FM101 Faq
FM101 Faq
1
If I moved into a wood last turn (and Can a Passenger Dismount using a Can I use a Blitz move to land a
took my Cross check then), do I need Shoot and Scoot movement order from Helicopter, then dismount the
to take another Cross check this turn a Transport vehicle that did not move Passengers in the same Movement Step?
to move out of it? in the previous Movement Step? Yes, like any Transport, you can do so.
Yes. If you start your Movement in No. You can only Mount and Dismount
Difficult Terrain, you need to take a in the Movement Step. Can I deploy a Transport Helicopter
Cross check at that time. landed beside its Passengers, ready to
Can I use a Movement Order to pick them up?
If a Unit Leader issues a Cross Here Dismount my infantry from a No. A Helicopter can only Land in the
order, can they use it to cross multiple Transport after it has moved? turn it is Mounting or Dismounting
pieces of Difficult Terrain? No. Teams cannot Dismount after their Passengers.
Yes they can. Any team from the Unit Transport has moved.
crossing any of the Difficult Terrain If my Helicopter Loitered last turn,
within 6”/15cm of where the Unit Can Passengers in a Transport take or where does it move onto the table from?
Leader crossed will benefit. dispute an Objective? It moves on to the table from the table
Yes they can. edge in your deployment area.
Does a Dig In or Mine Clearing move-
ment order prevent teams that are not Can a Pinned Down infantry unit When can my Helicopter switch from
digging foxholes or clearing mines Mount their Transport? being on table to Loitering? Can I do it
from moving? Yes they can. However, they can’t move in a Follow Me or a Shoot and Scoot?
No. Teams that are not using the towards visible enemy while doing so. You can only do so in place of your
Movement Order can act as they wish. That means that their Transports need movement in the Movement Step. You
to be behind them so they can fall back cannot use a Movement Order to switch
Can a team move through a friend- into them. to Loiter.
ly team?
No. The Moving Through Gaps rule If an infantry unit is Mounted in Can I deploy a Helicopter Loitering
applies. If the gap isn’t big enough, then Transports, does it remain Pinned off table? If it is a Transport, can it have
you can’t move through it. Down? Can the Transports move its Passengers on board?
towards the enemy? Yes you can deploy your Helicopter
Remember, Infantry ignore their base
when using this rule, so can move through Yes, it remains Pinned Down. This does Loitering off table. If it is a Transport
pretty small gaps, and Tanks Teams can not stop the Transports from moving Helicopter, then you can deploy troops
easily move through them. towards the enemy, but when the infan- that would normally be on table as its
try Dismount, they will have to do so Passengers instead.
Can my models end their movement away from the enemy if they are still
on top of other models? Pinned Down. Can Transport Helicopters be Sent to
the Rear or Brought Forward?
No.
When can a Transport team be Sent to No. That rule only applies to Tank Teams.
TRANSPORT the Rear or Brought Forward?
Are Transport Teams Tank Teams? A Transport team can be Sent to the SHOOTING
Rear or brought Forward any time in the My M1 Abrams tank has three
Yes. All Teams are either Tank, Infantry,
Movement Step. machine-guns. The .50 cal AA MG has
or Aircraft Teams. Transport Teams are
Tank or Aircraft Teams with additional ROF 3, while the other two only have a
HELICOPTER MOVEMENT combined ROF 2. Why is that?
capabilities.
Can any Helicopter Land, or just
Adding more machine-guns after the
My Formation HQ doesn’t have Transport Helicopters? When can
first has diminishing returns. The first
Transports, but my Infantry Units Helicopters Land?
machine-gun has the most effect, while
do. Can the infantry teams of my Only Transport Helicopters can Land, each additional machine-gun adds a
Formation HQ ride in the Infantry and only when they are Mounting or smaller increment.
Unit’s transports? Dismounting Passengers.
Yes they can. If there is enough space in ROTATE TO FACE
Where can I Land a Transport Helicopter?
the Transports, the Formation HQ can Do all Teams need to rotate to face?
squeeze in with the Infantry Unit. Pretty much anywhere that the model can
What about Infantry teams that have
reasonably be placed. Troops can rappel
an all-round field of fire?
If a Unit is being carried as Passengers, down into a woods if there is no clearing.
can they use the Blitz Move movement They can jump out of a hovering helicop- All Teams, including Infantry teams,
order to Dismount? ter onto a flat building roof, etc. need to rotate to face their target.
Yes, as long as all the rules for Dismounting Remember you can’t land within The purpose of the rule is to make it look
(such as you can’t do it after the Transport 4”/10cm of enemy troops, as you’d have like your toy soldiers are actually shooting
has moved) are obeyed. to immediately take off again. So, you’ll at their target, so they need to turn to
need to make sure you have space around face them.
the helicopters to dismount the passengers.
2
After rotating to face my target, other Does Smoke provide Concealment? The Terrain Table has a bit of an oddity
enemy teams are now in my field of No. Smoke has its own effects separate where it says that doors and windows are
fire. Can I shoot at them now? from Concealment, which is only provid- Short Terrain while the walls they are
No. You determine your field of fire before ed by terrain. in are Tall Terrain. It makes more sense
you pick your target. The rotation does to view the doors and windows as Tall
not change this. GONE TO GROUND Terrain too.
Is there any benefit to having my teams That means that you’ll be able to see any
What do I do if there isn’t enough space Gone to Ground if I’m not Concealed? teams in the building that you have line
to rotate a team to face the target? of sight to through a door or a window,
No. Only teams that are Concealed
If the team can rotate by moving slight- benefit from the additional +1 to be hit and that are within 2”/5cm of the door
ly away from the obstacle, then do so. (taking the bonus from +1 to +2) for or window.
Otherwise, it just rotates as far as it can being Gone to Ground. The converse applies for teams looking out
and shoots anyway. of the building at your troops too.
So why can my teams be Gone to
CONCEALMENT Ground in the middle of an open field? If I shoot Smoke at a team in the upper
Do the general Concealment rules Suppose you have a tank behind a hedge. storey of a building, where do I place
for Tall terrain apply to Hills and It doesn’t want to shoot or move, so is the Smoke Marker?
Buildings? Is my tank concealed simply Gone to Ground. To teams looking at it As per the rules, you place the Smoke
by being on a hill? from across the hedge, it is Concealed, Marker on the target team, in the
Hills and Buildings do not follow the so gets the +2 bonus to be hit for being building.
rules for Tall Terrain as they have their Concealed and Gone to Ground.
own rules for Concealment. Can a Team on a hill or in the upper
On the other hand, a team that is behind
story of a building see over a Smoke
the hedge looking at it will see it sitting
Does a team need to be fully in or Marker?
in the open in the middle of the field,
behind Short Terrain to be Concealed? No. Teams beyond a Smoke Marker
without concealment. In this case, there
Is a team half behind Tall Terrain always benefit from the effect of the smoke.
is no benefit from being Gone to Ground,
Concealed? The only exception is Aircraft, which are
and the team shoots at it with no penalty.
Unlike with Buildings and Hills, teams only affected by Smoke Markers within
must be entirely within or behind Short Can my Tank teams be Gone to 4”/10cm of the teams on the ground.
or Tall Terrain to be Concealed. Ground?
For a Tank team, Line of Sight is drawn
Yes. Infantry, Gun, and Tank teams can
Does a team need to be fully in or from the weapon mount. What if I’m
all be Gone to Ground. In the case of a
behind Smoke to be gain the +1 To Hit firing an MG that has no obvious
Tank team, this represents the crew find-
penalty when shot at? weapon mount on the model?
ing the best concealment available and
Teams must be entirely within or behind doing things like covering their tank in In that case, draw the Line of Sight from
Smoke to gain its protection. branches to make it harder to see. the tank’s main gun.
Infantry teams that are stationary in What if the Tank team has multiple
Flat Terrain are Concealed. Teams in LINE OF SIGHT MG mountings, such as a tank with
Short Terrain are Concealed unless Do the general Line of Sight rules a co-axial MG beside the main gun in
the team looking at them is on a Hill for Tall terrain apply to Hills and the turret and a bow gun in the front
or other high ground. Is an Infantry Buildings? of the hull?
team that is stationary in Short Terrain No. The specific Line of Sight and Choose one of the weapon mountings and
Concealed to a team looking at it from Concealment rules for Hills cover the use that.
a Hill? special case of Hills.
Yes. While the Hill cancels the benefit of If I have a team on a high hill trying to
ROTATE TO FACE
the Short Terrain (essentially making it shoot at a team on the far side of a low Do all Teams need to rotate to face?
the same as Flat Terrain), it doesn’t make building, can It do so? What about Infantry teams that have
stationary Infantry teams any more visi- an all-round field of fire?
The height of a hill is exactly the height it
ble. They are still Concealed. All Teams, including Infantry teams,
is modelled. The only way to know what
you can see from that hill is to get down need to rotate to face their target.
My Cobra is a Hunter-Killer helicop-
ter, so can be Concealed by Tall terrain to the level of the model and see if there is The purpose of the rule is to make it look
within 4”/10cm. Does this terrain have a Line of Sight over the building or other like your toy soldiers are actually shooting
to be between the shooting team and intervening obstacle to the opposing team. at their target, so they need to turn to
the helicopter? face them.
A shooting team has line of sight to
Like any other team, terrain needs to be a window into a building containing How does this work when firing MG
between it and the team shooting at it to several infantry teams. Which ones can weapons on Tank teams?
have any effect. I shoot at? Do not rotate the team to face if the
You can’t shoot through walls, so you’ll only weapon firing is a Self-defence AA
need to see the target team through a door weapon, or the tank does not have a turret
or a window to be able to hit it.
3
but the weapon is not Forward Firing. cated evenly, so one has to go to the tank KILLING COMMANDERS
Otherwise, rotate the turret or team like a in the woods, leaving you the choice of If my Formation Command team is
normal turreted or forward-firing team. which of the two will take the second hit. Destroyed, but succeeds in switching
After rotating to face my target, other Does a Passenger in a vehicle destroyed to a Team from another Unit, does the
enemy teams are now in my field of by a Brutal weapon like the 120mm Formation HQ Unit still exist?
fire. Can I shoot at them now? main gun of a Chieftain re-roll its save? Since the Formation HQ Unit is defined
No. You determine your field of fire before Yes. Passengers of a Destroyed vehicle need as the Formation Command team (and
you pick your target. The rotation does to make an Infantry Save, and Brutal possibly other teams as well), and the
not change this. forces them to re-roll any Infantry Saves. Formation Commander still exists, the
HQ Unit still exists.
What do I do if there isn’t enough space What if the transport vehicle was
to rotate a team to face the target? Destroyed by a Repeat Bombardment If my Formation Commander was
(which also requires any Infantry teams Destroyed, but switched to a Team
If the team can rotate by moving slight-
that it hits to re-roll successful Saves). from another Unit, does that Unit
ly away from the obstacle, then do so.
count the Team taken by the Formation
Otherwise, it just rotates as far as it can Yes. The Repeat Bombardment also
Commander as being Destroyed?
and shoots anyway. forces the Passengers to re-roll their
Infantry Saves. No. That Team is simply is no longer part
DANGER CLOSE of the Unit. The Unit continues on with
Do Aircraft prevent other Aircraft from MISTAKEN TARGET one less Team.
firing at targets near them? You have to assign one of the hits from What if the Unit no longer has any
No. Aircraft can shoot at targets within a shooting team to the team that it was Teams left because the Formation
the Danger Close range of Aircraft from targeting. Does this restriction also Commander switched to the last Team
their own Unit apply to the opponent when they use in the Unit? Is the Unit Destroyed?
the Mistaken Target rule?
A Unit that has no Teams left is not a
MIXED TARGETS No. It is possible to use the Mistaken Unit, so yes, it is Destroyed.
My tanks are shooting at a unit of three Target rule to swap hits between the
enemy tanks, one standing in the open, target team and a team that had no hits WRECKS
one concealed at the edge of a wood, assigned, resulting in the targeted team When multiple Armoured Tank teams
and one out of sight behind the woods. not having any hits on it. get Destroyed in a small area, the
What score do I need to hit them if resulting area of Wreckage can make it
they are within 16”/40cm and have a BULLETPROOF COVER difficult to position Teams to Launch
Is Hit On number of 3+? Does an Infantry team need to be Assaults, Hold Objectives, or Repel
If your tanks target the tank in the open, immediately behind a stone wall or Attacks. How do I handle this?
they’ll need 3+ to hit. They could target similar bulletproof terrain to be in
The best way to handle this is to move
the tank in the woods (needing 4+ as it Bulletproof Cover?
aside or remove a wreck to make space
is Concealed), but would normally gain No. So long as it is Concealed by the for your Team. When your Team moves
little from doing so. bulletproof terrain, it is in Bulletproof away, place the wreck back where it came
Cover and the opponent needs to make a from. You can mark the position of the
I’ve just scored three hits rolling 3, Firepower test to Destroy it.
3, and 5. How are my hits allocated? wreck by a base roughly the size of the
Which hits can I allocate to the tank wreck or a token
FIRING MISSILES
in the woods? Can I allocate hits to the Can a Pinned Down Infantry team ANTI-AIRCRAFT SHOOTING
tank behind the woods? with a moving ROF of ‘-’, such as a US If a Tank Team shooting at Aircraft is
The score you rolled to get the hit has no M47 Dragon or Soviet SA-14 Gremlin at the very edge of a wood, does it see
impact on how the hits are allocated. team shoot at all while Pinned Down? the Aircraft unconcealed, as it would
Think of it this way. The hardest part of No they can’t. an enemy tank?
hitting a target on the modern battlefield
is finding it without being hit first. A Can a Infantry missile team with a Yes, terrain works the same for Aircraft
lone tank sitting in the open is a dead Moving ROF of ‘-’, such as a US M47 as for any other team, with the excep-
giveaway. Where there’s one, there’ll be Dragon or Soviet SA-14 Gremlin team tion that all Short Terrain and any Tall
more. Now that you know where the shoot after a Blitz Movement Order? Terrain more than 4”/10cm from the
enemy are, it’s a lot easier to find the rest Yes they can, as long as they don’t Move in ground Team is ignored.
of the unit that’s trying to hide. their normal movement. If my Anti-aircraft team is in the
So, in game terms, having figured out middle of a wood, can it still shoot at
Can the above Infantry missile team
where the enemy is, you’ve scored three Aircraft?
shoot if they fail to make an attempted
hits. The first hit has to go to the target Yes, although the Aircraft will be
Blitz Movement order?
tank, and all hits have to be allocated Concealed. Nothing ever blocks Line of
to valid targets, so the tank behind the Yes they can, but suffer normal +1 to hit
penalty. Sight to Aircraft. Presumably the Anti-
woods can’t be hit. That leaves two more aircraft Unit is set up in a small clearing.
hits to be allocated. They have to be allo-
4
Does Smoke ever block Line-of-Sight allow them to shoot at Aircraft in the If my Anti-aircraft weapon shoots at an
to and from Aircraft? enemy turn, then shoot at ground tar- Aircraft in the enemy turn, the rules say
No, however it does provide Concealment. gets in their own turn? the Weapon cannot shoot in Defensive
Smoke is in effect treated as Tall Terrain If a Team fires AA MGs at Aircraft in the Fire or Assault in its next Assault step?
for the purpose of Line-of-Sight to enemy turn, it cannot fire the AA MGs How does that affect a Team?
Aircraft, meaning if within 4”/10cm of in its own turn. If a Team fires anything If the weapon cannot shoot, the Team can
Anti-aircraft team or target, but is still other than an MG at Aircraft in the fire its other weapons in Defensive Fire.
just Smoke for Concealment. enemy turn, it can only fire MGs in its For example, a Luchs shoots its 7.62mm
own turn. AA MG at some helicopters, then is
If a Helicopter fires its Anti-Helicopter assaulted by some enemy infantry. It can
weapon at another Helicopter, does it Where is the rule that says that Infantry shoot its 20mm Rh 202 in Defensive
get full ROF? Teams (other than Heavy Weapons) Fire, but not its 7.62mm AA MG.
Yes. It is an Aircraft weapon and Aircraft and AA MGs shooting at Strike Aircraft
However, because one of its weapons
weapons always get full ROF when must re-roll their Firepower tests?
shot at an Aircraft in the enemy turn,
shooting at enemy Aircraft (including It is part of the Strike Aircraft rule on the Luchs cannot Assault in its next
Helicopters). page 69. Assault Step.
The 30mm gun on my BMP-2 is an AA IN THE ENEMY TURN My Anti-aircraft team fires during
Anti-helicopter weapon. When it What ROF do Anti-aircraft weapons the enemy turn at some aircraft, then
shoots at a Helicopter, does it use its use when shooting at Aircraft in the doesn’t do anything in their own next
full ROF? enemy turn? turn, are they Gone to Ground in the
No. It is not a Dedicated AA weapon, They use their full ROF. If shooting in next enemy turn?
so has ROF 1. The Anti-helicopter rule their own turn, this is whatever ROF they No, it effectively grabbed its shooting
simply lets it shoot at Helicopters. would normally have, Moving ROF or from its own next turn.
My M1 Abrams has two Anti-aircraft Halted ROF depending on whether they The basic concept is it can’t be Gone to
machine-guns. They aren’t Dedicated moved if Dedicated AA, otherwise 1 die. Ground if it shot in or since its last turn.
AA weapons, so only fire with In the enemy turn, the fire with their
best ROF. That is normally their Halted If it is Night and my Anti-aircraft
ROF 1 against Aircraft. Does that give
ROF, but if they have no Halted ROF, weapon shoots at an Aircraft in the
my tank two shots?
that will be their Moving ROF, but enemy turn, does the enemy need to
Yes. It gets one shot for each machine- roll on the Night Vision Table to see it?
gun, although one suffers an additional once again, with ROF 1 if they are not
Dedicated AA. No. It will be visible at night until the
+1 penalty To Hit since it has a base
beginning of the next enemy turn.
ROF of 1. Anti-aircraft weapons shooting in the
enemy turn shoot immediately before Can a Helicopter Shoot at an enemy
Can my M1 Abrams tank still use its
the Aircraft shoots. Can you be more Helicopter in the enemy turn?
105mm gun in its next turn?
specific? No. Aircraft can only shoot at other
Yes. It cannot use its machine-guns, but
As it says, the AA weapon shoots imme- Aircraft in their own turn.
can use other weapons, in this case the
M68 105mm gun. diately before the Aircraft, so whenever
the player declares that they are going to AA MISSILES
Does my M1 Abrams have to point its shoot with their Aircraft, the AA player My SA-14 Gremlin AA missile teams
turret at a helicopter to shoot its AA can jump in and try to shoot them down are not Dedicated AA. Can they fire at
MGs at it? first. You can wait to shoot your Aircraft full ROF at Aircraft?
No. The AA MGs can engage targets until after your tanks have knocked out Yes they can. Guided AA always fires at
in different directions from the main the enemy AA weapons if you want to, full ROF at Aircraft.
105mm gun. Since they cannot easily which would limit the amount of AA fire
The SA-14 Gremlin AA missile teams
be repositioned on the model and would they would take.
are Heavy Weapons. Does this mean
have no effect if you could, you do not
If an enemy Helicopter doesn’t shoot that they can’t fire at Helicopters?
need to point them at the target.
in its turn, can I shoot at it in the No it doesn’t. Shooting at Aircraft on
Some tanks (such as ADATS and enemy turn? page 39 lists who can shoot at aircraft, it
Blowpipe) have multiple-use weapons No. You must wait until your own turn is not a list of criteria that must all be met
that can fire at Aircraft and ground to shoot at it. (otherwise nobody could do so!). Since
targets (Tanks and Infantry), paired your SA-14 Gremlins are Anti-aircraft
weapons that have a similar capability If my Anti-aircraft weapon shot in weapons, they can shoot at helicopters.
(BMP-3, LAV-AD, and 2S6 Tunguska), my previous turn, can it shoot at an Your companies’ PKM LMG teams, for
or Anti-helicopter weapons for use Aircraft in the enemy turn? instance, are Infantry Heavy Weapons. As
against aircraft and other weapons for Yes it can. You don’t need to predict when they aren’t Anti-aircraft, Anti-helicopter,
use against ground targets. Does this enemy Aircraft will appear. However, or Guided weapons, none of those clauses
once it shoots at an Aircraft in the enemy allow them to shoot at helicopters. They
turn, it cannot shoot in its own next turn. are Infantry teams, so could do so under
that clause, except that they are Heavy
5
Weapons, so are excluded there as well, The Line of Sight To and From Aircraft An Artillery Battery started with game
so your PKM LMG teams cannot shoot rule on page 41 says that Terrain never with its Ranged In marker on the
at helicopters. blocks Line of sight to or from Aircraft. table. Does it force enemy teams to
Does this apply to Landed Aircraft? re-roll their Saves using the Repeating
Infantry teams need to re-roll success- Bombardments rule on the first turn.
No. The last sentence Landed Aircraft
ful Firepower rolls against Aircraft.
obey the same rules for line of Sight and Yes it does. It is firing on its existing
Does this apply to an SA-14 Gremlin
Concealment as any other team on the Ranged In marker, so it is a Repeated
AA missile team or an M47 Dragon
ground. Bombardment.
missile team?
They are firing Guided or Guided AA When I shoot at a Landed Aircraft I successfully Ranged In with an
weapons rather than using normal with a Radar weapon that increases its Artillery Battery on the first attempt.
Infantry weapons. Guided weapons do Range when shooting at Aircraft, do I I then use the same Spotting Team to
not need to re-roll their Firepower Test, get the increased Range? attempt to Range In a second Artillery
only Infantry weapons that do not fit into Yes. A Landed Aircraft is an Aircraft, so Battery, succeeding straight away.
any other category need to do that. the increased R0ange applies. What are the To Hit penalties for these
Bombardments?
Does my AH-1 Cobra helicopter firing When I shoot at a Landed Aircraft with The first Battery was Ranged In on the
an ITOW guided missile at another a Brutal weapon, does the helicopter Spotting Team’s first attempt, so has no
helicopter suffer the +1 to hit for being need to re-roll its save? penalty. The second Battery was Ranged
an ROF 1 weapon? No. Only Infantry and Unarmoured In on the Spotting Team’s second attempt,
Yes it does. Despite being mounted on an Tank teams re-roll their saves when hit so suffers the usual +1 To Hit penalty for
Aircraft a Guided weapon will always by a Brutal weapon, and the helicopter is Ranging In on the second attempt.
have the +1 to hit for ROF 1. an Aircraft team.
I have an Artillery Battery that is firing
HUNTER-KILLER AIRCRAFT When can a helicopter fire its a Repeat Bombardment. I also have
My AH-1 Cobra has the Hunter Killer Door Guns? another Artillery Battery that I want to
special rule. It is about to shoot from They can only fire them when Landed, and Range In on a new target. Can I use
behind a wood, so is Concealed. The they can only be landed while Mounting the same team as the Spotting team for
enemy are going to shoot their Anti- or Dismounting Passengers. So, basically, both Bombardments?
aircraft weapons at it before it shoots. they can only fire them to cover an assault Yes you can. However, although the
Is it still Gone to Ground when landing into a hostile area. Repeat Bombardment automatically
they shoot? Ranges In on its first attempt, that
Yes. It has not yet shot, so is still Gone ARTILLERY still counts as the Spotting Team’s first
to Ground. The enemy could wait until Mortars like the M106 don’t have a Ranging In attempt. You can then use
their own turn to shoot at it. If they did direct-fire line. Does that mean that the Spotting team’s second (and third if
so, it would no longer be Gone to Ground. they can only fire bombardments? necessary) attempt to Range In the other
Yes it does. Artillery Battery.
If my AH-1 Cobra helicopter shot
last turn, but has not moved this turn, DANGER CLOSE Can I do it the other way around, with
does the Hunter Killer rule mean that the Spotting team Ranging In the new
Do Aircraft prevent you from firing an
it is Gone to Ground until it shoots Artillery Bombardment first?
Artillery Bombardment near them?
this turn? Yes you can. However, if the Spotting
Yes. They can fire their own Bombardments
No. The Hunter-killer rule allows the team doesn’t Range In the new
near themselves, but pilots really don’t like
helicopter to move and remain Gone to Bombardment by their second attempt,
their own side firing explosive projectiles
Ground. It does not allow it to shoot and they won’t be able to Spot for the repeat
into their airspace.
remain Gone to Ground. If the helicopter Bombardment as their third attempt will
shoots, it is not Gone to Ground again RANGING IN be taken up still trying to Range In the
until it has an opportunity to shoot in its If my Artillery Battery fails to Range new Bombardment.
Shooting Step and elects not to. In, can it Shoot with direct fire? Can it My Spotting team is Ranging In two
still be Gone to Ground? Repeat Bombardments, then attempt-
LANDED HELICOPTERS
No. It fired ranging shots for the ing to Range In a third Artillery
A flying Helicopter is an Aircraft team.
Bombardment, preventing it from Battery. How does this work?
What type of team is it when it lands?
Shooting and revealing its position. Each time they Range In uses up one
It is still an Aircraft team, more specifi-
cally it is a Landed Aircraft team. If I fail all my attempts to Range In of their attempts, so they’d use the first
with a One Use weapon, can I try two attempts Ranging In the repeat
What can shoot at a Landed Aircraft? Bombardments, leaving their third
again later?
Landed Aircraft can be shot at by any attempt to try to Range In the third
Yes you can. Until you actually fire the
weapon, as long as it has enough Range Artillery Battery.
Artillery Bombardment, you still have
and Line of Sight to the aircraft.
the ammunition to try again.
6
My Spotting team is Ranging In two Can my FIST spot for more than one SMOKE BOMBARDMENTS
Repeat Bombardments, then attempt- battery firing Laser-guided Projectiles If I’m attempting to fire a Smoke
ing to Range In a third Artillery at the same time? Bombardment (and it’s a once per
Battery. How does this work? No. Like any Bombardment, they can game option) and fail to Range In, can
Each time they Range In uses up one only work with one Unit at a time. I try again later?
of their attempts, so they’d use the first Yes you can. Until you actually fire the
two attempts Ranging In the Repeat What is the range of Laser-Guided
Projectiles? The rules say 16”/40cm to Smoke Bombardment, you still have the
Bombardments (although both Repeat ammunition stocks to try again.
Bombardments still count as having Normal. What does that mean?
Ranged In on their first attempt), leaving Laser-Guided Projectiles have a mini- Can I use an existing Ranged In
their third attempt to try to Range In the mum range of 16”/40cm (it takes a while marker from a previous turn to fire a
third Artillery Battery with a +2 To Hit for the shell to find the target after the Smoke Bombardment without needing
if they succeed.. shock of launch!), and a maximum range to Range In again?
equal to the bombardment range of the Yes you can.
A Spotting team must have Line shooting team. For a M109, the range
Of Sight to the Aiming Point when will be 16”/40cm-96”/240cm. Can a Team on a hill or in the upper
Ranging In. Do friendly teams block story of a building see over a Smoke
Line of Sight for spotting? Artillery has a rule that if the unit fires Screen from a Bombardment?
No. Ignore friendly teams when determin- an Artillery Bombardment, all the No. The only things that can see or be seen
ing Line of Sight for Spotting purposes. teams either fire as part of the bom- over a Smoke Screen are Aircraft, since
bardment or not fire at all. Do Laser nothing blocks Line of Sight to Aircraft.
Can a Transport team that is part of the Guided Projectiles count as an Artillery
Formation HQ Spot for an Artillery Bombardment? An M1 Abrams with Thermal Imaging
Bombardment? Yes, since the Unit must be capable of is 2”/5cm from a Smoke Screen. The
No. An HQ Transport cannot Spot for an firing an Artillery Bombardment to fire Abrams wants to fire through the
Artillery Bombardment. Laser-guided Projectiles, it cannot be smoke. How far can it see and Shoot?
shooting direct fire. Line of Sight through Smoke
SPECIAL AMMUNITION Bombardments is limited to 6”/15cm.
Can any Artillery Unit fire special Laser-guided Projectiles are Guided The Thermal Imaging rules do not change
ammunition like Minelets or Laser Weapons which can normally fire this. So in this case, the tank could fire
Guided Projectiles, or are they only at Helicopters. Can Laser-guided 4”/10cm into the Smoke Screen.
available to Units listing them on Projectiles fire at Helicopters?
their cards? No. The flight time of a Laser-guided If the Abrams was 8”/20cm away from
Projectile is too long for them to be effec- the Smoke Screen. How far can it see
They are only available to Units listing
tive against Helicopters. and Shoot?
them on their cards.
This situation is like a tank that is just
Laser-Guided Projectiles require an In the force building example, the outside it’s Terrain Dash but inside its
Observer team such as a FIST. Are M109 battery pays three points for its Cross Country Dash from an obstacle, in
they of any use if my FIST has been Bomblet munitions. The card shows that it can move up to the obstacle, but
knocked out? them as one point for the whole Unit. not attempt to cross it.
No they aren’t. Once your Observer team Well spotted. It should show them buying So the tank can see up to the Smoke
is gone, so is your ability to use Laser- Laser-Guided Munitions which are Screen, but since Line of Sight through
Guided Projectiles. +1 point per team (unlike Bomblet and it is limited to 6”/15cm, it cannot see
Minelet which are +1 point for the Unit). through it.
My artillery are firing Laser-Guided Note, some versions of the card also
Projectiles. My FIST is spotting for
them. How do I go about allocat-
have a glitch. They state that Minelets ASSAULTS
and Bomblets are +1 point per team,
ing hits? whereas they should be +1 point for the CHARGE INTO CONTACT
Treat it as if the FIST was shooting with whole unit. An Infantry team has Contacted the
ROF 1 for each gun firing, and allocate enemy if ‘its front edge is as close as it
the hits as normal. The first goes to the My artillery has Minelet ammunition can get to the enemy team’ or ‘its front
team being targeted by the FIST, with so places a Minefield for every three edge is as close as it can get to another
additional hits being allocated evenly to weapons firing. I have four guns. How Infantry team from its own Unit that
nearby teams. many Minefields do I place? is directly in Contact with an enemy
In reality, the artillery fire the projec- Two. One for the first three, and one for team.’ What does the phrase ‘as close as
tiles one at a time with an interval of the remaining part of three. it can get’ mean?
20 to 30 seconds, so that the FIST can What happens when One Shot weap- This phrase is used to cover all the phys-
switch targets and lase a new target for ons fail to Range In? Can they try again ical things that can prevent a team from
each round. next turn? being placed physically in contact with
another, such as a wall or hedge between
Yes they can. Until they actually fire the
them, or even irregularities in the table
Bombardment, they still have enough
ammunition to try again.
7
surface. Basically, if you can’t fit them any Can a Tank contact the enemy by Does getting Pinned Down by some-
closer together than they are, then they moving into contact with another tank thing like being hit by a Minefield or
are in Contact. that is in Contact with the enemy? the Defensive Fire of a Flame-thrower
No. Only Infantry teams can Contact force my assaulting Unit to Fall Back
I want to assault an enemy Team and end the assault?
the enemy through a friendly team,
behind a hedge or wrecked tank. How
and only if that friendly team is also an No. The only thing that forces you to Fall
close to the enemy Team do I need to
Infantry team. Back is taking a sufficient number of hits
be to launch the Assault?
from Defensive Fire. A single hit that
There’s no set distance for this. You must Do I have to Charge into Contact with Pins Down a Unit will not do that.
be able to move into Contact with the the closest enemy team?
enemy Team by moving 4”/10cm or No you don’t. You can Charge into If a tank charges a gun with the
less. If there is nothing between the your Contact with any enemy team that is Forward Firing rule from slightly off to
Assaulting Team and the Team being close enough, but you must take the short- the side, it will hit the front at an angle
charged, then your Assaulting Team est route to Contact that team. and, because a small part of the tank is
would need to be within 4”/10cm of the behind the front of the gun, it will now
enemy Team to Charge into Contact. If an enemy team Charged into technically be out of the gun’s Field of
In the case where there is an obstacle Contact with the rear of my team, is Fire, preventing the gun from shooting
physically preventing your Assaulting that team in Contact with the team in Defensive Fire. Is this right?
Team from actually touching the enemy that Charged it when I Counterattack? While it is technically correct, it makes
Team, then your Assaulting Team would Does the team move when Charging no sense as it would essentially prevent
only need to be within 4”/10cm of the into Contact? Forward Firing guns from shooting in
obstacle, since after moving 4”/10cm If an enemy team is in Contact with Defensive Fire in most situations.
while Charging into Contact it would be your team, then your team is already A better interpretation of the rule is that
in Contact with (as close as it can physi- in Contact with that enemy team. if the tank was a valid target at the start
cally get to) the enemy Team. That means that it does not move when of its Charge into Contact, and is still at
Charging into Contact. least partly in front of the gun’s base when
Does that allow an Infantry team that
When I assault troops in a building, it makes Contact with a defending team,
is 4”/10cm behind another Infantry
do I have to go through the doors and then the gun can shoot in Defensive Fire.
team that is already in Contact to
Charge into Contact? windows? Can the gun then use its Anti-tank
Yes. As long as its 4”/10cm move brings Yes. The walls are Impassable Terrain, so rating against the tank’s Side Armour
it into Contact with the enemy (wheth- you can’t move or fight through them. rating when it counterattacks, or does
er directly or by Contacting a fellow it have to use the default Anti-tank
DEFENSIVE FIRE
Infantry team), it can charge. 2 against Top Armour?
If my Infantry teams are stationary in
Again, while the tank is not technically
If my Infantry team doesn’t have Flat Terrain, and therefore Concealed,
in its Field of Fire (the requirement for
enough movement to physically touch can they use the Sneaking Up on Tanks
using the gun’s Anti-tank rating), if the
the enemy team, but moves as close rule to prevent the Tank teams that
tank was in the gun’s Field of Fire for
as it can given its charge move, is it in they are Assaulting from performing
Defensive Fire and still has at least part
Contact? Defensive Fire?
of the tank in front of the gun’s base, then
No. It is still not as close as it can possi- No. The Infantry must be Concealed by it should be in the gun’s Field of Fire for
bly get to the enemy team, so it is not in Short or Tall Terrain. this purpose as well.
Contact.
Can my Guided anti-tank missiles fire
If I can just get a corner of my team in Defensive Fire?
ASSAULT COMBAT
into Contact is that enough? If I have two teams in Contact with
No. Defensive Fire requires that you shoot
No. The rules require the front edge to be two enemy teams and both of enemy
at a target within 8”/20cm, while missiles
in contact, not a corner. teams score hits, can I allocate both
can’t shoot at targets within 8”/20cm, so
hits to the same team?
you can’t do it.
Do I have to Contact the front edge No. You must spread the hits around if
of the enemy team, or can I contact it Do Helicopters get to do defensive fire there are multiple teams that are eligible
anywhere? in assaults? targets.
You can Contact any part of the enemy No, Flying Aircraft play no part in
team with the front edge of your team, If I have an Infantry team and a Tank
assaults.
the front, side, or rear of its base, or even team, both in Contact with an enemy
a corner of its base. rifle team and an enemy RPG team,
can I allocate the RPG hit to the
Do I need to be square to the enemy Infantry team and the rifle team’s hit to
team’s base when I Contact them? the Tank team?
No. You stop when you Contact them, Yes. Presumably the Infantry team were
and may or may not be square on to them attempting to protect the Tank team from
at that point. the RPG, and kept it away from the Tank
team, but died in the process.
8
My RPG anti-tank teams have the My Tank assaulted two Infantry teams, My troops are surrounded by enemy
Assault 5+ special rule. What does one inside a building and one outside. infantry when they need to Break Off.
this mean? They destroyed the team that was Can they move through the infantry to
It means that instead of hitting on a 4+ outside. Have I won the assault since get away?
in Assaults like the larger AK-74 teams, there are no more teams that they can If that is the shortest path to safety, then
the small RPG teams hit on a roll of 5+. Contact with a 4”/10cm move (since yes they can.
the building is Impassable to my Tank)?
How do my infantry kill tanks in Yes. There are no more teams that you can My Infantry Unit has to Break Off after
assaults? assault, so you have won the assault. being assaulted by a Tank. They are all
Infantry that hit a tank in an Assault may in a Building, which is Impassable to
either use their normal Anti-tank rating BREAKING OFF the Tank, so do they have to run out of
against a tank’s Side armour or Anti- I have two Units ready to launch the building?
tank 2 against its Top armour. Using assaults on an enemy Infantry unit. My No. When Breaking Off, you must move
weapons like the RPG or Carl Gustav first Unit assaults and is forced to Break until you are 6”/15cm from all Assaulting
can be very effective against lighter vehi- Off. My other Unit is within 6”/15cm teams. However, if you are in, or enter a
cles like the Leopard 1 or T-55, but have of the victorious defending Infantry place where no Assaulting teams could
limited effect against heavy tanks like the unit. Does it have to Break Off as well, reach you with a 6”/15cm move due to
Leopard 2 or T-80. Against these infan- or can it still launch its own assault? Impassable Terrain, you do not need to
try in the open can only endure and hope Only Units that were part of the assault move further away.
the tanks break off before the infantry’s can be forced to Break Off. Since you
own determination to counterattack fails. If I Counterattack against a team in a
cannot assault with two Units at the Minefield, do I risk getting hit by it?
same time, your second Unit cannot have
COUNTERATTACK Yes, even if the models didn’t move, they
been part of the assault, so does not need are still moving around in a minefield.
I have passed my roll to Counterattack. to Break Off.
Can I add additional teams into the
Assault, or am I limited to those teams
Unless the defenders Consolidate away CONSOLIDATION
from your second Unit (so that it can Can an Infantry Unit that is Pinned
already involved?
no longer Charge into Contact), it can Down Consolidate towards visible
You are limited to those teams already launch its own assault once the first
involved in the assault. That means only enemy teams?
is over. Yes it can. The restriction against moving
the teams that originally assaulted on the
attacker’s side and those originally within An enemy Tank Unit assaults my towards visible enemy teams while
8”/20cm of them on the defender’s side. infantry and forces them to Break Pinned Down does not apply while
Off. I have tanks within 6”/15cm of Consolidating.
If my defending Unit passes its the assaulting teams, do my tanks also
Motivation test to Counterattack, can BUILDINGS
need to Break Off?
it Charge into Contact with teams How should I handle multiple storey
Yes they do. As the defender in the assault,
from other Units on the attacking buildings?
all of your teams within 8”/20cm of an
player’s side? The easiest way to handle it in the case
assaulting team are part of the assault.
No. Neither player may bring additional That makes your tanks part of the assault of small buildings is just treat them as
teams into the assault. On the attacking (and thus able to shoot in Defensive Fire) one space that can fit more Teams than a
player’s side, only the teams that initially even though the assaulting tanks cannot single-storey building.
assaulted are in the fight. On the defend- directly attack them. So, when their If the building is particularly large, you
er’s side, only those within 8”/20cm of infantry support falls back, they do too. might want to break it up into a series of
them at the start of the assault are in rooms, treating each room as a separate
the fight. My tanks failed their Counterattack building that can either be reached direct-
test and are Breaking Off. Directly ly from the outside (although moving into
When my Unit Counterattacks, can I behind them there is a hedge, but just an upstairs room from outside will not
move teams that have been Contacted off to the side is a gate. Do they have to normally be possible) or from the rooms
by the enemy? go back over the hedge and risk failing beside, above, or below it.
No. A team that is in Contact with the their Cross test and getting captured,
enemy, either because the enemy Charged
into Contact with them, or because the
or can they detour through the gate” MORALE
The rules are deliberately somewhat soft I have a Unit that started the game
team Charged into Contact with the on the matter. It would be silly to require
enemy, cannot move. It is already in with one tank. When does it have to
the tank to cross the hedge if it could take a Unit Morale test?
Contact with the enemy (because the move a few millimetres to the side and go
enemy is in Contact with it), and must A Unit only needs to take a Morale Test
through the gate, for instance. at the start of a turn when it had at
fight the enemy it is in Contact with
If a team can dodge an obstacle, it may least one team Destroyed or Bailed Out.
before seeking out other targets.
if you want it to. Whichever choice you So, your Unit would only need to test if
make, though, it must take the shortest the tank was Bailed Out and failed to
path to do so. Remount.
9
The phrase ‘only count teams that are On the other hand, if the Assault always need to roll on the Night Visibility
In Command’ under In Good Spirits in Landing Company is still mounted in Table when targeting a Strike Aircraft
Unit Morale only refers to the second the helicopters, and the helicopters aren’t at night.
part of the rule that lists how many landed, they will be carried off the table
teams you need to be In Good Spirits if with them and will be unable to return. My AA weapons have radar which
you’ve taken casualties, correct? isn’t affected by darkness. Why do I
have to roll on the Night Vision Table
Yes. Driving away from them doesn’t AIRCRAFT for them?
make the morale effect of the casualties Why do aircraft weapons have such
go away. While it is possible to put a radar-guided
short ranges? My AH-1 Cobra can only
AA weapon on automatic and tell it to
fire 8”/20cm with its M197 20mm
My unit had three tanks at the end of shoot down anything it doesn’t recog-
Vulcan Gatling gun for instance.
my last Movement Step and they were nise as friendly, this is very risky. IFF
all In Command. My opponent shot Aircraft shoot most of their weapons in a (Identification Friend or Foe) should pre-
two of them, leaving just one alive. ‘strafing run’ style of firing pass. While it vent accidents, but it really isn’t reliable
Are the two Destroyed tanks still In starts shooting some distance away, by the enough to trust without visual identifica-
Command? Do they stop me from time it finishes, the aircraft is very close tion as well. Hence the need to roll to see
needing to take a Morale test? to the target. Positioning the model at the how close the aircraft needs to get for you
end of its strafing run means that short- to properly identify it.
They aren’t In Command, they’re dead!
ranged weapons actually get a chance to
The unit only has one tank In Command, As an aside, many of the AA weapons in
shoot at it.
so needs to take a Morale test. Team Yankee don’t actually have radar
Why does the Mi-24 Hind’s AT-6 only guidance. Their radar is purely for calcu-
A Transport Unit with just one team lating the range to the target.
have a range of 20” while the TOW has
remaining would need to take a Unit
a range of 48”?
Morale test at the start of each turn.
Does it still need to do so if I Send it It reflects the Hind flying toward the SPECIAL RULES
to the Rear? target while guiding the missile in a form If a special armour like the Bazooka
of strafing run. Skirts on the Leopard 1 or the Chobham
Yes. They are still disturbed by the
If we gave the missile the range it would Armour on the Marder 2 would
number of casualties they’ve taken and
have at the point of firing, then the increase its Side Armour above its
are likely to be reluctant to return to the
helicopter would never (in the game) Front Armour, does it also increase the
front when called upon.
approach the target, leaving it invulner- Front Armour?
A Formation is In Good Spirits if it has able to short-ranged AA weapons that Yes it does. The Armour rating is the
two Units still in existence. Can the it would in reality come very close to or better of the basic Armour rating and
HQ be one of those? pass over. that provided by the special armour.
Yes it can, although it doesn’t have to be. Instead, we give the missile the range of
Can a weapon with Overhead Fire
the end of the firing pass as the missile
Do the Units need to be In Good shoot at Aircraft?
hits the target and breaks off. This puts it
Spirits to keep their Formation In No. These weapons are usually light mor-
in the correct place for anti-aircraft fire
Good Spirits? tars and grenade launchers that lob shots
in the game.
No, they just have to still be in existence. at the enemy. Their rounds move way too
slowly to hit an Aircraft.
Can Independent Teams be part of a NIGHT
Formation? Can you count them as Thermal Imaging appears to work as A Guided weapon (such as an ITOW
Units to keep the Formation In Good well for an M1 Abrams’ machine-guns missile) can only shoot infantry if
Spirits? as it does its main gun. Is this correct? they are stationary and in Bulletproof
No, they are never part of a Formation. This would apply to AA fire as well, Cover. Can it shoot at infantry that has
then, wouldn’t it? just entered a building?
If my Mi-24 Assault Helicopter Yes. It keeps the rules simple. No. The target must not have moved
Company fails a Unit Morale Test and in their turn (otherwise they aren’t
is destroyed, is my Assault Landing In a game played at night, a Strike stationary).
Company removed from the game? Aircraft fired in its previous turn, then
No they aren’t. If an Infantry Unit fails departed the table as usual. This turn The VADS and Shilka cards seem to
a Morale Test or is destroyed, then its the Strike Aircraft returns, and my indicate the Radar rule allows them
Transport Attachment (i.e. its BMP or AA weapons want to shoot at it. Do to ignore the long range penalty on all
M113 transport vehicles) are removed as I have to roll on the Night Visibility shots, not just against aircraft?
well. However, the reverse doesn’t apply, Table to see it, or does the rule about No, both lines refer to shooting at
so having the helicopters fail a Morale not needing to roll because it shot in its Aircraft. The text was shortened to fit on
Test does not result in the removal of previous turn apply? the card from the full rule on page 69 of
their Infantry Attachment (the Assault Since the Aircraft departed the table the Team Yankee rulebook.
Landing Company). between the last time it shot and now,
it would not make sense for its previous
shooting to reveal its presence. So, you
10
BUILDING A FORCE Can passengers in a Transport take or Can I put the Infantry of a BMP
dispute an Objective? Motor Rifle Company on the table
I have a T55AM2 Tank Battalion
Yes they can, unless the Transport is an and place their BMP fighting vehicles
entirely equipped with T-55AM2
Aircraft that is Flying. in Ambush?
tanks. The T-55 Tank Company
occupies the same black box as the Yes. That is a Soviet tactic, forming a
In missions like Free-for-All that have mobile tank-hunter group to support
T-55AM2 Tank Company. Can I take alternating deployment, can I ‘deploy’
a T-55 Tank Company as Formation their infantry. Basically, you can put
my Aircraft to effectively skip my turn any unit you could deploy on table in
Support? to deploy? Ambush.
Yes. You do not have any T-55 Tank No. Aircraft must be your last deployment
Companies in your Force, so you can take after all other Units have been deployed. MEETING ENGAGEMENTS
one as Formation Support.
The rules for Meeting Engagements
HOLDING OBJECTIVES require the first player’s Helicopters
Can I take an M60 Patton Tank
Platoon Unit as part of an M60 Patton Can I place an Objective partly under a to Loiter on their first turn. As many
Tank Company Formation, and then building or a hedge? Helicopters cannot fire on the move,
take another M60 Patton Platoon as No. An Objective must be placed flat this effectively costs them their second
Formation Support? on the table or on a piece of terrain. It turn’s shooting as well. Can they stay
No. You may not take a Unit of the cannot be placed under terrain. on table, and just not shoot?
same type (that is the same name) as you When do you check if a Unit is The rule as written unduly penalises
already have in your Force as Formation Holding an Objective? Can a Team Hunter-Killer Helicopters, so yes they can
Support. that started the turn Bailed Out, but start the game on the table, but cannot
then Remounted Hold an Objective? shoot in the first player’s first turn.
If I take two Formations, can I take
Support Units for both of them? Could A Team triggers the Holding the RESERVES
I take two lots of aircraft for instance? Objective rule after you have Checked
How do I work out my Reserves if I
No. You must choose a Force Diagram as Victory Conditions. If its still there and
have spent less then the permitted
the basis of your Force. This determines not Bailed Out, then you’ve met the first
maximum points on my force?
what Support is available to you. You criteria of starting the turn with a Team
on the Objective. Now all you need to The important point to remember is that
can take as many Formations as you like you are allowed 60% of the permitted
within this Force, but they all share the do to Hold the Objective is end the turn
with no opposing teams within 4”/10cm maximum points value on table at the
same Support. start of a game with Reserves. So, if your
of the Objective.
If I take an Allied Formation, can I take force is smaller, it just means that your
Support Units from both nationalities? The Holding Objectives rule says that Reserves will be less than the remain-
a Team that moved at Dash speed ing 40%.
No. You must choose a Force Diagram
cannot take an Objective nor prevent
from one country or the other to base your How do my troops arrive from
the enemy from taking it. How does
force on, and can only take options shown Reserves? Can I just place them on the
this work?
on that diagram (including the Allied edge of the table and begin shooting?
Formation option). Since Support Units What it means is that an opposing Team
that only came within 4”/10cm of the Teams arriving from Reserve move on
are only found in the Force Diagram from the edge of the table. Simply pick a
(and not in Formation Diagrams), the Objective in its turn by moving at Dash
speed cannot stop you from Holding the point on the table edge and measure their
only Support Units available are those movement from there.
from the principal nationality. Objective in your turn. If you end your
turn with no other enemy teams within Are Independent Teams (such as artil-
4”/10cm, you Hold the Objective.
MISSIONS lery observers) affected by the Deep
All infantry are in Foxholes at the start How do I Hold or contest an Objective Reserves special rule that restricts a
of the game. Does this include infantry if it is surrounded by Destroyed tanks player to one Tank Unit with Front
that deployed in No Man’s Land using and I can’t get within 4”/10cm of it? armour 4 or more or one Aircraft Unit
the Spearhead rule? on table at the start of the game?
If the Objective is such a tank graveyard
Yes it does. that your models cannot be placed within No. They can be on the table in addition
4”/10cm of it, treat them as being within to the one Unit allowed by the Deep
DEPLOYMENT 4”/10cm of it if they are as close to the Reserves rule.
Can I deploy my Infantry units with- Objective as they can get. Are Formation HQ Units affected by
out their Transports (either Tank or the Deep Reserves special rule?
Helicopter Transport teams)? AMBUSHES
Yes. The restriction applies to all Units
Yes you can. Use the left Out of Battle Do Helicopters limit where enemy (apart from Independent teams), regard-
rule to leave them out of the game if you Ambushes can be placed in the same less of their function.
want to deploy your Infantry Unit with- way that Tank or Infantry teams do?
out their Transport Attachment. Yes they do. My opponent has ended up with
Infantry teams all along the area where
my Reserves arrive, leaving no room
11
for my Reserves to arrive without going When a team moves using a Blitz Move
within 2”/5cm of their teams. What movement order, do they still need to
happens to my Reserves? take Cross tests and test to see if they
Since the battlefield doesn’t suddenly end got hit by a Minefield?
at the edge of the table, the obvious solu- Yes. All the normal movement rules apply
tion is to move some of the opposing teams while making a Blitz Move. The only
back just enough to allow the Reserves on difference is that once you’ve finished the
to the table so that they can try to fight Blitz Move, you don’t count as having
their way through the infantry. moved for things that happen afterwards.
When a team removes a Minefield
STRATEGIC WITHDRAWAL
(instead of Moving) using a Mine
When in the Starting Step do I with-
Clearing Order, is that Minefield
draw a Unit in a game of Rearguard?
removed right away or at the end of the
Can I still withdraw it if it failed a
Movement Step?
Morale Check?
It is removed immediately.
Withdraw Units after Checking Victory
Conditions. If a Unit is still on table at When I place Minefields, can I overlap
that point, you can withdraw it. them to make a Unit trying cross them
roll a Skill test for each Minefield?
SPEARHEAD No. Teams also only roll one Skill Test
A Spearhead Unit was deployed in to cross the Minefields safely. However,
No-Man’s Land close to another a Team who successfully removes a
Spearhead Unit, rather than moving Minefield, only removes one, even if they
there from it’s Deployment Area. Can are in several.
other Units use the Spearhead rule to
What happens if a Unit deploys in
deploy near it?
a Minefield (or has Artillery drop a
Yes. The Spearhead rule does not remem-
Minelet Minefield over it)?
ber how a Unit got where it is when
The Unit is fine as long as it does not
deploying further Units.
move. However, if it moves or counter
When deploying a Unit in the area attacks if assaulted, it will have to test for
around a Spearhead Unit, what does casualties like any other Unit crossing a
the rule prohibiting placing the unit in Minefield.
a place that the Spearhead Unit cannot
If a Unit deployed in a Minefield (or
go mean?
has Artillery drop a Minelet Minefield
Units deploying around the Spearhead
placed over it), how does it go about
Unit need to be able to move from the
clearing it?
Spearhead Unit’s location to their deploy-
It moves ‘into’ the Minefield (i.e. out of
ment location. So you can’t deploy your
its carefully prepared defences, or across
Unit across impassable terrain like a
the surrounding minelets) testing to do so
river or cliff.
as normal. Then in the next turn (having
If my Spearhead Unit were armoured moved into the Minefield on a previous
cars (which cannot enter a building), turn as required by the rules), the Unit
can I place an Infantry Unit in a build- Leader issues a Mine Clearing order and
ing beside the Spearhead Unit? the Minefield is removed.
Yes. Although the armoured cars cannot
If I Counterattack against a team in a
actually enter the buildings, infantry
Minefield, do I risk getting hit by it?
following their spearhead can deploy in
Yes, even if the models didn’t move, they
the buildings.
are still moving around in a minefield.
MINEFIELDS
If a Team starts its Move in a Minefield
(as opposed to moving into it), does it
still need to roll a Skill test?
Yes. Any time a Team Move into, through,
or out of a Minefield, it needs to roll a
Skill test to avoid being Hit by it.
12
Book and Card Updates
This section has updates to the various Team Yankee army books and their associated cards.
13
However, an Assault Helicopter Company have more than one Air Assault Aircraft How do the teams of my Motor Rifle
can carry a small Air Assault Company, unit in the force, this limits your on table Company divide between all of the
so that’s one option for moving a small force to Units with the Air Assault special BMP transports?
rapid-reaction force around the table. rule with a maximum of one Aircraft There’s no particular way you have to do
As the Assault Helicopter Company is a Unit on table. This is an attacking for- it. In training, each of the large teams
separate Unit, rather than a Transport mation, so it is inadvisable to choose the (PKM and SA-14) had their own vehi-
Attachment to the infantry, it can carry Defend Battle Plan for it. cle. The remaining teams pair up with
whoever it needs to carry. This allows you one AK-74 and one RPG-7 team in each
The AT-3 Sagger missile on the BMP-1
to move a larger Air Assault Company by vehicle, with the spare AK-74 team (the
was an old manually-flown system
mounting it in the helicopters of several Unit Leader) having a BMP all to itself.
unlike the semi-automatic systems used
Assault helicopter Companies.
by more modern missiles. Shouldn’t it
What happens when a Formation with be less accurate?
the Air Assault special rule defends in The AT-3 Sagger was significantly
a mission with the Deep Reserves spe- upgraded between its first use in the
cial rule? 1973 Yom Kippur War and the 1980s,
Units with the Air Assault rule can only becoming a modern semi-automatic mis-
be placed in Reserve if all of the Units sile in the process.
on table have the Air Assault rule. If you
14
FREE NATIONS
FRENCH UNITS Enemy Anti-aircraft, Anti-helicopter, ANZAC SPECIAL RULES
AMX-30 ESCADRON BLINDÉ, and Infantry weapons Shoot at a Gun RECOILLESS
AMX-30 PELETON BLINDÉ Slinger helicopter after it Shoots in its
A Team firing a Recoilless weapon cannot
own turn (instead of before when nor-
20mm M693 gun should be 20mm be Concealed if it shot in its previous
mally shooting at Aircraft).
M693 MG. It can shoot at the same time Shooting Step.
as the 7.62mm AA MG. NETHERLANDS UNITS M113 (T50 TURRET) TRANSPORT
FRENCH SPECIAL RULES YPR-765 PANTSERINFANTERIE The .50 cal and 7.62mm MGs have the
PELETON Anti-Helicopter rule.
GUN SLINGER
The whole Unit gas Thermal Imaging.
A Gun Slinger helicopter can use Tall
terrain for Concealment (see page 42 of
Team Yankee), and can remain Gone to
Ground while moving.
OIL WAR
ISRAELI UNITS IRANIAN QUESTIONS make a Basij Assault, I cannot have any
M109 SP ARTILLERY BATTERY I have a force with more than 60% Basij Assault units in Reserve. What
of its points of Basij Assault units in happens?
Direct Fire Range is 36”/90cm.
a game with Reserves. If I choose to Since you must have Basij Assault units
IRANIAN UNITS in Reserve to meet the Reserve rule, you
M113 MECHANISED GROUP cannot meet the requirement to make a
Basij Assault (i.e. no Basij Assault units
• Add 1x SA-7 Grail AA missile team
in Reserve), so cannot conduct a Basij
and M113 transport for +1 point.
Assault. Pick the Attack Battle Plan to
allow you to attack without Reserves.