Chap 022
Chap 022
COST-VOLUME-PROFIT
ANALYSIS
PowerPoint Authors:
Susan Coomer Galbreath, Ph.D., CPA
Charles W. Caldwell, D.B.A., CMA
Jon A. Booker, Ph.D., CPA, CIA
Cynthia J. Rooney, Ph.D., CPA
McGraw-Hill/Irwin Copyright © 2011 by The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc. All rights reserved.
22 - 2
C1
FIXED COSTS
C1
VARIABLE COSTS
C1
MIXED COSTS
Mixed costs contain a fixed portion that is incurred even when
the facility is unused, and a variable portion that increases with
usage. Utilities typically behave in this manner.
Total Utility Cost
ost
d c
i xe
l m
ta
To Variable
Cost per KW
Fixed Monthly
Activity (Kilowatt Hours)
Utility Charge
22 - 6
C1
STEP-WISE COSTS
C1
CURVILINEAR COSTS
P1
MEASURING COST BEHAVIOR
P1
SCATTER DIAGRAMS
Draw a line through the plotted data points so that about
equal numbers of points fall above and below the line.
20
* ** *
1,000’s of Dollars
* *
Total Cost in
**
10 * *
Estimated fixed cost = 10,000
0
0 1 2 3 4 5 6
Activity, 1,000’s of Units Produced
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P1
SCATTER DIAGRAMS
Δ in cost
Unit Variable Cost = Slope =
Δ in units
20
* ** * Vertical
1,000’s of Dollars
* * distance
Total Cost in
** is the
10 * * change
in cost.
Horizontal distance is
the change in activity.
0
0 1 2 3 4 5 6
Activity, 1,000’s of Units Produced
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P1
THE HIGH-LOW METHOD
Units Cost
High activity level - December 67,500 $ 29,000
Low activity level - January 17,500 20,500
Change in activity 50,000 $ 8,500
P1
LEAST-SQUARES REGRESSION
Least-squares regression is usually covered
in advanced cost accounting courses. It is
commonly used with spreadsheet programs
or calculators.
A1
USING BREAK-EVEN ANALYSIS
The break-even point (expressed in
units of product or dollars of sales) is
the unique sales level at which a
company earns neither a profit nor
incurs a loss.
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P2
COMPUTING THE BREAK-EVEN
POINT
Total Unit
Sales Revenue (2,000 units) $ 200,000 $ 100
Less: Variable costs 140,000 70
Contribution margin $ 60,000 $ 30
Less: Fixed costs 24,000
Net income $ 36,000
Fixed costs
Break-even point in units =
Contribution margin per unit
Fixed costs
Break-even point in dollars =
Contribution margin ratio
P3
PREPARING A CVP CHART
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P3 MAKING ASSUMPTIONS IN
COST-VOLUME-PROFIT ANALYSIS
A limited range of activity called the relevant
range, where CVP relationships are linear.
Unit selling price remains constant.
Unit variable costs remain constant.
Total fixed costs remain constant.
Production = sales (no inventory changes).
22 - 22
C2 COMPUTING INCOME
FROM SALES AND COSTS
Income (pretax) = Sales – Variable costs – Fixed costs
C2 COMPUTING SALES
FOR A TARGET INCOME
C2
FOR A
TARGET NET INCOME
Rydell has a monthly target net income of $9,000. The
unit selling price is $100. Monthly fixed costs are
$24,000, the unit variable cost is $70, and the tax rate is
25 percent.
$9,000
Pretax income = = $12,000
1 - .25
COMPUTING SALES (DOLLARS)
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C2
FOR A
TARGET NET INCOME
Rydell has a monthly target after-tax income of $9,000.
The unit selling price is $100. Monthly fixed costs are
$24,000, the unit variable cost is $70, and the tax rate is
25 percent. Let’s compute the sales revenue that Rydell
will need to earn $12,000 of pretax income?
$24,000 + $12,000
Dollar sales = = $120,000
30%
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$24,000 + $12,000
Unit sales = = 1,200
units $30 per unit
22 - 29
C2
COMPUTING THE MARGIN OF
SAFETY
Margin of safety is the amount by which sales can drop
before the company incurs a loss. Margin of safety may
be expressed as a percentage of expected sales.
C2
USING SENSITIVITY ANALYSIS
Rydell Company is considering buying a new machine
that would increase monthly fixed costs from $24,000 to
$30,000, but decrease unit variable costs from $70 to $60.
The $100 per unit selling price would remain unchanged.
What is the new break-even point in dollars?
P4 COMPUTING A MULTIPRODUCT
BREAK-EVEN POINT
The CVP formulas can be modified for use when a
company sells more than one product.
The unit contribution margin is replaced with the
contribution margin for a composite unit.
A composite unit is composed of specific numbers of
each product in proportion to the product sales mix.
Sales mix is the ratio of the volumes of the various
products.
22 - 32
P4 COMPUTING A MULTIPRODUCT
BREAK-EVEN POINT
Continue
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P4 COMPUTING A MULTIPRODUCT
BREAK-EVEN POINT
Hair-Today offers three cuts as shown below. Annual fixed
costs are $192,000. Compute the break-even point in
composite units and in number of units for each haircut at the
given sales mix.
Haircuts
Basic Ultra Budget
Selling Price $ 20.00 $ 32.00 $ 16.00
Variable Cost 13.00 18.00 8.00
Unit Contribution $ 7.00 $ 14.00 $ 8.00
Sales Mix Ratio 4 2 1
A 4:2:1 sales mix means that if there are 500 budget cuts,
then there will be 1,000 ultra cuts, and 2,000 basic cuts.
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P4 COMPUTING A MULTIPRODUCT
BREAK-EVEN POINT
Step 1: Compute contribution margin per
composite unit.
Haircuts
Basic Ultra Budget
Selling Price $20.00 $32.00 $16.00
Variable Cost 13.00 18.00 8.00
Unit Contribution $7.00 $14.00 $8.00
Sales Mix Ratio ×4 ×2 ×1
Weighted Contribution $ 28.00 + $ 28.00 + $ 8.00 = $ 64.00
P4 COMPUTING A MULTIPRODUCT
BREAK-EVEN POINT
Step 2: Compute break-even point in
composite units.
Break-even point Fixed costs
= Contribution margin
in composite units
per composite unit
P4 COMPUTING A MULTIPRODUCT
BREAK-EVEN POINT
Step 3: Determine the number of each haircut
that must be sold to break-even.
Sales Composite
Product Mix Cuts Haircuts
Basic 4 × 3,000 = 12,000
Ultra 2 × 3,000 = 6,000
Budget 1 × 3,000 = 3,000
Total 21,000
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P4 MULTIPRODUCT BREAK-EVEN
INCOME STATEMENT
Haircuts
Basic Ultra Budget Combined
Selling Price $ 20.00 $ 32.00 $ 16.00
Variable Cost 13.00 18.00 8.00
Unit Contribution $ 7.00 $ 14.00 $ 8.00
Sales Volume × 12,000 × 6,000 × 3,000
Total Contribution $ 84,000 $ 84,000 $ 24,000 $192,000
Fixed Costs 192,000
Income $ 0
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GLOBAL VIEW
A2
DEGREE OF OPERATING LEVERAGE
A2
OPERATING LEVERAGE
Rydell Company
Sales (1,200 units) $120,000
Less: variable expenses 84,000
Contribution margin 36,000
Less: fixed expenses 24,000
Pretax income $ 12,000
ESTIMATE LEAST-SQUARES
REGRESSION
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END OF CHAPTER 22