UX Metrics and ROI
UX Metrics and ROI
5 th
Edition
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Table of Contents
Executive Summary 6
Average UX Improvements. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6
UX Improvements Are Shrinking . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7
What’s New in the 5th Edition. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 9
UX Metrics 10
Quantitative vs. Qualitative Data. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10
Why Quantitative Data Helps UX teams. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11
Using Quantitative Data for UX . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13
Methods and Metrics. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 14
Combining Quantitative and Qualitative Data. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 21
CASE STUDIES 65
Acknowledgements 292
Executive Summary
A UX metric is a piece of numerical data that tells us about some aspect of the user experience of
a product or service. These metrics can be invaluable, helping teams to assess the quality of their
designs and track improvements over time. In some cases, they can be used to demonstrate how
UX work can impact business goals.
This report includes 44 real-life case studies of how teams have used UX metrics in their work.
Many are success stories, demonstrating how well-founded and researched design decisions
have a huge impact. Some are not success stories — the impact on the design was neutral or
even negative. This is the reality of design work: we can’t always predict the impact on our users.
This fact underscores the continued need for iterative design work based on solid research.
AVERAGE UX IMPROVEMENTS
From the case studies we accepted for the 5th edition, we collected a total of 80 pairs of metrics.
We included 76 of these pairs in our quantitative analysis. (The four metric pairs excluded were
outliers, with improvement scores of over 2,000%.)
Averaged across all organizations that reported metrics for our 5th edition, the average UX
improvement score was 75%, with a 95% confidence interval from 8% to 104%. In other words,
across all these organizations, the average redesign was 75% better than the original, for a
variety of metrics.
Does this mean that you should expect around a 75% improvement in your metrics when
redesigning your product? Possibly, but as the wide confidence interval shows, there is an
immense amount of variability in the data. In our data, half of the values were between 13%
and 157% (the interquartile range).
This doesn’t mean that we can expect 50% of all design projects will have an improvement score
within that range. It’s possible your own impact could be a 500% or 5,000% improvement, but
our data suggests that an improvement score that high is unusual.
We’ve addressed many of the biggest problems. In some cases, those were individual fixes for
specific problems. But as an industry, our collective knowledge has grown as well — we now
have a rich set of best practices and design patterns. Each individual designer can build on the
existing work of the designers that have gone before.
So, are all the world’s UX problems now fixed, and are all designs perfect? Certainly not. There’s
still substantial room for improvement for the majority of experiences. (Lucky for us, that means
we have great job security.) This finding simply shows that we’ve done a good job improving
experiences overall and addressing the most glaring problems.
We believe that those expectations will continue to rise in lockstep with the average quality of
experiences. (Again, this is good for UX professionals’ job security!) As a consequence, even small
improvements in the UX may be worth an organization’s time. This is even more true when you
consider that your competitors are likely improving their experiences as well (a UX arms race).
If these trends continue into the future, designs will continue to get better on average, and as a
result, UX interventions will continue to have small effects. However, we believe that those small
changes will continue to be more valuable because user expectations and standards will grow
ever higher as well.
Executive Summary
The need to make that argument still exists, and quantitative data can still help teams to show
that UX design is valuable. But it can also help to ensure that teams are doing UX design correctly
— making the right choices and having the right impact. In many cases, it can help teams fight for
a bigger budget or can help them change the way that UX is done.
While collecting the case studies for this edition, we invited nine teams for in-depth interviews
to discuss their project, challenges, and advice for others. The quotes, stories, and tips from those
teams are included throughout the report.
UX Metrics
UX Metrics
In this chapter, we’ll define many of the terms, practices, methodologies, and techniques used in
the case studies.
Consider the photo of the cappuccino below. How can we describe it?
We might say that the cappuccino has a leaf pattern in the froth, or that it’s served in a sage-
colored antique cup. We might quote what the person receiving the cappuccino says about it: “I
love the leaf, but this costs too much.”
Those descriptions of the item and the quote from the consumer are pieces of qualitative data.
In describing the cappuccino, we can also use measurements. Maybe its size is 12 ounces, its
temperature is 120 degrees Farenheight, and its cost is US$7.35.
UX Metrics
Those numbers that describe the item are pieces of quantitative data. Each one is a
measurement, with a number (120) and a unit (degrees Fahrenheit).
A UX metric is a piece of numerical data that tells us about some aspect of the user experience of
a product or service. When conducting quantitative research for UX, we focus on collecting these
UX metrics.
However, quantitative data can be extremely valuable for UX work as well. It can help us understand
the scale of UX problems — in other words, how many people are impacted by it or how severe
a problem it is. Quantitative data can help us prioritize the UX issues we want to solve. It can also
provide opportunities for design experimentation, particularly through A/B testing.
But perhaps the most valuable aspect of quantitative data is its ability to impress stakeholders
and to demonstrate the value of UX.
In large organizations, many leaders are themselves evaluated in a very quantitative way to
assess the impact of their leadership choices. Nora Fiore, UX Writer at Marketade, said she
felt like the numbers were a “corporate security blanket” for executives. Metrics and data
visualizations are very shareable, compelling elements to send around an organization and, in
particular, to share with superiors.
“I’ve gone into client meetings where I state the goals of a project
in a very qualitative way (‘I want to improve this thing,’ or, ‘Make
this thing easier’), and the executive says, ‘Well, I want to see
the numbers. Tell me, how is this going to track to our annual
goal of 20% fewer call-ins? How are you going to test this?’
It’s funny how just showing a before and after lift can make
a difference to people. I think there’s a psychological
component to it, like a corporate security blanket. That
executive thinks, ‘Ok, now I’ve got something to show my
superior. I can say that this is tracking to our goal.’”
In this way, UX metrics can be impressive on their own, simply by being a numerical
representation of an improvement. But when those numbers can be connected to a business
KPI (like revenue or cost savings), that can take the metrics a step further by showing how UX
changes can impact the bottom line. Clearly linking UX to business success is an extremely
effective way to argue for more UX work, or a larger UX team. (These calculations are discussed in
the chapter on ROI.)
UX Metrics
Qualitative methods are often used for this type of evaluation, but quantitative data can be used
here as well. For example, A/B testing is commonly used as a formative evaluation: two or more
alternative versions of a design are tested on the live site to see which version has the best
impact on desirable UX metrics.
A summative evaluation of an experience often happens at the end of one design project cycle,
before the beginning of the next one. It is often quantitative and usually involves collecting
UX metrics to evaluate the success of the project. In other words, it is used to summarize the
impact of the design changes made during the project. It describes how well a design performs
compared to what it used to be or, sometimes, compared to a competitor.
The case studies presented in this report are primarily summative, although we do include seven
case studies featuring A/B testing.
UX Metrics
When quantitative data is used in a summative evaluation to assess the quality of an experience,
that practice is often referred to as UX benchmarking.
Surveys
A quantitative survey simply involves asking a large number of users one or more questions.
Rating scale questions are often used in quantitative surveys. (For example, “How easy or difficult
was this task to complete?” on a scale from 1 to 7.)
Quantitative surveys are sometimes combined with quantitative usability testing (for example, to
gather user ratings for individual tasks) and sometimes used independently (usually distributed
online or via email to respondents).
The number of possible survey metrics is virtually unlimited since you can ask your
respondents anything.
Quantitative usability testing is often perceived as the most expensive and time-consuming
method for gathering UX metrics. It requires recruiting and testing a large number of participants.
(We often conduct these tests with at least 39 participants, although some experts give
recommendations of between 20–50 participants.) Beyond the amount of resources required
for such a large study, some teams struggle to find that many participants in the first place —
particularly if their user population is very rare or specialized.
UX Metrics
Analytics
Tools like Google Analytics, Adobe Analytics, or Pendo are used to gather analytics data — data
that describes what people are doing with the product in real life.
Analytics tools are good at capturing what people do — for example, where they click/tap, how
far down a page they scroll, how long they stay in an app, how often they return to a website. But
analytics data often lacks context; in other words, it isn’t a method that can usually tell you why
someone tapped on that portion of the screen and what they expected to happen.
Compared to quantitative usability testing, analytics is very uncontrolled. Unlike usability testing,
which is conducted using tasks given to the participant, analytics collects data about what
happens in the real world. We have no way to control other variables that might influence user
behavior, so it is sometimes difficult to attribute those metric changes to design changes.
For example, imagine that you’re working on an ecommerce site. You launch a new version of your
site just as your competitor unveils a huge sale. Your conversion rate might go down sharply, but
is that a result of your design change or your competitor’s sale or both? With analytics data alone,
you may not be able to tell.
The case studies for the 5th edition of this report were collected through the spring and summer
of 2020 — coincidently the same time that the coronavirus known as COVID-19 emerged from
China and spread throughout the world. The highly infectious disease caused massive global
quarantines in an effort to slow the spread. This is an extreme example of an uncontrollable
influence. It certainly impacted user preferences and behaviors in almost every industry and
context, and almost certainly influenced the analytics metrics collected in this report.
Despite the substantially uncontrollable nature of analytics data, it was by far the most commonly used
method in these case studies. Roughly two-thirds of the case studies we collected used analytics.
In most cases, the popularity of analytics is explained because, compared to other methods, it
is cheap and fast. Analytics does not require compensating or recruiting any participants. It
doesn’t require a facilitator’s time to plan and conduct a study.
As long as an analytics tool is already implemented in the product, it’s actively collecting massive
amounts of data all of the time. The UX team simply has to decide which metrics to look at and to
pull the right reports (though those activities can sometimes be time-consuming).
Kasasa 174
Starbucks College Achievement Plan (Arizona 210
State University)
The Deal (ExpandTheRoom) 217
Top 10 Online Casinoer 224
A/B Testing
A/B testing (sometimes called split testing) is a form of design experimentation using analytics
metrics as the dependent variables. In an A/B test, one or more design alternatives are shown
to live users on the site (usually without them being aware that they’re participating in an
experiment). An A/B testing tool then tracks each group’s behavior to see whether or not each
design change has an impact on user behaviors and choices. For example, an ecommerce site
might A/B test two alternative product page designs and see that version B is more persuasive
and leads to 12% more add-to-cart actions.
Conversions are usually used in A/B tests, and they’re often conducted as a formative evaluation
to test out different design ideas. As a consequence, A/B testing does not fall into the category of
benchmarking methodologies, even though it does involve collecting UX metrics.
Tree Testing
Tree testing is used to evaluate or compare information architectures. In a tree test, participants
are shown only the labels and structure of a hierarchy. They are given tasks and asked to try to
find the area of the hierarchy where they would expect to be able to complete the task.
UX Metrics
Customer support data are a useful source of UX metrics, particularly when they are numerical
representations of the struggles that customers have with the product. Teams will often look at
the number of help tickets for a specific task before and after a redesign.
Alchemy Cloud 87
Anonymous American Bank 96
Asiacell 115
Marketing departments can also be a source of metrics for estimating UX impact, as long as
the metrics of interest can be impacted by UX activities. For example, many marketing teams
calculate and track customer lifetime value: the average revenue collected over a long-term
relationship with a customer. When UX activities improve the quality of a product or service,
customers may stick around longer and spend more money, thus increasing the customer lifetime
value over time.
For mobile apps, app store ratings are a free source of satisfaction data. Major app stores allow
filtering of app store ratings by version so teams can easily see whether new versions have a
positive impact on user perceptions. These ratings are also extremely important, as higher ratings
may lead to more downloads and user acquisitions.
Asiacell 115
Deep Sentinel 133
UX Metrics
Often quantitative and qualitative data can be used in a cyclical way to uncover, understand,
assess, and fix UX problems.
For example, Marketade, a UX research agency, worked on the website for PetSmart Charities, a
nonprofit. They started with a qualitative usability test where they found problems around a key
task, signing up for the nonprofit’s newsletter.
To better understand how many people were being impacted by this problem, the Marketade
team turned to Google Analytics data. They found that 73% of users who began the process of
signing up for a newsletter abandoned the task before completing the process. This was a major
lost opportunity for engaging people, and it was impacting a huge number of their users.
In this example, the Marketade team started by finding a problem in qualitative research, and
then turned to quantitative data to find out how many people were impacted by the
problem. This is a common way that quantitative and qualitative data can be used together.
This can also happen in the opposite direction: sometimes teams discover a problem by using
their quantitative data (a large number of people failing a task, for example) and then turn to
qualitative research to help them understand why the problem is occurring, and how they can
correct it.
In some cases, teams decide to collect quantitative data purely because it is requested by
stakeholders or clients.
But benchmarking’s real power comes in when UX professionals show those results externally,
for example, to stakeholders or clients. Teams can demonstrate the impact of their UX work in a
concrete, unambiguous way.
Sometimes, those metrics are used to calculate return on investment (ROI) — an estimate used to
show stakeholders and clients how much they get in return for what they pay.
“To get [an anonymous large American bank] to start doing more
quantitative UX research, I basically used the design thinking
process to study the problem and build a solution.
I wanted to understand: who is suffering because of the lack
of data? Obviously, the customers are suffering. But also the
sprint teams (product managers, developers, designers) and the
business leaders were suffering. So I created a case for each of
those roles.
I interviewed these people and tried to understand why the
quantitative data didn’t exist. It came down to three things:
• Improper tooling
• A talent gap (a lack of expertise and even knowing that
you should be asking these research questions)
• Cultural incentives (teams were rewarded based on
shipping instead of outcomes)
I built a strategy to address all three of those problems. The core
value propositions I communicated were:
• We’ll generate business value (new revenue or cost-
savings prevention).
• We’ll improve customer satisfaction if we can improve
task success.
• We’ll win quickly and fail gracefully.
• We’ll measure team talent in the number of quantitative
tests we launch.
Getting Started with UX Benchmarking
BENCHMARKING STEPS
The first thing you’ll need to do is set up your benchmarking practice. You can do this in three steps:
1. Choose what to measure
2. Choose how to measure
3. Collect the first measurement
Benchmarking is a practice — ideally, once a team has decided what metrics they want to track,
and how, they will continue to collect those measurements over time. Some teams gather UX
metrics after each major iteration of the product or on an annual or semi-annual basis.
The remaining steps in the process (steps 4–7) can be repeated to continue to gather metrics
about the experience over time.
4. Redesign the product
5. Collect another measurement
6. Interpret findings
7. Calculate ROI (optional)
Getting Started with UX Benchmarking
Consider these examples from some of the case studies described in the report.
Once you know what tasks and features are most important in the product, decide what you want
to measure about them. We can use quantitative data to measure lots of aspects of the user
experience, for example:
• How much do users like our product or brand?
• How quickly or efficiently can users complete tasks with our product?
• How often do users return to and use our product?
• How easily can users find what they’re looking for within the product?
• How much or how little do users engage with the product overall or specific features?
Google’s HEART framework provides one way to structure and conceptualize different UX-related
metrics. We use an adapted form of the HEART framework, with Task effectiveness and efficiency
instead of Task success.
Getting Started with UX Benchmarking
Determining the most important metrics to measure may require sitting down with your
stakeholders to get alignment on goals. Try to understand your stakeholder’s priorities, and make
sure you choose a few UX metrics that could be related to business KPIs.
“I’ve noticed that some clients are not very good at establishing
meaningful metrics themselves. So often, they’re looking at
surface-level metrics like page views, the stuff that doesn’t feel
like it’s deep enough to really show a UX impact. They’re focused
on more traditional marketing metrics.
We take time with our clients and ask, ‘What are your goals? What
does success look like?’ Often, they’ll give really vague non-metric
answers, so we’ll try to help them make it measurable.”
However, as mentioned in the Method and Metrics section (page 14), benchmarking metrics can
also come from other places, such as tree testing, customer service, or marketing departments.
In many cases, the metrics you choose will dictate which metrics you should use. For example, if
you decide that user satisfaction ratings will be an important part of your benchmarking practice,
you’ll have to use surveys — there’s no other way to obtain that metric.
Ideally, you’ll pair a survey (to get self-reported metrics) with a behavioral, observational method
(quantitative usability testing or analytics) to get a holistic view of the user experience.
Example: HelloFesh
HelloFresh’s UX team generated a group of important core tasks for their meal kit delivery app. To
start their UX benchmarking practice, they decided to use quantitative usability testing combined
with surveys to collect the following metrics for each key task:
• Time on task
• Success rate
• Subjective success rate
• SUS score
• Ease-of-use rating
• Confidence rating
Getting Started with UX Benchmarking
As you gather your first set of measurements, consider external factors that may affect your
data. For example, imagine you’re benchmarking an ecommerce website using analytics to collect
sales metrics. If your main competitor starts a big sale right as you implement your new design,
your sales could plummet — but it might not be the fault of your design.
One measurement of your site is not likely to be meaningful by itself. Even if you’ve just started
your benchmarking program and you don’t have prior data to compare to, you can still make
comparisons against competitors, an industry benchmark, or a stakeholder-determined goal.
Example: HelloFresh
on task for a mobile game. In an expense-reporting app, users want to get their tasks done
as quickly as possible, so a decreased time-on-task is desirable. However, for a mobile game,
designers want people to enjoy the game and choose to spend more time playing — in that
scenario, the design team hopes for an increase in the amount of time users spend in the app.
Confounding Variables
Ideally, benchmarking studies should be clean, controlled experiments where the only thing
that changes (the independent variable) is the design. When that happens, you can be quite
confident that any corresponding shifts in the UX metrics (the dependent variables) are due to
your design decisions.
Unfortunately, it isn’t always possible for us to keep our benchmarking studies clean and
controlled. It may actually be impossible, depending on your methodology and study setup.
Analytics, in particular, can be messy because you’re collecting your data based on what happens
in the real world. For example, are your analytics metric changes due to your design decisions,
or are they due to your competitor going out of business around the same time? Sometimes it’s
difficult or impossible to tell.
The best thing to do is to be aware of these external factors (confounding variables) that might
mess up your experiment. Try to avoid them when planning your study. However, it isn’t always
possible to avoid those external factors. For example, the 2020 COVID-19 global pandemic hit right
as we began collecting case studies for this report. A few case-study respondents who had used
analytics metrics mentioned it in their submission as a possible (and likely) confounding variable.
“We started this test on March 18th, right when the COVID
pandemic hit Europe and, soon after, the United States. One of
our challenges was collecting the data while widespread usage
of the internet was changing in big ways.”
If you can’t avoid them, make sure you consider any potential confounding variables when
drawing conclusions from your data. You’ll also need to make sure you include those factors in
your reporting. You may worry that mentioning those confounding variables will undermine your
credibility, but the opposite is true — your audience will feel more confident that your results are
realistic, not a sales pitch.
Getting Started with UX Benchmarking
“For one client, we made a copy of copy changes and ran a few
A/B tests. But we had to factor in the seasonality, particularly
because we ran it over the Thanksgiving break.
We had to be very transparent with our client and say, ‘We may
not be able to take full credit for this. There were a lot of factors
involved.’ And I think that transparency actually worked
better than I was anticipating.
They said, ‘This is great, based on these numbers, we do
suspect that it’s better. Thank you for being honest, we’re
happy with this lift.’”
Statistical Significance
You shouldn’t take your metrics at face value since the sample used for your study is likely much
smaller than the entire population of your users. For that reason, you will need to use statistical
methods to see whether any visible differences in your data are real or due to random noise. This
usually involves calculating statistical significance for each pair of metrics you’re comparing.1 If
a difference is statistically significant, it’s reliable from a statistics standpoint — in other words, it
probably isn’t due to random chance.
If the new design is truly different than the old, you stand a better chance of detecting that
difference and having a statistically significant result if you conduct your quantitative study with
the correct number of participants. This is one reason why it’s very important to meet minimum
sample size guidelines. We had to reject several case study submissions because they did not
use large enough samples. For example, one submission involved a “quantitative” usability test
conducted with only 5 participants. We often recommend using at least 20–40 participants for
quantitative usability studies.2
Example: HelloFresh
Consider the following results from HelloFresh’s quantitative usability testing for the task of
finding a recent order in the app.
1
For help calculating statistical significance in your UX research projects, we recommend our full-day course,
How to Interpret UX Numbers. We also recommend two books: Measuring the User Experience by Tom Tullis and Bill Albert;
and Quantifying the User Experience by Jeff Sauro and James Lewis.
2
For guidance on sample size guidelines and explanations of their origins, we recommend Jeff Sauro’s website, measuringu.com.
Getting Started with UX Benchmarking
In summary, time on task decreased, success rate increased, and SUS rating increased. If these
differences were statistically significant, the HelloFresh team could be very confident that the new
design made users faster, happier, and more successful with this task.
One of the biggest mistakes that people make when reporting quantitative data is that they just
throw the data at their audience and expect them to draw conclusions.
Always center the data within a story. Tell the audience or readers what you believe the main
takeaway is and use the data to support that argument. Cite your quantitative data sparingly and
only when they’re directly relevant. Tailor your tables and charts to support the story.
“The essence of this is narrative. You can’t just spit out numbers;
you have to tell a good story about it.
Be very disciplined in the story you’re telling. What is the
messaging you want to give around this? How did this start? Why
did we do it? What have we been tracking? How can you see the
message in multiple ways?”
Be warned, it’s possible that the outcome of your benchmarking study won’t be exactly what
you expected or wanted. It’s certainly possible to find that your design is worse than your
competitor, or that the new design is the same or worse than the old one. We even have a few
case studies in this report with those outcomes.
While that may not feel like good news, information is always valuable. Try to see the upside. If
you realize you’re worse than your competitors, then you have ammunition to make an argument
to your stakeholders that you need to improve. If you realize your new design is worse than the old,
then you’ve caught that mistake before it could cause more damage. Maybe you can roll back to the
previous design. This should be a moment where you realize that, somewhere along the line, your
understanding of your users may have been flawed. It’s time for more qualitative research.
“Some design changes will have a big effect on the metrics you’re
tracking, and some won’t. A quantitative study helps us separate
those concerns and purely judge aspects like performance and
whether it increases or not.”
But if your interpretation is positive, that’s a great feeling. You have quantitative data that
suggests that you and your team are making the right choices. Share those results throughout
your organization and with your stakeholders. In some cases, you might want to take that positive
result a step further and calculate return on investment (ROI).
Calculating ROI is extremely beneficial, though not widely practiced by UX professionals (perhaps
because relating your UX metric to a KPI is often convincing enough). In any case, if you struggle
to prove UX impact, calculating ROI can be persuasive.
The following section outlines how to calculate ROI using your benchmarking data.
ROI: Demonstrating the Value of UX
As UX professionals, we see inherent value in improving the experiences of products and services. But
many people don’t see it that way. And sometimes, those people make decisions about your funding.
If you need to demonstrate the value of your design efforts, one of the most effective methods is
to calculate your return on investment (ROI). Essentially, you need to show how your design
changes impact the bottom line — revenue, cost savings, or another key performance indicator (KPI).
Often, ROI calculations involve connecting UX metrics to KPIs, but that isn’t always necessary.
Consider who you’ll be presenting these results to — what do they care most about? If you work
for a nonprofit museum that prioritizes outreach to as many community members as possible, a
monetary calculation may not be necessary. Instead, you might see if you can connect your UX
improvements to increases in visits.
There are plenty of online ROI calculators that will do your work for you, but they can help only if
your scenario is exactly the one that the calculator is designed for.
It’s worth learning how to determine your own ROI conversion ratio and performing the
calculation yourself. Once you acquire this skill, you can apply it beyond the more obvious
scenarios and use it to calculate and demonstrate improvement for any project.
We’re working on the registration process for online accounts for our health-insurance policyholders.
We know from qualitative research that people often struggle to register for their accounts.
ROI: Demonstrating the Value of UX
In our benchmarking study, we might decide to collect several of these metrics, along with others
that describe the experience of the entire site. However, we’ll probably only use one of these UX
metrics in our ROI calculation.
Or, more specifically, think about who you’ll be presenting this ROI calculation to. Stakeholders,
executives, clients? What do they care about?
Emily Williams, UX Researcher at Marketade, told us about some of her previous experiences in
other industries and job roles. She started working in UX in the oil industry, and she calculated
the ROI of UX work at two different oil companies.
Despite working on similar projects in similar companies and the same industry, Emily found that
she always had to tailor her ROI calculations to her stakeholders. She recommends studying
your stakeholders in the same way you’d study your users — find out what matters to them and
what they’ll respond to.
ROI: Demonstrating the Value of UX
“In the first oil company I started at, we did a project where we
were researching the engineers who essentially get the oil out of
the ground.
In that project, we found that they were spending so much time
on surveillance that it was negatively impacting production
goals. That was a statistic we could use to connect to business
priorities, and so we could tell stakeholders that engineers were
spending 70% on this task, and that was hurting productivity.
Then I went to a different oil company and worked on the same
problem, but that same statistic didn’t resonate with them. So I
had to say, ‘Oh, OK, then what do you care about?’
And we found that the idea of data quality was much more
interesting to them. We ended up finding that when a certain
product caused estimates to be 10% off, that meant the
company was under- or overproducing oil, which was costing
millions of dollars.
The metrics that people latch onto are just as different as
the people that we work with.
What is the value of what we do? Do research on your
stakeholders. It’s helpful to have a big bag of tricks that you can
pull from; some things are going to stick with some people and
not others.
That’s the fun of it: How can I tell this story in a way that will
resonate with people?”
Key performance indicators depend on the specifics and the culture of the organization, but most
KPIs come down to money (even in nonprofits).
Examples of KPIs:
• Profit
• Cost
• Customer Lifetime Value (CLV)
• Employee-Turnover Rate (ETR)
• Employee productivity
• Donors & donor growth
ROI: Demonstrating the Value of UX
In most cases, you’ll be trying to turn your UX metric into a monetary amount. That isn’t always
necessary, however. Remember, ROI calculation is about showing how design impacts what
the company cares about. Sometimes that might mean, for example, calculating the amount of
time that is saved with a more efficient design.
Of course, in some organizations with high UX maturity, the KPI and the UX metric may be the
same — maybe everyone already cares a lot about reducing time on task. In those cases, ROI
calculations may be unnecessary because the work of proving the design’s value is already done!
So, what would you do if we asked you how many liters are in two gallons?
ROI: Demonstrating the Value of UX
The critical thing is to be transparent in your reporting. Make sure your audience understands
where your numbers came from. That’ll be useful in setting expectations but also in backing up
your calculation’s credibility.
You’ll also want to factor in the cost of the project itself. And remember, design improvements
are cumulative. That means that an improved design could give us $300,000 in new revenue this
year, but it’ll also likely provide the same increase the year after that. For that reason, it’s a good
idea to look at ROI projected out onto 2–5 years.
ROI: Demonstrating the Value of UX
We’ll want to make sure we include all of the important details in our reporting to our
stakeholders. For example:
“We observed a reduction in the number of support tickets for the registration task by 21,900
tickets. Assuming each support ticket costs us $6, that’s a projected savings of $131,400 in one
year, or $393,000 over three years.
Since the design project cost about $75,000, our return over three years may be around $318,000.”
Other types of design projects are harder to convert into an exact ROI. What is the value of
increased customer satisfaction? What is the value of more traffic or more use of those features
you want to promote on your website? Those estimates will vary between companies, and thus
the monetary value will also vary.
The return on investment from UX is almost always larger when more people are using the design
because the benefits increase for every user who finds the product easier to use. Similarly,
doubling sales numbers results in more income for ecommerce sites (like Amazon) that had larger
sales to begin with.
The estimated productivity gains from redesigning an intranet to improve usability are eight times
larger than the costs for a company with 1,000 employees; 20 times larger for a company with
10,000 employees; and 50 times larger for a company with 100,000 employees.
The return on investment from UX improvements is generated in different ways for various types
of design projects, as discussed below.
Similarly, many other types of websites have a clearly defined desired outcome, such as applying
to a college or subscribing to a newsletter. When those desired outcomes are tied to revenue,
those ROI calculations can be fairly straightforward as well.
ROI: Demonstrating the Value of UX
This financial news site offers subscriptions for premium content, primarily targeting organizations
like private equity firms. Potential subscribers can request a free trial to decide whether or not
they want to pay for a full subscription for their company.
When ExpandTheRoom helped them improve the design of their site, their free trial requests
increased from 76 per three-month period to 187. If we assume that 18% of free trials result in
paid subscribers on average and that the average revenue from a subscription is $1,000 (made-
up values), we can perform the following calculation.
This leaves us with a rough estimate of around $20,000 per month of new revenue generated by
new subscribers. Potentially, those new free-trial leads will continue to come in over the months,
leading to even more new subscriptions and an even greater new per-month amount of revenue.
Content Sites
Some forms of content sites, such as newspaper sites, get their value from the sheer number of
users they can attract. For such sites, visitor counts or page views can provide a metric to assess
whether a redesign has done its job. When combined with ad-revenue details, these numbers can
be used to put a dollar amount on the increases from UX projects.
Intranets
Turning to intranets, we again find that hard numbers are easier to come by. The value of
usability for intranet designs comes from increased employee productivity: every time a user can
perform a task faster with the intranet, the company saves the cost of that person’s salary and
overhead for the amount of time that was saved.
One large company managed to save its HR team a total of 32 person-days per month (by
reducing the average time required to complete a big, frequent HR task). This is another easy
calculation: simply multiply the time saved by average salary.
Let’s assume that this company’s HR employees make an average of $50,000 per year. If we divide
that by the number of working days per year, we can find an approximation of their daily rate.
ROI: Demonstrating the Value of UX
Then we multiply that number by the days saved in the new design.
Does this mean that the company will literally save $6,112 per month? No, because those
employees are full-time, salaried workers. But it does mean that those employees can now spend
that time doing other tasks, which may be more valuable for the company long term.
John Nicholson of Marketade explained that he sees a lot of value in trying to make these difficult
connections, even if you aren’t successful in the calculation itself. In pursuit of that calculation,
you’ll learn the goals of the business, and you’ll develop an understanding of how the business
perceives and assesses value.
“There are metrics that are pretty easy to collect — things you can
get straight out of the lab or from a research tool — but those
are the metrics we’re least excited about and that might be least
connected to the business.
The metrics that executives care about are things like revenue,
cost reductions, and retention. But it’s hard to draw a direct line
from design changes to the business.
Even though it isn’t easy to connect the dots, even if it’s very
hard to collect that data, I encourage my team to try anyway.
There are a lot of advantages to us, as researchers, in
pursuing that connection. You break out of silos and meet
whoever owns the business research. You’re forced to better
understand the business and its priorities. You might even help
those people better understand the value of qualitative research
in the process.
You’re just going to become a better UXer in the process, and
you’ll be better able to make the case for the work that we do,
even if you don’t end up with a perfect, tidy metric to present.”
One potentially fruitful approach to these more complex calculations is to look for correlations in
your data. In other words, look for ways that your UX metrics may be associated or related to KPIs
in some way.
Aaron Powers, Director of Design Research at athenahealth, shared the work that his team
performed to tie UX improvements to business health.3 They conducted monthly surveys of their
users, ending up with over 50,000 completed surveys for one of their products in a two-year
period. The survey included questions about ease of use and reliability — two things that their
users mention often and which seem to be closely tied to their satisfaction.
The team hypothesized that ease-of-use and reliability perceptions would drive users’ satisfaction
with the product, which would, in turn, impact their likeliness to recommend it to others.
By combining their survey data with their business metrics, they found a statistically significant,
positive chain of correlations. This allowed them to demonstrate a relationship between user
perceptions and two key revenue-related business metrics: retention and referrals.
3
Aaron Powers published a Medium article on this case study: www.medium.com/athenahealth-design/measuring-the-
financial-impact-of-ux-in-two-enterprise-organizations-221f6c9ad9a3
The Magnitude of UX Improvements
Several of the case studies provided in this report include more than one metric. This is common
in benchmarking studies — teams usually select a set of relevant metrics to track, rather than a
single metric.
In general, the improvement score is the ratio between the two measurements of the metric
(before and after) minus one. Thus, if the before and after measures were identical, then the
ratio would be 1.0 and the improvement would be 0%. However, the exact method of calculating
improvement scores depends on whether your metric is “good” or “bad.”
Conversion rates are a typical example of a good metric because they are inherently something
you define as good for your business (sales, donations, registrations, etc.). For good metrics, the
ratio is calculated as the after score divided by the before score.
The Magnitude of UX Improvements
For example, imagine that an ecommerce site recorded a conversion rate of 2% of visitors before
the redesign and increased this to 5% after the redesign. In this case, the ratio would be 5/2 = 2.5,
for an improvement of 150% in the conversion metric.
Time on task is a typical example of a bad metric because slower performance usually indicates
poorer productivity. However, context plays a role in whether or not the metric should be
considered good or bad. Entertainment contexts are an exception to this rule for time on task —
you may want people to spend more time in a mobile game app.
For bad metrics, the ratio is calculated as the before score divided by the after score. If, for
example, a task took 3 minutes to perform with the old design and 2 minutes to perform with the
new design, then the ratio would be 3/2 = 1.5, for a productivity gain of 50%.
A two-minute task time is 50% more productive than a three-minute task time because the faster
design allows users to perform 50% more work in a given amount of time. For example, it’s
possible to perform 30 two-minute tasks in an hour, which is 50% more than the 20 three-minute
tasks that would be the workload performed in the same hour with the slower design.
EXPECTED UX IMPROVEMENTS
From the 30 case studies we accepted for the 5th edition, we collected a total of 80 pairs of
metrics. We included 76 of these pairs in our quantitative analysis. (The four metric pairs excluded
were outliers, with improvement scores of over 2,000%.)
Averaged across all organizations that reported metrics for our 5th edition, the average UX
improvement score was 75%, with a 95% confidence interval from 8% to 104%. (This analysis4
excludes four outliers which had improvement scores of more than 2,000%.) In other words,
across all these organizations, the average redesign was 75% better than the original for a
variety of metrics.
Does this mean that you should expect around a 75% improvement in your metrics when
redesigning your product? Possibly, but as the wide confidence interval shows, there is an
immense amount of variability in the data. In our data, half of the values were between 13%
4
Some organizations provided multiple case studies (2–3) or multiple metrics per case study. We first took the average
improvement score per organization before calculating the overall average.
The Magnitude of UX Improvements
This doesn’t mean that we can expect 50% of all design projects will have an improvement score
within that range. It’s possible your own impact could be a 500% or 5,000% improvement, but
our data suggests that an improvement score that high is unusual.
A product with many big UX problems has lots of opportunities for big improvements. A product
that already has an excellent experience will have fewer and smaller opportunities for big change.
The better the UX team, the more likely they are to make the right design choices (based on
research and experience). However, even an excellent UX professional won’t get every design
choice right every time (again, this is the challenging and iterative nature of our work).
A large project with many changes may be more likely to have a big impact on metrics than a
small one. However, this is not always a hard rule — some of the case studies collected in this
report show big metric impacts as a result of small, smart design changes. For this reason, we did
not find any statistically significant differences in improvement scores based on project size.
Some research methods are more sensitive than others. Part of this difference comes from the
differing scale of sample size for each method.
For example, A/B testing on a main page of the site can capture thousands of data points easily,
enabling researchers to detect even a slight change of a few percentage points.
In contrast, a quantitative usability testing with 40 participants may require a more pronounced
difference to determine a statistical difference between two designs. For example, the Shopify
5
The interquartile range is the range between the first quartile and the third quartile in your data set. The lower bound of this
range (the first quartile) is greater than a quarter of your values, and the higher bound (the third quartile) is greater than three-
quarters of your dataset. In other words, half of the data points will be in the interquartile range. Outliers are included in
quartile calculations because they are not influenced by outlier values in the same way a mean would be.
The Magnitude of UX Improvements
Those case studies with negative or neutral outcomes appear on the left of the chart. In nine
metric pairs, the metrics moved in an undesirable direction, causing a negative improvement
score. (For example, one company tried and failed to increase lead-form submissions, resulting in
a 65% decrease of those leads.)
A redesign can result in a diminished user experience or no change. Not all new design ideas
are good, even if they come from user testing and other research. Even the most experienced
and talented UX professionals can implement designs that don’t end up working as expected.
This is part of what makes UX work challenging and interesting, and this is why it must be
iterative in nature.
As long as you’re performing research and collecting data, you’ll be able to catch design
mistakes. If you know your design changes are having an unintended negative effect, you can
prevent them from being implemented or learn how to fix them if they’re already in place. The
earlier those mistakes are caught, the less damage they can do.
Each metric category had slightly different average improvements, but the confidence intervals
were quite wide. We hypothesize that the large ranges are due in part to small sample sizes (for
example, we had only six metric pairs in the Effectiveness category). Larger samples might have
yielded narrower confidence intervals, but maybe not, due to the highly variable nature of this
data, discussed above (page 50).
(Due to too few metric pairs in the category of Revenue, we decided to exclude that category from
this analysis.)
The Magnitude of UX Improvements
The case study profiles from the 1st edition have been removed from this report, but several of the
most interesting ones from the 3rd and 4th editions are included at the end of this report (page
237). However, we still have the metrics from those 72 earlier edition case studies.
6
For both sets of data (2006–2008 and 2020), we first took the average improvement score per organization and then averaged
those scores to get the overall average for each dataset.
7
The 2006–2008 data set was not normally distributed, so this p-value was calculated using a nonparametric test.
The Magnitude of UX Improvements
“In these early years, design was truly abominable — think splash
screens, search that couldn’t find anything, bloated graphics
everywhere. The only good thing about these early designs was
that they were so bad that it was easy for usability people to be
heroes: just run the smallest study and you would inevitably find
several immense opportunities for improvement.
Finding and fixing UX problems during the dot com bubble was
like shooting fish in a barrel — every design was so bad!”
As an analogy, imagine that UX problems are like gold — valuable opportunities that, if you can find
and fix them, can result in profit. In the early 2000s, our industry was like an untouched stream full
of gold where nobody had ever looked before. You could just reach your hand out and grab a gold
nugget! Over the past two decades, those easy-to-find big nuggets have mostly been harvested.
We’ve addressed many of the biggest problems. In some cases, those were individual fixes for
specific problems. But as an industry, our collective knowledge has grown as well — we now
have a rich set of best practices and design patterns. Each individual designer can build on the
existing work of the designers that have gone before.
So, are all the world’s UX problems now fixed, and are all designs perfect? Certainly not. There’s
still substantial room for improvement for the majority of experiences. (Lucky for us, that means
we have great job security.) This finding simply shows that we’ve done a good job improving
experiences overall and addressing the most glaring problems.
Does this mean that UX is less important or impactful today? Also no. We believe that even
though the magnitude of these design changes have decreased, they are no less important.
Because experiences overall are getting better, user expectations have gotten much,
much higher. If you put a website considered adequate in 2006 in front of a user today, she
would refuse to use it.
We believe that those expectations will continue to rise in lockstep with the average quality of
experiences. (Again, this is good for UX professionals’ job security!) As a consequence, even small
improvements in the UX may be worth an organization’s time. This is even more true when you
consider that your competitors are likely improving their experiences as well (a UX arms race).
The Magnitude of UX Improvements
Case Studies
About the Case Studies 68
By Edition. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 69
By Metric Category. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 69
By Industry. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 74
Most case studies also include screenshots of the design. Some also include quotes from the
team or artifacts from the design process or research.
For the fifth edition, we received 51 case study submissions from teams. Of those, we accepted
only 30. Submissions were rejected if they were unable to provide enough detail, only had a
single set of metrics, or used questionable methodology (not collecting enough data points was
the most widespread problem).
Of those 30 accepted case studies, nine teams were invited to participate in in-depth interviews
with NN/g. Those interviews provided the quotes included throughout this report.
There are also many cases where the exact numbers for certain metrics needed to be kept
out of the report. Many companies were not willing to have their sales data or other sensitive
information published, even though they were willing to share it with us in private.
Because we are looking at only relative improvements in this report, the underlying numbers can
be kept out of print and still allow us to publish the improvement scores.
About the Case Studies
If we want the best and most interesting case studies, like the projects profiled here, we must
respect anonymity and confidentiality requests.
BY EDITION
The case studies that follow are from 57 different redesign projects. They are organized by the
edition of this report that first included them:
Note: Over the years, we’ve collected more case studies than the number printed here.
Unfortunately, many of the case studies from the 1st, 2nd, 3rd, and 4th editions are now so old as to
be likely uninteresting to modern UX professionals. We’ve kept the most interesting 14 older case
studies here, at the end of the report. Only the 30 newer case studies are listed in the categorized
tables below.
Within each edition section, the case studies are sorted alphabetically. In the following tables,
we organize the case studies based on metric category and industry. Read the summaries in the
tables to decide which case studies interest you, or browse through the entire set alphabetically.
BY METRIC CATEGORY
Adoption/Retention
Case Study Summary Page
Acumbamail (MailUp Group) Qualitative research revealed a big problem in 77
a subscription process, and a quick fix causes a
22% lift in a conversion rate.
Alchemy Cloud By redesigning to better reflect user needs, this 87
complex enterprise product observed reduced
training time and support tickets.
Anonymous Real Estate Company By skillfully combining quantitative and 103
(Marketade) qualitative research, this real estate company
realized they could increase leads by removing
an unhelpful apartment search feature.
About the Case Studies
Arizona State University Online An online university’s overhaul of its degree 106
pages resulted in some desired metric increases
but also caused an undesired increase in
bounce rate.
Asiacell A major telecommunications company increased 115
active users and revenue by redesigning their
mobile app to focus on frequent user tasks.
Cross Country (McCann Manchester) For this UK train operator, simplifying the 130
homepage and exposing all ticket search
options (instead of hiding them) corresponded
with increased ticket searches, decreased
bounce rate, and increased homepage value.
Deep Sentinel A major revision of the mobile app for a security 133
system led to easier and faster self-installation,
as well as a 50% reduction in returned products.
Healio A major redesign of an educational site 139
for physicians resulted in audience and
engagement growth.
PetSmart Charities (Marketade) By removing unnecessary form fields, this 188
nonprofit substantially increased its newsletter
signup completion rate.
Starbucks College Achievement A refresh of the visual design of this corporate 210
Plan (Arizona State University) scholarship site coincided with a 78% increase
in traffic.
The Deal (ExpandTheRoom) The Deal increased trial requests after removing 217
some of its content from behind a paywall,
making the trial program more visible and
simplifying the trial request form.
User Interviews A small change in visual design yielded a 230
big increase in account creation on User
Interviews’s marketplace site.
WordFinder (LoveToKnow Media) A small change to this entertainment utility site 233
resulted in a slight increase in returning users.
Effectiveness
Anonymous Car Insurance Company Mobile optimization and reduced work for 98
users in an online insurance quote process
led to reduced time-on-task and an increased
completion rate.
Deep Sentinel A major revision of the mobile app for a security 133
system led to easier and faster self-installation,
as well as a 50% reduction in returned products.
HelloFresh Added visual hierarchy helped to communicate 160
complexity in this meal-kit service mobile app,
resulting in easier, faster, more satisfying tasks.
Philip Morris International HR Portal By revising an internal tool to prioritize 194
employee tasks, this large global company
gained big improvements in findability metrics.
Shopify Some minor changes to a billing page 203
showed qualitative improvements; however,
no statistically significant differences were
observed in the metrics.
Efficiency
Engagement/Usage
Revenue
Satisfaction/Perception
BY INDUSTRY
Starbucks College Achievement A refresh of the visual design of this corporate 210
Plan (Arizona State University) scholarship site coincided with a 78% increase
in traffic.
Ecommerce
Case Study Summary Page
HelloFresh Added visual hierarchy helped to communicate 160
complexity in this meal-kit service mobile app,
resulting in easier, faster, more satisfying tasks.
Oakley (Luxottica) A small experiment with promoting sales in a 185
retailer site’s megamenu led to significant lifts in
four key ecommerce metrics.
Ray-Ban (Luxottica) A small change in an A/B test of the checkout flow 199
of a popular ecommerce site resulted in a slight but
definite decrease in conversion rate and revenue
per session.
Finance
Intranet/Internal
Miscellaneous
Summary: Qualitative research revealed a big problem in a subscription process, and a quick fix
causes a 22% lift in a conversion rate.
METRICS
Methodology:
Quantitative usability testing, Analytics
Metric: Time on task for subscribing Metric: Conversion rate for subscribing
Before: 3 min 54 sec Before: 9.5%
After: 3 min 30 sec After: 11.6%
Improvement Score: 11% Improvement Score: 22%
Percent Change: -10%
Acumbamail is owned by MailUp Group, a company based in Italy and specializing in cloud
marketing technologies.
Case Studies — 5th Edition
Summary: A major redesign of an airline rewards program site resulted in slight increases in
ease-of-use scores and decreases in time-on-task.
METRICS
Methodology:
Quantitative usability testing
AIR MILES members can redeem their miles for merchandise, travel, or event tickets.
ALCHEMY CLOUD
TYPE SUBJECT PROJECT REPORT EDITION
SIZE
Web app Enterprise/B2B Large 5th
Summary: By redesigning to better reflect user needs, this complex enterprise product observed
reduced training time and support tickets.
METRICS
Methodology:
Quantitative usability testing, analytics, customer support
Summary: By reorganizing the information architecture to focus on topics instead of user roles,
this nonprofit increased task success rates by 20% on average.
METRICS
Methodology:
Tree testing
The American Kennel Club (AKC) is an American registry of purebred dog pedigrees. AKC also holds
and supports “dog sports” including dog shows and agility competitions. Their website allows
owners to register their dogs, find breed information, and learn how to participate in dog sports.
The ETR team conducted a baseline tree-testing study on the existing information architecture. They
recruited real users directly from the site and asked them to perform tasks such as: You’re interested
in registering your mixed breed dog with the AKC. Where would you go to register your dog?
9
www.expandtheroom.com
Case Studies — 5th Edition
Summary: Revised navigation labels helped customers complete their tasks without needing
help, leading to a 25% decrease in calls to customer support centers.
METRICS
Methodology:
A/B Testing, Customer Service
Metric: Task completion for customers updating Metric: Customers calling in to complete the
their contact information contact information change
Increase: 10% Percent Change: -25%
Percent Change: Not given
Any unnecessary calls to customer support represent a big problem for the bank. Particularly
when those tasks should be simple and self-explanatory (like updating account contact
information), customers are annoyed when they have to call in for help. Each unnecessary call
also costs the bank money.
The new design resulted in a 10 percentage point increase in the task completion rate for
updating account contact information, making it the winning version. They implemented the
changed labels for all users and saw a corresponding 25% drop in the number of customers
calling in for help with the same task. The decrease led to thousands of dollars of cost savings for
the bank.
Case Studies — 5th Edition
Summary: Mobile optimization and reduced work for users in an online insurance quote process
led to reduced time-on-task and an increased completion rate.
METRICS
Methodology:
Quantitative usability testing, analytics
Metric: Time on task for getting an insurance Metric: Completion rate for the online quote
quote process
Before: 90 seconds Before: 25%
After: 60 seconds After: 60%
Improvement Score: 50% Improvement Score: 140%
Percent Change: -33%
The agency found several major problems with the site, including:
• Poor mobile optimization
• A very long dropdown list of current insurers
• A tedious process of inputting all of the details about the user’s car (make, model, year, etc.)
Case Studies — 5th Edition
They realized that most users were currently insured with one out of 10 major competitors. Instead
of forcing users to scroll down a very long list to find their current insurer, they decided to place
the top 10 most common insurers at the top of the list.
The team also found that if users just entered their car’s license plate number, many of the car’s
details could be automatically imported, reducing a lot of work for users.
The agency used quantitative usability testing to benchmark their improvements to the quote
process. For the task of getting an online quote, they were able to reduce the average time on
task from 90 seconds to 60 seconds. After launching the redesign, they checked the analytics
data and found that the completion rate increased from 25% to 60%.
Case Studies — 5th Edition
ANONYMOUS HR TOOL
TYPE SUBJECT PROJECT REPORT EDITION
SIZE
Website Internal Large 5th
Summary: Automating an inefficient task reduced the amount of time required from a busy HR
team by 60%.
METRICS
Methodology:
Surveys
One of the opportunities they identified was related to the letters that the HR team had to
manually create. These letters were official HR documents, such as certificates of employment.
This task was extremely time consuming and slow. The old process of manually creating letters
usually happened in the following steps:
1. An employee emails the HR help desk to request a letter.
2. The HR help desk sends an automatic response email to acknowledge the request and
inform the employee that the HR team may take up to three working days to create the letter.
3. HR staff checks the email and replies to the employee, asking for the necessary details for
Case Studies — 5th Edition
Summary: By skillfully combining quantitative and qualitative research, this real estate company
realized they could increase leads by removing an unhelpful apartment search feature.
METRICS
Methodology:
Analytics, A/B testing
Metric: Leads
Before: 1%
After: 4%
Improvement Score: 277%
Marketade started with qualitative research (interviews and usability testing) to help them
understand the user and why the new design was failing. Through qualitative research, they
identified over 50 problems on the site and the apartment search application. For the biggest of
these problems, they then turned to Google Analytics to help them quantify and size the issues —
how many people were being impacted by these problems?
After quantifying the problems, the Marketade team generated a long list of findings and
potential solutions.
Case Studies — 5th Edition
Summary: An online university’s overhaul of its degree pages resulted in some desired metric
increases but also caused an undesired increase in bounce rate.
METRICS
Methodology:
Analytics, Surveys
ASU has won the US News award for Most Innovative College for five consecutive years in a row.
EdPlus is a central enterprise unit for ASU focused on the design and scalable delivery of digital
teaching and learning models to increase student success and reduce barriers to achievement in
higher education.
• Application requirements
• Awards
• Tuition calculator
The EdPlus design team conducted a large qualitative research project with prospective students,
which left them with a better understanding of which degree details were needed. The existing
design hid too many of those important details behind page tabs with dense walls of text.
The team decided to revise the structure and visual design of the page, hoping to improve
prospective student impressions of the site (CSAT and NPS) as well as improving a site KPI:
submissions of the request for more information form.
Case Studies — 5th Edition
The EdPlus team plans to conduct another major redesign in the near future, focusing on deeper
content revisions and considering a different presentation of the contact form.
Case Studies — 5th Edition
ASIACELL
TYPE SUBJECT PROJECT REPORT EDITION
SIZE
Mobile App Utility/ Large 5th
Subscription
METRICS
Methodology:
Analytics, App stores, Finance
Metric: App store customer ratings, out of 5 stars Metric: Active users per month
Before: 3.4 Before: 30,000
After: 4.3 After: 125,000
Improvement Score: 26% Improvement Score: 317%
Metric: Users recharging their balance each Metric: Revenues generated through the app
month
Improvement Score: 225%
Improvement Score: 117%
Because the app was so cumbersome to use, many users were giving up and resorting to calling
Asiacell’s customer support, which was very expensive for the company.
Case Studies — 5th Edition
They also focused on streamlining frequent user tasks and reducing unnecessary steps in processes.
As a part of this effort, they added important account information (like current balance) directly on
the home screen so users could check those details simply by opening the app.
The Asiacell design team also added a few innovative features to simplify their customer
experience. In the new app, users could seamlessly authenticate with a single tap, as long as they
were on an Asiacell data network. The team also added personalization features to help surface
useful information and actions depending on each individual user’s status and context.
Case Studies — 5th Edition
METRICS
Methodology:
Tree testing
Based in Wisconsin, Baileigh Industrial is a top manufacturer of industrial metal and woodworking
machinery. They sell through distributors and directly through Baileigh.com.
When the Marketade research team spoke to senior management, they heard the same
complaint. They realized that if Baileigh could improve self-service on the website for small-ticket
customers, it would free up sales reps to focus on people who truly needed their expertise.
Marketade then moved on to qualitative usability testing, and they soon realized a key barrier to
self-service: customers often struggled to find the product, or even the product category, that they
wanted. They repeatedly wasted time going down the wrong paths using the site’s navigation.
Case Studies — 5th Edition
Summary: For this UK train operator, simplifying the homepage and exposing all ticket search
options (instead of hiding them) corresponded with increased ticket searches, decreased bounce
rate, and increased homepage value.
METRICS
Methodology:
Analytics, A/B testing
CrossCountry Trains is a train operator with an extensive network of train routes in Great Britain.
The basic search criteria of the journey search (origin, destination, departure, and return) were
all exposed on the homepage. However, other important options (number of travelers, whether
or not a railcard would be used, routes to use or avoid, services, and promo codes) were hidden
beneath an arrow button in a dropdown.
Case Studies — 5th Edition
DEEP SENTINEL
TYPE SUBJECT PROJECT REPORT EDITION
SIZE
Mobile app Security/ Subscription Large 5th
Summary: A major revision of the mobile app for a security system led to easier and faster self-
installation, as well as a 50% reduction in returned products.
METRICS
Methodology:
Analytics, Customer Service, App store reviews
Metric: Time to completion (installing and Metric: Return rate (returning security
activating security system) system)
Improvement Score: 200% Improvement Score: 100%
Percent Change: -67% Percent Change: -50%
Metric: Average app store rating, out of 5 Metric: Completion rate (installing and
activating security system)
Improvement Score: 19%
Improvement Score: 42%
The Deep Sentinel app helps users install and set up their new security systems. Once installed,
users can check on their home security through the app, change settings, and enable “privacy
mode” to stop the live video feeds temporarily.
• The video recording history timeline was challenging to use because multiple events could
happen close together, and it was difficult for users to get to the precise moment they wanted.
• Poor visual hierarchy made the app difficult to quickly scan and understand.
• Valuable screen real estate was occupied by the company logo in every screen.
• Icons lacked labels.
Case Studies — 5th Edition
Using analytics data, the Deep Sentinel team was able to track completion rates and average
time until completion for installing and setting up new security systems (from creating a new
account to activating the security system). With the new app design, they found a 42% increase in
completion rate and a 67% reduction in time until completion.
They found similarly encouraging changes in their customer satisfaction data as well — returned
security systems decreased by 50% after the app redesign, and the app store rating increased
from 3.6 to 4.3.
Case Studies — 5th Edition
HEALIO CME
TYPE SUBJECT PROJECT REPORT EDITION
SIZE
Website Healthcare Large 5th
Summary: A major redesign of an educational site for physicians resulted in audience and
engagement growth.
METRICS
Methodology:
Analytics
Metric: Conversion rate (learners taking test) Metric: Engagement (average learning
activities per user)
Before: 34.1%
Before: 1.5
After: 58.9%
After: 2
Improvement Score: 73%
Improvement Score: 33%
Healio CME is a medical website that offers healthcare professionals continuing medical
education credits, which are required for American physicians.
CME stands for Continuing Medical Education. These programs consist of activities that serve
to maintain and develop a physician’s knowledge over time. Some American states require a
specific number of CME credits annually for a physician to maintain their medical license and be
Case Studies — 5th Edition
HELINY (EXPANDTHEROOM)
TYPE SUBJECT PROJECT REPORT EDITION
SIZE
Website Tourism/ Large 5th
Transportation
Summary: A redesign of the content and visual design of HeliNY’s tourism site resulted in
improvements in self-reported rating scale metrics.
METRICS
Methodology:
Online surveys
Metric: Metric:
Percentage of respondents reporting that the Percentage of respondents reporting that
booking process was “Very Easy” they understood the differences between
HeliNY’s tours
Before: 31%
Before: 55%
After: 52%
After: 66%
Improvement Score: 68%
Improvement Score: 21%
Metric:
Metric:
Percentage of respondents selecting “modern” to
describe the site’s visual design Percentage of respondents selecting “tacky”
to describe the site’s visual design
Before: 15%
Before: 3%
After: 17%
After: 1%
Improvement Score: 18%
Improvement Score: 99%
Percent Change: -50%
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www.expandtheroom.com
Case Studies — 5th Edition
HeliNY offers helicopter charters and luxury aerial tours of New York City. Their website explains
the differences in their offerings and services and allows online booking.
With these concerns in mind, ETR began with an online survey of HeliNY’s customers. Among the
questions they asked were:
• How easy was it to go through our booking process? (Rating scale, 1 = Very Difficult, 5 =
Very Easy.)
• Which words do you think best describe the look and feel of our site? (Multiselect word
association with options like “modern,” “tacky,” and “clean.”)
Case Studies — 5th Edition
On the Tours page, they replaced the uninformative descriptions of each tour with a single,
scannable comparison table. Users could easily see which landmarks were included in each tour.
For example, Columbia University was included in the Ultimate Tour and the Deluxe Tour but not
the New Yorker Tour.
Finally, ETR converted the booking form to a native, multistep booking process with clear instructions.
“One UX issue was that the existing tours page seemed difficult
to understand and compare different options. We added an easy
to understand comparison chart as well as an interactive map.
We also wanted to greatly improve the experience of their tour
booking process; previously, it was simply one very long Google
Form. We converted it to a native, multistep booking process
with clear instructions.”
HELLOFRESH
TYPE SUBJECT PROJECT REPORT EDITION
SIZE
Mobile app Ecommerce/ Medium 5th
Subscription
Summary: Added visual hierarchy helped to communicate complexity in this meal-kit service
mobile app, resulting in easier, faster, more satisfying tasks.
METRICS
Methodology:
Quantitative usability testing, surveys
When new HelloFresh customers sign up, they choose a plan based on dietary preferences,
serving size, and how many meals they want per week. Then the service delivers different recipes
each week. In the HelloFresh app, users can check upcoming meals, skip a delivery, or change
which recipes will be delivered.
• Next upcoming delivery: This meal week is imminently approaching, and users only
have a limited amount of time left to make changes to their recipes (Edit meals) before it’s
packed and shipped. The team used full-width images for the meals in this week to show
more detail and grab attention.
• Following upcoming delivery: Users can make changes to meals a few weeks out, but
the need is less urgent. The team used smaller thumbnail images to visually show the
difference between this delivery and the closer one.
• Current delivery (meal kit currently at home): This meal is already at the user’s home and
contains the recipes for the current week. The team moved this into the Closed deliveries
section. In this section, there are no thumbnails giving an overview of the meals included.
• Shipping soon: This is next week’s meal. When the delivery is one week away, it’s too
late for the user to make any changes to their recipe selections.
Case Studies — 5th Edition
The HelloFresh UX team measured the performance of the old and new versions of the billing
page, using quantitative usability testing and surveys. For each task, the team collected time
on task, success rate, subjective success rating (asking participants if they thought they were
successful), SUS (System Usability Scale), ease-of-use rating, and confidence rating (asking
participants how confident they felt in their answer).
One of the most important tasks tested was: “You want to see more info about the delivery you
received May 12. How would you do that?” For this task, they found the following improvements
on the metrics:
• Time on task reduced by 50%
• Success rate increased by 300%
• Subjective success rate increased by 59%
• SUS score increased by 20%
• Ease-of-use rating increased by 13%
• Confidence rating increased by 17%
Case Studies — 5th Edition
JIRA (ATLASSIAN)
TYPE SUBJECT PROJECT REPORT EDITION
SIZE
Web app Enterprise Small 5th
Summary: A slight change in this popular agile tool’s backlog views resulted in a 95% decrease
in load time.
METRICS
Methodology:
Analytics
Metric: Page load time for a big backlog (10,000 Metric: Page load time for a regular backlog
issues) (400 issues)
Before: 85 seconds Before: 5 seconds
After: 4 seconds After: 2 seconds
Improvement Score: 2025% Improvement Score: 2129%
Percent Change: -95% Percent Change: -58%
Atlassian is an Australian enterprise software company. Its products (such as Jira and Confluence)
are popular for software development, project management, and content management.
Spartez is a Polish development company that partners with Atlassian and works exclusively on
Atlassian products.
The Jira team realized that many organizations had enormous backlogs of around 10,000 issues
— many more than the application was originally designed to contain. They found that these large
backlogs were taking an extremely long time to load — in some cases, multiple minutes.
Case Studies — 5th Edition
They discovered that a major part of the problem was that Jira will load all issues in a backlog,
which is more than users really need when they first open the view (they can’t scan through
10,000 issues at first glance).
Case Studies — 5th Edition
The Jira team decided that if they could have Jira load a small subset of all issues (100–500
instead of tens of thousands), they could potentially improve performance without damaging
the user experience. The team set a goal of loading a large backlog of 10,000 issues in less than
three seconds.
They started by reviewing their existing knowledge about their primary users (developers and
product managers) and their understanding of how those two user groups used the backlog in
their work. They considered three primary use cases:
• Planning: Regular triage of the backlog, road mapping for the year, estimating issues,
planning across multiple sprints
• Finding issues: Linking issues or finding duplicates
• Creating issues: Directly in sprints or at the bottom of the backlog
The Jira team had to find a way to reduce load time without interfering with any of these use cases.
They had to consider which issues should be included in that limited set that would be loaded
first. The most recently updated or commented-on issues seemed like the best option, since
Atlassian knew from their data that the longer an issue sits in a backlog, the less likely it is to be
resolved or updated.
Case Studies — 5th Edition
KASASA
TYPE SUBJECT PROJECT REPORT EDITION
SIZE
Web app Enterprise Large 5th
METRICS
Methodology:
Analytics
Metric: Utilization (session volume per financial Metric: Average page views per session
institution)
Improvement Score: 113%
Improvement Score: 24%
MYAIR (RESMED)
TYPE SUBJECT PROJECT REPORT EDITION
SIZE
Web app Healthcare Small 5th
Summary: The visual redesign of an app helped to better align it with brand values as measured
by a survey.
METRICS
Methodology:
Survey
The ResMed team set out to ensure that the visual design of the myAir app was consistent with
the company’s branding and its other digital products.
Case Studies — 5th Edition
OAKLEY (LUXOTTICA)
TYPE SUBJECT PROJECT REPORT EDITION
SIZE
Website Ecommerce/ Retail Small 5th
Summary: A small experiment with promoting sales in a retailer site’s megamenu led to
significant lifts in four key ecommerce metrics.
METRICS
Methodology:
A/B testing
Luxottica Group is an Italian eyewear conglomerate based in Milan and the world’s largest
eyewear company.
They found that this approach positively impacted four key ecommerce metrics:
• Revenue per session: 17.3%
• Cart abandonment: -3.8%
• Conversion rate: 11.1%
• Average order value: 5.4%
After reaching statistical power in the results, the Luxottica team pushed the badge design out to
all of their users.
Case Studies — 5th Edition
Summary: By removing unnecessary form fields, this nonprofit substantially increased its
newsletter signup completion rate.
METRICS
Methodology:
A/B Testing
One of those tests focused on the newsletter signup process. While several animal-loving
participants said they would want to sign up, they were surprised by the length of the form and
the quantity of the information requested. “It’s asking for my address?” one participant said,
surprised. “Why do they need that?”
The length of the form seemed particularly annoying on mobile devices, where filling in forms is
often more tedious than on larger devices with separate keyboards.
Case Studies — 5th Edition
Summary: By revising an internal tool to prioritize employee tasks, this large global company
gained big improvements in findability metrics.
METRICS
Methodology:
Tree testing
Their human resources portal is an internal tool, which Philip Morris’s employees use on a daily basis.
In addition, they realized that employees often wanted to access YourHR from their smartphones,
so the team decided to provide mobile support.
The UX team revised the entire portal, including a new and vastly different information
architecture. They redesigned hundreds of pages, and they tested those designs with employees
in different Philip Morris offices around the globe.
“We wanted to provide a unified self-service entry point for employee interactions and extensive
omni-channel capabilities,” said UX Specialist Monika Zielonka.
Case Studies — 5th Edition
The tree-testing study included ten of the top employee tasks. For two of the most critical,
the tree testing showed that the new design resulted in substantial improvements in
efficiency and effectiveness.
When searching for guidelines on employee referral, success rates increased by 371%, and time
on task decreased by 68%. When checking the status of a request, success rates increased by
215%, and time on task decreased by 81%.
RAY-BAN (LUXOTTICA)
TYPE SUBJECT PROJECT REPORT EDITION
SIZE
Website Ecommerce/ Retail Small 5th
Summary: A small change in an A/B test of the checkout flow of a popular ecommerce site
resulted in a slight but definite decrease in conversion rate and revenue per session.
METRICS
Methodology:
A/B testing
Luxottica Group is an Italian eyewear conglomerate based in Milan and the world’s largest
eyewear company.
In Ray-Ban’s checkout flow, the option for PayPal checkout was prominently featured next to the
site’s own CHECKOUT NOW button. The Luxottica team decided to try to follow the guideline and
downplay the PayPal option.
Case Studies — 5th Edition
SHOPIFY
TYPE SUBJECT PROJECT REPORT EDITION
SIZE
Web app B2B/Enterprise Small 5th
Summary: Some minor changes to a billing page showed qualitative improvements; however, no
statistically significant differences were observed in the metrics.
METRICS
Methodology:
Quantitative usability testing, surveys
Shopify’s UX team is a thought leader in the industry. Their popular Medium articles cover various
UX topics such as content strategy, research, culture, and leadership. Their branded design
system, Polaris, is often cited in UX circles as a role model for what a design system can and
should be.
At Shopify, UX Research is focused on helping product teams design and build for their users.
Depending on the research questions, Shopify’s UX researchers leverage quantitative or qualitative
research methods to uncover insights about their users. This project was used as a pilot to
demonstrate the value of UX benchmarking and improve performance from a UX perspective.
Case Studies — 5th Edition
While reviewing customer support logs, the Billing UX team learned that some merchants were
struggling to filter through and download their historical Shopify bills.
Using surveys and quantitative usability testing, the team collected the following metrics for
finding billing information, but they found no statistically significant changes:
• Time on task (8% increase)
• Success rate (0% change)
• Ease-of-use rating (3% decrease)
• Confidence rating (0% decrease)
In addition to gathering quantitative data, the Shopify team also collected qualitative insights
about participants’ interactions with each version of the Billing page. By observing participants’
interactions with both designs and asking followup questions, the team was able to gather rich
qualitative data on UX problems participants encountered and their impact on participants’
ability to complete each task. Those qualitative insights were used by the team in future redesign
projects to improve Shopify’s billing services.
“Some design changes will have a big effect on the metrics you’re
tracking, and some won’t. A quantitative study helps us separate
those concerns and purely judge aspects like performance and
whether it increases or not.”
Within Shopify, this project had an even greater impact on UX research processes: it allowed the team
to create a UX benchmarking toolkit to help other teams at Shopify get started with these techniques.
Summary: A refresh of the visual design of this corporate scholarship site coincided with a 78%
increase in traffic.
METRICS
Methodology:
Analytics
EdPlus is a central enterprise unit for ASU, focused on the design and scalable delivery of digital
teaching and learning models to increase student success and reduce barriers to achievement in
higher education.
They added a frequently asked question page to help students get to the answers they wanted
quickly. Finally, they added an Apply Now button in addition to the previous Request for
Information call-to-action.
Year over year, the EdPlus team observed a 78% increase in organic traffic — though due to the
nature of this metric, that could also be impacted by variables other than design (marketing
campaigns, SEO changes, etc.)
They did observe a decrease in the conversion rate of the request-for-information call-to-action (a
65% decrease), but those conversions have simply moved to the new call-to-action, Apply Now. In
this case, a decrease in a positive metric is actually a good result.
Case Studies — 5th Edition
SYNETO CENTRAL
TYPE SUBJECT PROJECT REPORT EDITION
SIZE
Web app Enterprise Small 5th
Summary: Redesigning a critical task in Syneto CENTRAL’s complex cloud services platform
resulted in a substantial reduction of time-on-task.
METRICS
Methodology:
Quantitative usability testing
The design team at Syneto aims to include customer feedback as much as possible, as it
simplifies a very complex product.
A critical task in this application was creating a new location. Through user interviews, the Syneto
design team identified that the workflow for that task should be improved and simplified.
Unfortunately, the Syneto team was not able to provide screenshots of the design changes.
Case Studies — 5th Edition
Summary: The Deal increased trial requests after removing some of its content from behind a
paywall, making the trial program more visible and simplifying the trial request form.
METRICS
Methodology:
Analytics
Metric: Conversions (free trial request form Metric: Visitors from organic search
submissions)
Improvement Score: 60%
Improvement Score: 146%
The Deal offers insider news on business information like mergers, acquisitions, and investment
strategies. Some content is offered for free, but premium content is behind a paywall.
At the beginning of the project, ETR worked with The Deal’s team to define key metrics to
improve. Two of the high-priority metrics they identified were conversions (free trial request form
submissions) and visitors coming from organic search. After aligning, ETR identified problems
related to those metrics.
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www.expandtheroom.com
Case Studies — 5th Edition
First, one obstacle to increasing trial request submissions was that the trial request call-to-action
was buried far down on each page, showing up just above the site footer. Another problem was
that the trial request form was too long — it contained 16 required fields.
Second, ETR realized that the site did not adhere to SEO best practices, which reduced visitors
coming in from organic search.
Case Studies — 5th Edition
Summary: A handful of small design changes increased clickthrough and conversion rates for
this site that compares different Danish gambling websites.
METRICS
Methodology:
Analytics, A/B testing
Metric: Clickthrough rate to affiliated gambling Metric: Conversion rate, clicking the call-to-
sites action to visit or learn more about a site
Improvement Score: 140% After: Increased by 18 percentage points
The team had previously observed various small usability problems in a competitive analysis
study, and this helped them generate new design ideas.
Case Studies — 5th Edition
USER INTERVIEWS
TYPE SUBJECT PROJECT REPORT EDITION
SIZE
Website B2B Small 5th
Summary: A small change in visual design yielded a big increase in account creation on User
Interviews’s marketplace site.
METRICS
Methodology:
A/B testing
The design team at User Interviews knows that (as a user research recruitment platform) they
have to practice what they preach. They believe that consistent user feedback is key to success,
for their product as well as their customers’ products.
These two different groups had different types of accounts, but some users were getting confused
and signing up for the wrong account type. In particular, they often found that participants would
accidentally register as a researcher.
Case Studies — 5th Edition
Subject: Entertainment
Summary: A small change to this entertainment utility site resulted in a slight increase in
returning users.
METRICS
Methodology:
A/B testing
The WordFinder site’s revenue comes entirely from advertisements. To be profitable, users must
find it easy to use and want to return.
Case Studies — 5th Edition
However, they began testing the designs right as the COVID-19 pandemic began to hit Europe
and the US. They acknowledge that this event certainly impacted their findings, as user behaviors
began to shift in response to lockdowns.
The team did see a slight decrease in average session duration by 4%. They also observed a slight
increase in returning visitors by 8%.
Case Studies — 4th Edition
METRICS
Methodology:
Analytics
Metric: Visits
Before: 770,921
After: 1,058,906
Improvement Score: 37%
Students in the cafeteria participated in card sorting activities to help group the large number of
links in the menu in the “Student Services” section.
By creating an easy-to-find utility area in the top right corner of the homepage with links to
essential student resources such as the “MyHACC” student portal and the “HAWKMail” email
Case Studies — 4th Edition
system, the homepage became a much more useful destination for students, which contributed
to both the 37% increase in traffic to the website, and the 106% increase in traffic to the
HAWKMail pages.
In the old design, the “Course Schedules” page (which allowed students to search for classes)
was one of the top ten most-visited pages. The new design made this common task more efficient
by adding a specific “Search Class Schedules” module on the right side of the homepage, which
reduced the number of visits to the “Course Schedules” page by 46%.
Other design changes reduced the amount of clutter on the page and provided direct access
to rich content, which contributed to the increase in page views. For example, the old design
featured six small thumbnail images in the header, which weren’t large enough to see easily. The
new design eliminates these small header images and instead displays one large featured image
in the main page content. Other small changes, such as consolidating the color scheme into
fewer colors and using color blocks to divide different elements in the right sidebar, help make
the page easier to scan and understand quickly.
To allow for differences in the seasonal traffic of a school, the first six weeks of the fall quarter
before the redesign are compared with the first six weeks of the spring quarter after the redesign.
The new design greatly increased total visits, page views, and unique visitors. Enrollment
increased slightly between the two measurement periods, but that increase was not enough to
explain the change in web traffic.
UNIVERSIT Y OF EDINBURGH
TYPE SUBJECT REPORT EDITION
Web app Internal/Content 4th
Management System
METRICS
Methodology:
Quantitative usability testing
All the content elements on a page are identified by a number, and when creating a new
element, users can insert it before any specific numbered element. Also, an existing element
can be moved in just two steps by selecting its checkbox and clicking the “Move Here” buttons
in the desired destination.
Another benefit of the new design is that it places the “Move here” and element numbers on the
left side of the page, isolating the “Remove” button on the far right. This reduces the risk of an
element being removed accidentally.
To evaluate the effects of the design changes, a small group of experienced users attempted a
series of representative tasks using the original interface. About six weeks later, they undertook
the same tasks using the new interface.
In both studies, participants used a provided timer to time themselves completing tasks.
Average Time
Task Before After Ratio Improvement
Quote/ 140.0 91.0 154% 54%
Feature box
Paragraph/ 121.5 92.2 132% 32%
Bullets
Insert include article element 78.25 61.0 128% 28%
Create new article 804.75 679.40 118% 18%
Overall 133% 33%
Since these testers had only just begun to use the new interface, their performance will likely
continue to improve, further increasing the average time savings.
For the evaluation purposes, participants received prepared content to use for the “Create new
article” task. In reality, however, many contributors do not organize their content in advance and
instead tweak the content once it’s in the content management system. Therefore, actual time
saved on producing new web pages is likely to be even higher than reported here.
These changes are estimated to save between 3,688 and 4,610 hours annually. Put in monetary
terms, the estimated annual savings (based on a clerical grade hourly rate of £13.50) is between
£49,788 and £62,235 (or US$80,228 to US$100,285).
Case Studies — 3rd Edition
METRICS
Methodology:
Analytics
The button for posting a comment was enlarged and moved to a prominent position.
The original comments button had only a “plus” sign to indicate its function. The new version
states, “Add a comment” in large, easily readable type.
Case Studies — 3rd Edition
CAPITAL ONE
TYPE SUBJECT REPORT EDITION
Website Finance 3rd
METRICS
Methodology:
Surveys
Metric: Satisfaction
Improvement Score: 24%
A survey asked users to identify features they would like to see added to My One Place. At the
top of the list was an automatic login function. Users were required to log in every time they
entered the portal, including if they opened a new browser window or a hosted application.
The obstacle was highlighted by the fact that intranets run by Capital One subsidiaries did not
require repeated verification.
The major interface change involved in implementing Speedpass is the addition of checkboxes for
“Remember me” and “Auto launch my browser,” enabling users to control their login experience.
Case Studies — 3rd Edition
METRICS
Methodology:
Analytics
Metric: Registrations
Before: 1.6%
After: 4.1%
Improvement Score: 254%
The combination of the text link and the call-to-action ad generated significantly more clicks than
the text link alone — more than two and a half times as many. The call-to-action also performed
better on its own than the text link by itself.
The text link, served on a page with no call-to-action ad, had a clickthrough of about 1.62%. The
call-to-action ad itself had a clickthrough of 2.11%. Additionally, the ad’s presence on the page
correlated to an increase in clickthrough for the original text ad — lifting it to 2.01%.
Case Studies — 3rd Edition
EUROSTAR (ETRE)
TYPE SUBJECT REPORT EDITION
Website Transportation 3rd
METRICS
Methodology:
Finance
To achieve these aims, Etre delivered an iterative user-centered design program comprising
three usability tests — the first of which identified more than 100 usability issues present on
Eurostar.com. Using this information as an input, Eurostar’s design team developed wireframes,
process flows, and subsequently a barebones HTML-design prototype, which was subjected to
a second round of testing. This time, 70 usability issues were identified. The designers used this
feedback to create a new “hi-fidelity” prototype, featuring near-final visual designs and HTML.
This prototype also underwent testing. Findings and recommendations arising from this third
study were then used to create the final version of the website’s design. Also incorporated was
feedback from several other user-experience-related activities, including card sorting and user
Case Studies — 3rd Edition
surveys (which aimed to address IA and labeling issues) and usability inspections (which were
used to evaluate areas of the site that could not be included in the user testing due to project
time constraints).
Error messages. Unspecific and unhelpful error messages were to blame for the majority of
problems that users experienced during the testing of Eurostar’s old website. For instance, when
desired train fares were unavailable, the site failed to recommend alternative choices, leaving users
at a dead end. And when users’ sessions timed out, error messages began stacking on top of each
other, eventually disabling the browser’s Back button and requiring them to close the browser
window and start over. Unfortunately, a number of technical issues have prevented Eurostar from
addressing these problems as thoroughly as it would have liked. However, the team firmly believes
that the improvements made to date are the main driver of the subsequent ROI improvements.
Confusing language. Product names and acronyms that were fairly transparent in one language
were completely opaque in another. Other labels were simply confusing or inconsistent, and the
site sometimes changed language unpredictably as users were navigating it. Card sorting helped
identify structural issues, while nomenclature surveys helped identify issues with the terminology
used to describe products, services, and navigational elements.
Confirmation pages. In the old site, confirmation pages failed to inform users that they had
successfully completed processes like account registration. These pages were subsequently
redesigned to eliminate confusion.
User accounts. The old website let users create two different types of account — a standard
website account and a frequent traveler account. Both were managed and maintained in separate
areas of the site and required users to complete different registration processes. This “branching”
created much confusion and, during testing, contributed to a failure rate of nearly 70% among
users who attempted to register to use the site. The two account types were merged into a single
account (i.e., a standard website account that could be extended to encompass frequent traveler
functionality as needed), which reduced the complexity of the overall site significantly.
HTML issues. The old version of Eurostar.com was plagued by technical issues. Indeed, a serious
level of degradation was evident when using the site with any browser/operating system other
than Internet Explorer on a PC. For example, completing various booking transactions in browsers
like Firefox, Safari, and Opera was nearly always problematic and sometimes even impossible
— in the majority of cases, client-side page interactions were erratic, and the overall design
aesthetic was significantly compromised. The redesign thus focused on redeveloping the site
in accordance with W3C and related web standards. Given the number of pages and the overall
Case Studies — 3rd Edition
METRICS
Methodology:
Analytics
Each issue area incorporates a text overview and several subpages containing articles and other
resources. The main page is a short article about the subject and includes a sidebar with links to
resources. In some cases, links are also embedded in the overview’s text.
The design change was implemented on a randomly selected issue page, while the remainder of the
site kept the old design. Note that the comparisons provided are between the new design and the
old design on comparable-traffic pages during the same period, rather than period over period.
Case Studies — 3rd Edition
METRICS
Methodology:
Analytics
Getting people to the site is a matter of marketing and news. The Media News Group design team
wanted to look at ways to keep people on the site, with an eye toward increasing pages views
and branding the newspaper site as a destination for news.
Stats were provided for three newspaper sites — dailynews.com, twincities.com, and
mercurynews.com. As its target metric, the team focused on “residual page views,” defined as the
number of page views by a visitor after they viewed a news story page, showing how the module
Case Studies — 3rd Edition
METRICS
Methodology:
Surveys
Metric: Visits
Before: 770,921
After: 1,058,906
Improvement Score: 37%
Variant A showed an unlabeled five-star rating system and a text box labeled “Tell us why you
rated the content this way (optional).” The free-form text box appeared below the five-star rating
as shown in the figure below.
Variant B presented visitors with a five-star rating option labeled from “Not Helpful” (one star) to
“Very Helpful” (five stars). When a visitor clicked on a rating, a text box was then served asking,
“Why did you rate the information this way?”
Variant C showed yes/no/don’t know buttons, but added three customized text box responses
served when the user clicked on one of the ratings. Each text box was tailored to the response —
“How was this information helpful?” “How can we make this information more helpful?” and “What
are you trying to do?”
Because of Microsoft’s extremely high traffic, it’s possible to make some very credible inferences
about how the layout of the feedback function influences response rates. Three variants of the
feedback form were tested, and each was viewed more than a million times. Working from an
arbitrary baseline value of one for Variant A (the actual response rates were normalized for
confidentiality), the success rates for the three approaches compare as follows:
A B C
1 2.21 7.95
The clear message here is that for increasing response rates, simplicity makes a big difference.
Variant A allowed visitors to rate the page from one to five stars, with an optional text box for
comments. Variant B was more than twice as successful. The major difference between the two
approaches is the removal of the text box, which in B is displayed only after a rating has already
been selected. B also more clearly explains the rating system.
Even though the text box is clearly labeled “optional” in A, its very presence appears to increase
the psychological investment required for a visitor to click a rating. Furthermore, the presence of a
“submit” button confuses the layout since it’s not clear that the button only applies to the text box.
Rating data is collected as soon as a user clicks a star.
Variant C offers just three text-based responses and only serves a text-entry box after the click.
The numbers here couldn’t be clearer — yes/no/don’t know vastly outperforms both of the five-
star systems.
Case Studies — 3rd Edition
METRICS
Methodology:
Quantitative usability testing
Metric: Task success (A vs. Before) Metric: Time on task (A vs. Before)
Improvement Score: 15% Improvement Score: 44%
The site’s “find articles” page contained a search tool and links to additional search tools. Users
gravitated to the search tool on the search page, in part due to predictable inertia and the
magnetic attraction of any type-in field, and in part because the descriptive language for the
additional tools was not sufficiently clear.
Search forms included drop-down menus — sometimes multiple drop-downs — that further
refined which search tool was being employed. Users selected from the drop-down lists at
random, usually resulting in a critical obstacle to task completion.
Case Studies — 3rd Edition
Tool labeling did not correspond to the usefulness of the tool. As a result, users were inclined to
select a less useful tool when a better one was available.
The language describing the types of searches offered was not sufficiently descriptive.
In this project, the same version (Model B) was superior on both of the measured usability
attributes. Thus, B is clearly better than A. Not all studies have this simple outcome. Sometimes
you will find that one design wins on one metric whereas another design wins on another metric.
In this case, you have several options: The optimal approach is often to produce yet another
design, taking the best aspects of both contenders. If you don’t have time for an additional
iteration, you might decide that one of the metrics trumps the other (for example, sales may be
more important than anything else for an ecommerce site). Alternatively, you sometimes find that
one design was a huge win on one metric, whereas the other design was marginally better on the
other metric. In that case, you would pick the first design and suffer a small degradation on the
second metric in order to gain the big improvement on the first metric.
Model A included more direct access to the search tools offered by the site, with a front page
divided into two different approaches, including direct access to the “Citation Linker” tool on the
right hand side of the page. The latter tool was particularly problematic in the usability testing —
users had a tendency to indiscriminately enter search terms into the highly specific fields, often
searching for a nonfunctional term and searching into a database with a very limited scope
(academic journals). This tactic frequently resulted in a failed task.
Model B significantly outperformed its competitors in both time and rate of completion. Using
simple text links, the navigation steered users based on the type of information they wanted
to find. The search tools themselves were located on inside pages — users had to make
determinations based on the content they sought before getting access to a tool.
In most of the other designs this project team examined, success generally corresponded to
reducing the number of clicks to a goal. In this case, the opposite dynamic applied.
Case Studies — 3rd Edition
The library system offers several different search appliances, the parameters of which are often
dictated by outside vendors. Testing found that users had a strong tendency to use the first tool
they were presented with — whether or not it matched the data set they were supposed to be
searching. Because of that factor, whatever disadvantage the extra clicks created was outweighed
by the advantage of preventing errors.
However, the final design did not entirely reflect the usability results. (The final design was
actually a redesign of the usability study’s recommendation.) Although the redesign did add text
guidance to steer visitors to the correct tool, it continued to include the Citation Linker on the
front page.
In part, the decision keep Citation Linker on the Find Articles page was motivated by testing
results that found reduced success rates for a couple of very specific tasks. However, the
placement of the tool continues to result in error responses.
Despite the retention of the Citation Linker, the new design did adopt other strategies that
reflected usability concerns.
For instance, rather than simply pointing users toward “Google Scholar,” the front page provides
a link to the tool but also describes the type of content that the search will provide — “scholarly
articles, conference papers, technical reports, books” — bringing more useful content to the surface.
Additionally, a small box in the lower right provides tips and links to more detailed instructions
on how to use the system. A dropdown at the bottom of the page offers a selection of more
specialized databases.
Case Studies — 3rd Edition
SCANDINAVIAN AIRLINES
TYPE SUBJECT REPORT EDITION
Website Air travel 3rd
METRICS
Methodology:
Surveys
Clickthroughs soared by more than 1300% after the change. The new button offered two
major advantages.
First, it caught customers at the bottom of the page when they were preparing to leave. This
approach doesn’t always fit a website’s profile, but it’s especially effective here since the visitor is
highly motivated to read the entire page.
Case Studies — 3rd Edition
METRICS
Methodology:
Surveys
By placing the ads at the bottom of the page, visitors are solicited to respond at the optimum
moment — when they have finished reading the page, a natural break point. Additionally, the new
banner (365 x 67) was more than twice as wide as the right-column banner.
More importantly, from a navigational standpoint, the newly repositioned banner has no
competition from other graphical links or menus. In nearly every case, the banner is positioned
Case Studies — 3rd Edition
METRICS
Methodology:
Analytics
Several versions of the landing page were tested. The final page featured the site’s standardized
navigation bar, a list outlining what specific types of visitors would benefit from filling out the RFQ,
a short description of the product being quoted, and a short description of how the RFQ process
works. The page also features multiple, repetitive call-to-action links.
A final design has not yet been implemented, but during testing, the design team found that a
landing page targeted to the specific type of product resulted in a 17.5% increase in conversion of
clicks to RFQs, compared to the original design which presented a general form and a dropdown
Case Studies — 3rd Edition
METRICS
Methodology:
Survey
Metric: Satisfaction
Improvement Score: 77%
The original design was wide (having been created with lower screen resolutions in mind). A lot of
room separated the menu selections; the page heading was deep and mostly empty space.
The spread-out navigation menu in the old design was problematic; it was replaced with a simple,
intuitive set of text links, flush to the left. The flush-left format puts the menu in a dominant eye-
tracking location and requires less mousing around because the selections are closer together.
When clicking to an inside page, the original design presented a horizontal submenu. The
redesign duplicated the improvement of the main menu, serving submenus as a tight unit of
vertical text links for more economical mouse tracking.
About the Authors
Kate has extensive experience conducting user research to guide UX strategy for websites and
applications. She provides UX advice to clients from a wide variety of industries, including finance,
healthcare, government agencies, ecommerce, B2B, and nonprofit organizations.
Kate’s recommendations and research findings are informed by her background in information
theory and design, as well as her development experience. Prior to joining NN/g, Kate worked
at IBM, first as a Web Content Manager and then later as a Front-End Web Developer. She also
worked in UX design for a small web design agency.
Feifei Liu (刘菲菲) is a User Experience Specialist with Nielsen Norman Group. She focuses on
planning and conducting research. Her background in psychology and human-computer interaction
gives her expertise in a wide variety of quantitative and qualitative research methodologies.
Feifei’s research investigates a variety of design issues that impact user experience. Her areas
of special interest include information-seeking behaviors, the cultural differences in design
preferences, and UX for children.
Prior to joining Nielsen Norman Group, Feifei worked as a Research Associate at Peking University
for three years and at Indiana University Bloomington for one year. In the Developmental and
Comparative Psychology Lab of Peking University, she led and conducted eyetracking studies on
children with autism spectrum disorders to investigate their attention patterns. In the Cultural
Research in Technology Lab at Indiana University, she conducted research to help menopausal
women to reflect and increase self-awareness.
Feifei holds a Master of Science in Human-Computer Interaction Design from Indiana University
Bloomington. She has a Bachelor of Science in Psychology from Peking University with the
distinction of Excellent Graduate. Feifei is based in Raleigh, North Carolina.
Acknowledgements
Acknowledgements
We thank the following people from Nielsen Norman Group:
• Kim Flaherty: Senior UX Specialist at Nielsen Norman Group whose thorough review,
feedback, and guidance made this report possible.
• Rachel Krause: UX Specialist at Nielsen Norman Group, who designed this report’s
visuals and layout.
• Alita Joyce: UX Specialist at Nielsen Norman Group, who assisted in the case-study
collection process.
We also thank the following people for sharing information for the 5th edition of this report:
John Nicholson
Acknowledgements
In addition, we thank the people who shared case studies in the earlier report editions:
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