support from Ghost Panzers? Can I
The Diana Tank-hunter Platoon card have Panthers in the desert?
IRON CROSS FORMATIONS
allows me to take 5cm Tank-Hunter Can I include Formation Support from Yes you can.
Platoons in place of Tiger or Marder Iron Cross in my Afrika Korps force?
Units. Can I do this if I do not field a
Yes you can. These would represent either
Diana Tank-Hunter Platoon?
the infantry divisions sent to Egypt to
No. That option is part of the Diana hold the line at El Alamein, or the troops
Tank-Hunter Platoon. If you are not that fought alongside the Afrika Korps
fielding a Diana Tank-Hunter Platoon, in Tunisia.
you do not get that option.

ARMOURED FIST AND DESERT RATS


UNIT CARDS Does a Portee 6 pdr retain the Gun The card costs 2 points per Unit and can
What is the Cross rating of a Shield rule? be taken for: Honey Armoured Squadron
3-inch Mortar Section and a 3-inch No, it does not use the Gun Shield rule. HQ, Honey Armoured Troop, Crusader
Mortar Platoon? Armoured Squadron HQ, Crusader II
The Scout Tanks command card is now: Armoured Troop, Crusader II & III
Both have a Cross rating of Auto.
Armoured Troop. You must take this card
Tanks that have the Tally Ho attribute
for all eligible Units if you take it for any.
COMMAND CARDS lose Tally Ho, but gain Scout. They have
What is the correct Cross Country a Tactics rating of 4+ and an Is Hit On
Can I combine the Scouts command
speed of Softskin Transports? rating of 4+. Their Tactical Speed is
card with the Australian and NZ
14”/35cm. reduced to 12”/30cm for Crusader tanks
Divisional Cavalry cards?
and 10”/25cm for Honey tanks.
Yes you can.

13
AVANTI
UNIT CARDS The 90mm on Lancia is unusual in COMMAND CARDS
Does the Weapons Platoon have Breda having this rule on an Unarmoured Tank What is the correct Range for the
MG teams or Breda MG & Carcano team. This is because the gun shield on Captured 25 pdr Artillery?
rifle teams? this vehicle is huge, and to make it com-
The guns should have a range of 24”/60cm
parable to the 88mm anti-aircraft gun in
As per the book, it has Breda MG teams for Direct Fire.
game terms.
with Halted ROF 3 and Moving ROF 2.
How much does a German Ju 87 Stuka
Does the Flame-thrower team in the
In the Weapons Platoon, is it the Dive Bomber Flight cost using the
Assault Engineer Platoon have Pinned
47mm gun or the 20mm anti-tank rifle Stuka Support card?
ROF 1 like the German Flame-
that is optional? You pay 1 point for the card, which then
thrower team?
As per the book, the unit includes a allows you to take a German Ju 87 Stuka
Yes it does.
20mm anti-tank rifle as standard, and Dive Bomber Flight for the usual cost
can add a 47mm gun for +2 points. of 9 points (in place of the CR.42 Falco
ALLIED SUPPORT Assault Section on your Force Diagram)
The 90mm on Lancia has the Gigantic An Avanti Force is allowed two German for a grand total of 10 points.
special rule. What does that mean? Units as Allied Support. Can they both
be the same, or must they be different? The Luigi Pascucci card is a ‘Formation
The Gigantic rule is essentially the same
as the Large Gun rule on page 92 of They both must be different Units. If you (Tank Company)’ card. Can he be
the rulebook. want two of the same Unit, take them as taken with any ‘tank company’ such
an Allied Formation instead. as the L6/40 Light Tank Company
The 90mm on Lancia has the Gun build card, or is it specific to the Tank
Shield special rule. What effect does Can an Avanti Force take Formations Company in the Avanti book?
this have, given that it is a Tank team or Units from Ghost Panzers (like There is no generic term ‘tank company’.
rather than a Gun team? Panthers or Ferdinands) as Support? The card refers to the Tank Company
It functions exactly the same as it would No you cannot. in the Avanti book, which is the only
if the 90mm on Lancia was a Gun team. Formation that Pascucci can command.

FIGHTING FIRST
SPECIAL RULES UNIT CARDS ferent card only shows the Scout rule.
What is the Unit Transport rule on the What is the Remount rating of an M3 Does that mean that the Jeeps don’t to
M3 half-track card? half-track? use the Spearhead rule?
The Unit Transport rule says: While on It has a Remount rating of 5+. No it doesn’t. The Unit is defined on the
table, the Unit Leader of a Transport M3A1 Armored recon Patrol card, and
Attachment must end its Movement Step The US M3A1 Armored Recon Patrol this gives Spearhead to the whole Unit.
within 6”/15cm of the Unit Leader of its unit card has the Scout and Spearhead The Jeep card is used by a variety of Units,
Passenger Unit. special rules listed. This Unit also so only gives the rules relevant to them all.
includes two Jeeps which have a dif-
What is the Field of Fire of a Rear COMMAND CARDS
Firing weapon? The M3A1 Armored Recon Company
A Rear Firing weapon can only hit a includes an M3 Tank Platoon. Which
target fully to the rear of the team. M3 tank is this?
It is an M3 Stuart Tank Platoon.

14
ENEMY AT THE GATES
FORMATIONS The Tankodesantniki card allows an normal, and every hit on a tanks in the
The Mixed Tank Battalion does not Infantry Unit that is being carried on Assault will Destroy any infantry car-
have a Formation Commander or an the back of a Tank Unit to Dismount ried on it.
HQ Unit. How does that work? to Charge into Contact.
It is just the same as any other Formation, If the Tank Unit moves at Dash Speed, The Cossack Regiment and Hero
it simply does not have an HQ Unit and uses a Movement Order, or otherwise Cossack Regiment cards have the
cannot benefit from the presence of a disqualifies itself from Launching an wrong references for several cards.
Formation Commander. Assault, can the Tankodesantniki Unit The corrected references are:
still Launch an Assault and charge off • 0-1 82mm Mortar Company (MS118)
COMMAND CARDS their tanks? • 0-1 76mm Anti-tank Company (MS117)
Cards like the Cavalry card are No. The Infantry Unit is also disqualified
Unit cards, but give the Formation from Launching an Assault. Can I mount more than one Unit from
name, e.g. ‘Unit (Cossack regiment, my Cossack Regiment or Hero Cossack
Hero Cossack regiment)’. How does Can the Infantry Mount the tanks in the Regiment as Cavalry?
this work? Movement Step, and then Dismount Yes. The Cavalry card is not Limited, so
The card is a Unit card, so must be to Assault in the Assault Step? you can use it on any or all eligible Units.
purchased for each Unit you wish it to No. The rule that a Team cannot
apply to. As the list of applicable Units Mount and Dismount in the same turn The Scout Company card has the
would be very long, we simply gave the still applies. wrong references for several cards.
Formation name. The card applies to all The corrected references are:
Units within that Formation. If the Tank Unit is Assaulted while the
• 1 Hero Rifle Battalion HQ (MS120)
Tankodesantniki Unit is still Mounted
• 2-3 Scout Platoon (MS124)
Can a Cossack Regiment or Hero on them, can the Tankodesantniki
Cossack Regiment have flame-throwers Dismount to Charge into Contact • 0-2 BA-10 Armoured Car Platoon (MS128)
in its SMG Company or Hero when they Counterattack?
SMG Company? Yes they can. The Motosikilisty card says Unit (Scout
Company) in its description. How
No. A Cossack Regiment or Hero Cossack
does this work?
Regiment may not include any Flame- If the Tankodesantniki Unit Dismounts
thrower teams. and Assaults, can the Tank Unit then The card can be applied to any Unit in
Launch its own Assault once the a Scout Company (a Formation created
If I use the Volley Fire card and do not Tankodesantniki Unit’s Assault is over? by the Scout Company command card).
Destroy the Team that I targeted, can I This card allows you to give motorcycles
Yes it can.
use it again next turn? to any or all of the Scout Platoons in your
Scout Company.
No. The card is discarded when used, so Can the Tank Unit Launch an Assault
only lasts for that Shooting Step. with the Tankodesantniki Unit still
Can Nikolay Rodionovich Andreyev
Mounted on it?
be used with a T-34 (Early)
Yes it can. However, it is rather risky. Tank Company?
Defensive Fire against the tanks will
Yes. That is the only T-34 Tank Company
also hit the infantry carried on them as
in Enemy at the Gates.

RED BANNER
FORMATIONS COMMAND CARDS The Guards Airborne Battalion card
The T-34 Hero Tank Battalion lists Cards like the Guards Rifle Battalion has the wrong points value.
T-34 Hero tank Company twice in its card are Unit cards, but give the The Guards Airborne Battalion com-
third option. What should it be? Formation name, e.g. ‘Unit (Rifle mand card is 3 points, not 2 points.
The third option should be a T-34 Hero Battalion, Hero rifle Battalion)’. How
Tank Battalion, a T-70 Hero Tank does this work?
Battalion, or a Valentine Hero Tank The card is a Unit card, so must be
Battalion. purchased for each Unit you wish it to
apply to. As the list of applicable Units
would be very long, we simply gave the
Formation name. The card applies to all
Units within that Formation.

15
IRON CROSS
SPECIAL RULES So, Clever Tactics affects the Panzer Ace AFRIKA KORPS FORMATIONS
What is the Pioneers rule on the Unit, Precise Gunner affects the Panzer Can I include Formation Support from
Assault Pioneer Platoon card? Ace Unit Leader, Every Shot Counts Afrika Korps in my Iron Cross force?
works as normal, and Elite Crew affects
The Pioneers rule says: Teams from the Yes you can. These would represent either
the Panzer Ace Unit Leader.
Unit cross Minefields safely on a roll of the Afrika Korps supporting either the
2+ (rather than their Skill of 3+). As infantry divisions sent to Egypt to hold
usual, they may Automatically clear a The Armoured Car Company card ref- the line at El Alamein, or troops from the
Minefield using a Mine Clearing order erences Unit Cards from Afrika Korps. Fifth Panzer Army in Tunisia.
in the turn after they move to within Is this correct?
2”/5cm of the Minefield marker. No. It should read: Can I include Formations and Support
Your Force includes one Armoured Units from Afrika Korps in my Iron
COMMAND CARDS Car Company, which is a Formation Cross force?
When a Unit has the Panzer Ace containing: No. You may only take Formations or
command card, you roll to see which • 1 HQ Unit of 1x Sd Kfz 221 (MG) Support Units from the Force Diagram
effect applies. Some of the options are armoured car from (MG223) for 1 point. for your own Force. If you want a Support
Formation cards that say they affect • 2-8 Sd Kfz 221 & 222 Light Scout Unit from Afrika Korps, base your force
the Formation HQ or Formation Troop (MG223) on that book instead.
Commander. How do these work with • 1-3 Sd Kfz 231 Heavy Scout
the Panzer Ace card? Troop (MG224) GHOST PANZERS
Cards that you gain via Panzer Ace that • 0-1 Panzergrenadier Platoon (MG210) FORMATIONS
reference the Formation Commander • 0-1 5cm Tank-Hunter Platoon (MG226) Can an Iron Cross Force take
need to be read as referencing the Unit Formations, Formation Support, or
Leader and cards that reference the IRON CROSS IN AFRICA Support from Ghost Panzers?
Formation HQ Unit need to be read as You can take Units from Ghost Panzers
Does it make sense to field an Iron
referring to the Panzer Ace Unit. Aside as Formation Support for an Iron
Cross force in Africa?
from that, the cards you gain work exact- Cross force. However, you cannot take
ly as they say. Yes. All of the organisations and equip-
ment in Iron Cross were used by the Fifth Formations or Support Units from Ghost
Panzer Army in Tunisia alongside the Panzers. If you want to combine the
Afrika Korps. two more flexibly, take a Ghost Panzers
force instead.

GHOST PANZERS
SPECIAL RULES AFRIKA KORPS FORMATIONS IRON CROSS FORMATIONS
Do Bazooka Skirts work against all Can I include Formation Support Can an Iron Cross Force take
weapons with Firepower 5+ or 6, or from Afrika Korps in my Ghost Formations, Formation Support, or
just infantry weapons? Panzers force? Support from Ghost Panzers?
They work against all weapons with Yes you can. This would represent either You can take Units as Formation Support
Firepower 5+ or 6. older panzer units still fielding early or whole Formations from Iron Cross in a
tanks or weakened infantry units organ- Ghost Panzers force. However, you cannot
UNIT CARDS ised into a defensive group with plenty of take Support Units from Iron Cross.
Can I get Borgward Demolition Carriers weapons but few surviving soldiers.
for a StuG (late) Assault Gun Platoon COMMAND CARDS
that I take as Formation Support? Can I include Formations and Support What happens to my half-tracks if I use
Yes. As per the StuG (late) Assault Gun Units from Afrika Korps in my Ghost the Kübelwagen Scout Cars card on my
Platoon unit card, you may field two Panzers force? Armoured Panzergrenadier Platoon?
units of Borgward Demolition Carriers Yes, see Formation Support box from the They are removed from the game. As
for each Assault Gun Platoon. Ghost Panzers Diagram below. there’s no point in paying the extra for the
FORMATION SUPPORT half-tracks, you should use the options for
You may field compulsory the infantry without half-tracks instead.
Combat Units (with a black box)
from German Formations from What is the Field of Fire of a Machine-
Iron Cross, Ghost Panzers, and
Afrika Korps as Support Units.
gun Bunker?
A Machine-gun Bunker is Forward Firing.

16
DEATH FROM ABOVE
GERMAN UNIT CARDS
In the Fallschirm Pioneer Platoon, what
is the Range of the Flame-thrower?
The range is 4”/10cm like all other infan-
try flame-throwers.

ITALIAN UNIT CARDS


In the Parachutist Assault Engineer
Platoon, what is the Range of the
Flame-thrower?
The range is 4”/10cm like all other infan-
try flame-throwers.

17
COMMAND CARDS
How do Command Cards work? What does Upgrade mean? What if they both change the Unit’s
The cost at the bottom of the card is the Upgrade cards fit your tanks and other ratings? For instance can I use White
cost to ‘activate’ the card. Until you pay Teams with extra equipment. A Team can Knees and Guards on the same
the points listed, the card has no effect only have one Upgrade card affecting it. Formation?
at all. Once you pay the points, you then No, you may only use one Build card that
read the text and do whatever it says BUILD FORMATION CARDS modifies a Formation’s or Unit’s ratings
there. The cost of the card doesn’t actually What do Build Formation cards do? on a Formation or Unit.
give you anything aside from the ability Build Formation cards either modify
to use the card, everything on the card the ratings of every Unit in a Formation If a Command Card changes a Unit’s
with a cost still needs to be paid for. (as the British Guards Motor Company ratings by showing a rating block, do
card does, since it lists Motor Company the exceptions from the original Unit
Do I need to state which Formation or as the Formation affected) or give you a Card still apply? For example, the SS
Unit the card applies to? whole new Formation that you can buy Company card shows the Motivation
Yes. When you add a Formation or Unit (as the US Armored Recon Company rating of a Unit as Fearless with no
Command Card to your Force, you card, which does not list a Formation exceptions.
must state which Formation or Unit it to be modified, does). Some, like the US Since the Unit originally had the
applies to. Engineer Combat Company card, do Third Reich exception that made its
both by creating a new Formation, then Last Stand rating 3+, does the SS
What does something like “any Tank specifying some additional rules for it. version now have an even better Last
Company” mean? Stand rating?
Many cards are limited to a particular BUILD UNIT CARDS No. The Command Card shows the new
Unit or Formation, such as an M4 What do Build Unit cards do? ratings of the Unit. There is no calculation
Sherman Tank Company. Only that spe- Build Unit cards either modify the listed or modification based on the old ratings.
cific Unit or Formation can use that card Unit to have different or additional
(so in this case a Veteran M4 Sherman characteristics (as the US Regulars By What about cards like White Knees
Tank Company could not use that card. God card does, since it lists Armored rifle which does not display a new rating
However, a card with any Tank Company Company as the Unit affected), or adds a block, simply stating that the Skill
could be used on any Formation that has whole new Unit that you can buy (as the rating is now 5+? Does that Unit
‘Tank Company’ as part of its name, so US Ranger Platoon card, which does not still have Deadly Assault 3+ like the
it could be used with wither type of M4 list a Unit to be modified, does). original Unit?
Sherman formation, or with an M5 This is an older format of card. In this
Stuart Tank Company. Do I have to pay for the card and the case, only the parts explicitly listed as
Unit separately? being changed are changed. That means
Can I use the same Command Card For cards that modify a Unit, you have that a Unit that previously had Deadly
more than once? to have paid the cost of the Unit to be Assault 3+ still has that.
Yes. Unless the card is marked as Limited, able to use the card with that Unit, so the
you can take that card in your force as US Regulars By God card costs 7 points COMMAND CARD
many times as you like. and changes the ratings of an Armored FORMATIONS
Rifle Platoon. If that Armored Rifle If I use a Build command card to
Can I use a Command Card from one Platoon was at full strength, you would create a new type of Formation (such
book with a Force from another book? pay 15 points for the base Unit, then as the New Zealand Divisional Cavalry
A Unit or Formation can only use a another 7 points for the card, for a total card that creates a mixed formation of
Command Card from their own book. of 22 points for the Unit. Honey tanks and Universal Carriers),
If a Formation or Unit is being used in For cards that have a fixed cost, such as can I then use another Build command
a Force from another book, it uses the the FFI Platoon, you pay that cost and card to modify its ratings (such as the
Command Cards from the book it is take the Unit. If the size of the Unit is Scout Tanks card)?
published in. not specified, then you can take it at Yes you can. In this case, the Honey Units
full strength for that cost. Any options would be affected by the Scout Tanks
KEYWORDS you want need to paid for on top of this card, while the Universal Carrier Units
What does Title mean? base price. would remain the same.
Title cards customise your force to reflect
Can I use two different Build Formation Most Formation HQs for these
a particular division or other formation.
or Unit cards on the same Formation Formations are specified on the
You may only have one Title in your
or Unit? For instance can I use both Command Card, so aren’t listed on
Force, although you can have multiple
Tankodesantniki and Guards Motor cards that ratings (such as the HQ
cards with the same Title.
Rifle Battalion on an SMG Company? Honey tanks of the NZ Div Cav HQ,
Yes you can.

18
which aren’t listed on the Scout Tanks Can I us a Force Command Card like SPECIFIC CARDS
card). Can I use these cards to upgrade Pip Roberts with an Allied Support The Pure Luck, Lucky, Hail Mary, and
my HQ as well? Formation in my American Force? similar cards allow you to re-roll a die.
Yes you can. You can use cards that apply No. You can only use Force Command Does this have to be your die or can
to the source of the HQ’s teams to upgrade Cards with the Force you are fielding, in you re-roll one of your opponent’s dice.
the HQ. In this case the Honey tanks this case a US Force from Fighting First. Since you can’t roll your opponent’s dice,
in the come from the Honey Armoured you are limited to re-rolling your own
Troop card, so will be affected by the Scout DESTROYED LEADERS dice with this card.
Tanks card as it works on that Unit. If a Unit Command Card gives the
Unit Leader a bonus, does this still Can I use Lucky or similar cards to
FORMATION SUPPORT apply if the Unit Leader is Destroyed re-roll things like who attacks in a
If a Unit that is only available as Support and replaced? particular scenario or which particular
in a book also has a Command Card Yes. Any Unit Leader in that Unit gains Tiger Ace skill my unit has?
that creates a new Formation in which that bonus. No. These cards can only be used to re-roll
it is compulsory, can I then take the a die during the actual play of the game.
Unit as Formation Support or Allied What about Formation Commanders? You cannot use it to re-roll a die before
Support in a different book as if it had Do they retain their bonus after being the first turn or to determine the charac-
been in a Formation in the book? Destroyed? teristics of a Unit.
No. You may only take Formation Yes. The benefits to the Formation
Support from Formations in a book Commander from a Formation The Diversionary Tactics, Artillery
or on a Unit Card. You may not take Command Card remain, even if the Expert, and Reconnaissance by
Formation Support from a Formation Formation Command Team is Destroyed Combat cards allow players to reposi-
that is created with a Command Card. and switches to another team. tion Ranged In markers. Which order
do they take effect?
Can I take a Formation card for a RESERVES Artillery Expert or Reconnaissance by
Support Unit taken as Formation How are Command Cards included in Combat should be played first as this
Support from that Formation. As an the Reserves rule? allows a player to move their Ranged
example, can I take a Motor Platoon In marker anywhere. Then when
as Support for my Grant Armoured Force Command Cards are always
included in the 60% of the force on table, Diversionary Tactics is played, it allows
Squadron, and use the Guards Motor their opponent to move it 6”/15cm from
Company card to make it into a since they are always in effect.
its new position.
Guards Motor Platoon? The base points for Formation Command
Yes you can. Pay the cost for the Formation Cards are included in the 60% of the force
The Fortify the Building card gives
card as usual, but only apply the effect on table if any part of the Formation is
Infantry Teams in the building a 2+
to the Unit. included as they are in effect in that case.
Save. Does this apply to both sides?
If a Formation Command Card has
Yes. Any Infantry Teams in the building,
What happens if the Formation card additional points per Unit or per Team,
regardless of which side they are on, gain
that I want to use with a Support Unit these are only included in the 60% of the
the 2+ Save.
has a negative cost? force on table for the Units on table as
they are in effect in that case.
If the card has a negative cost (such as MODELLING VARIANTS
the British White Knees card), you do Unit Command Cards are included
Some command cards allow you to
not get a discount since the price is for in the 60% of the force on table if the
field your units as a different type of
a whole Formation and you only have a Unit is included as they are in effect in
equipment, for example the 4.2-inch
single Unit, so you take the card at a cost that case.
Chemical Mortars card allows an
of 0 points. The exception to this is that Command American player to field their Mortar
Cards with a negative value (such as the Platoon with more firepower.
ALLIED SUPPORT British White Knees card) are only part
You can either field the normal models,
Can I use a Unit or Formation of the 60% of the force on table if all of
just noting that they have the adjusted
Command Card with an Allied Support the Units that are affected by the card are
characteristics, or you can use special
Formation or Unit in my Force? As an on the table.
order models of the type they are being
example, could I take the above Guards converted into. If you go with the
Motor Platoon as an Allied Support special order models, they are based on
Unit in my American Force? the bases provided with them, even if
Yes you can. they are different from the bases of the
normal models.

19
BASING
SOVIET INFANTRY MOTORCYCLES CAVALRY
The Rifle Company, Hero Rifle The Italians and Soviets have Command The Soviets have Command Cards that
Company, Storm Group, and PTRD Cards that give Infantry Units motor- give Infantry Units horses as cavalry.
Anti-tank Company have 50mm cycles. How should I model this? How should I model this?
mortar teams and PTRD AT rifle You have a number of options: You have a number of options:
teams with three weapons mounted on
• The simplest option is to place the • The simplest option is to place the
a large base. What should I do if I have
Command Card with the Unit to show Command Card with the Unit to show
old 50mm mortar or PTRD AT rifle
your opponent that the Unit is mounted your opponent that the Unit is mounted
teams that are based differently?
on motorcycles. on horses.
You have a number of options:
• If you are a modeller, you can purchase • If you are a modeller, you can purchase
• You could just keep using your old bases motorcycles from the Special Order range. cavalry figures from the Special Order
and space them out a bit more to match As these are significantly larger than range. As these are significantly larger
the new, larger bases. infantry, they are best based with two than infantry on foot, they are best based
• You could stick a large base under your motorcycle and sidecar on a large base to with four cavalry figures on a large base
existing base (or bases in the case of the replace a standard four-figure team on a to replace a standard four-figure team on
50mm mortars) to match the new basing. medium base, or one motorcycle and side- a medium base, or two cavalry figures on
• You could re-base the models on car on a medium base to replace a small a medium base to replace a small two-fig-
large bases. two-figure team on a small base. ure team on a small base.
• You could grab some of the awesome
new sculpts and make some new weapons
teams for your collection.

20
MOVEMENT ORDER SUMMARY CARDS
Some Desert Rats and Afrika Korps Leader to Dig In. Is this correct? where they are.
Movement Orders summary cards No. The books are correct. Any team in
require teams to be close to the Unit the unit can dig Foxholes, regardless of

FOG OF WAR CARDS


When can Objective Cards that have At any time. You can play them in your There are two different cards labelled
Turn Counters be claimed? Can I turn or the opponent’s turn. However, Precise Attack. Does this matter?
claim it on the turn in which the last you can’t play them after a die has been No. The labels on the cards have no effect
Turn Counter is removed? rolled, but before its effect is resolved. on the game.
Yes you can. You remove the Turn
Counter at the start of the turn, the claim Can you play an Objective card and at One of the Precise Attack cards gives
the Objective immediately. the start of a Starting Step, then claim you points for destroying units with
it in the same Starting Step? the same name. Does the name have
Are turn counters removed at the start No you can’t. You must complete your to be exactly the same or do units like
of both players’ turns, or just turns of turn before you can claim an Objective. Panzer III Tank Platoon and Panzer III
the player that placed it? (Mixed) Tank Platoon both count?
Just at the start of the turn of the player When do I win? Do I win immediately They have different names, so you’d need
that placed it. I score sufficient Victory Points, or do to pick one or the other.
I have to wait until my Starting Step?
Can two Objectives be placed in the You must wait until your Starting The other Precise Attack card gives
same place, one on top of the other and Step to win. a different number of points for
then claimed together? destroying Units of more or less than
Yes they can. Are the Objectives on the Line in the 9 points. How does this work in Early
Sand card supposed to be arranged or Late War?
When placing cards that can’t be in a line? Treat the cut-off point as 135 points.
placed close to your own deployment Yes. The three Objectives are supposed to
area, does the extension created by the be arranged in a line, 12”/30cm apart, The Scout the Perimeter card requires
Spearhead rule count? centred on the centre of the table. a Spearhead Unit to score the
No. The Spearhead rule is only in effect points. How does this work in Early
during deployment. After that it is no Do I remove an Objective from Line in and Late War?
longer defined as the Spearhead teams the Sand when I take it? All Reconnaissance Platoons have the
could have moved in the meantime. Yes. You remove the Objective when you Spearhead rule (see page 68 of the
hold it to score one point. The card is rulebook).
When do you play Hidden discarded once all three Objectives have
Objective cards? been claimed.

For more information about Flames of War visit


21 WWW.FLAMESOFWAR.COM

You might also like

pFad - Phonifier reborn

Pfad - The Proxy pFad of © 2024 Garber Painting. All rights reserved.

Note: This service is not intended for secure transactions such as banking, social media, email, or purchasing. Use at your own risk. We assume no liability whatsoever for broken pages.


Alternative Proxies:

Alternative Proxy

pFad Proxy

pFad v3 Proxy

pFad v4 Proxy